We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy but very pleasant”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Florence
ollantaytambo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but very pleasant”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed at the Lighthouse Inn twice now while driving between California and Washington. The owners are very friendly and check-in is always pleasant, I like the cozy fireplace living room in the lobby. Breakfast not included, but I believe they have coffee in the morning. The rooms and furnishings are a bit dated but everything is clean and the beds and linens are comfortable. I like that all the rooms are a little different with quirky lighthouse decor. Our queen room on the ground floor was a bit chilly until the heating unit in the wall got warmed up. We enjoyed the easy walk to Old Town Florence. I recommend strolling the road behind the Inn down to the waterfront so you don't have to cross the busy street/highway in front on the hotel. On our last visit we were with my parents and the best deal ended up being the delightful "penthouse" King Suite (the owner suggested it instead of two rooms to save us some money, much appreciated). It was like a cute little apartment with french doors, a sitting room and big funky walk-in closet. In addition to the king size bed, the couch in the sitting room pulls out into a somewhat lumpy queen so it could be great for families or a group of friends, though there is not much privacy between the rooms. Last but not least, I always look forward to getting a Blizzard at DQ next door!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0swella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    36
    19
    18
See reviews for
43
70
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Unplanned trip to Florence + early afternoon during the holidays (busy) + dogs = few lodging options. Hesitated checking here because it is a little run down on the exterior but was greeted by friendly staff and a super reasonable room rate. Surprised that the room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable (though, not surprisingly, our son said to avoid the hide-a-bed at all costs). The location is great - within walking distance to old-town and many restaurants. I really want to give this place a better rating because of what it does offer.
However... the walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING, including people unpacking their cars, pets, all conversations and the guy using the toilet in the adjacent room. EEEEWWWWW Unfortunately a bad nights sleep trumps all else in our experience here. IF you sleep like the dead this would be a great, reasonably priced place to stay (no joke). If not, bring earplugs. And as a courtesy to other travelers do NOT bring little kids here.

Room Tip: There are interior and exterior access rooms. There is very little insulation (it's noisy) so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prtlndblnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were late coming in the night of thanksgiving, and two of their staff stayed there until 11pm for us. The staff are great. Lobby is like a cabin with games and quilts on the couches. We stayed in room 20, groundfloor. The vcr in the room was funnier than it was disappointing, but they had new flat screen tv in there so not so bad. Bathroom was like a hostel, basic but great shower!.
Free hot choc was mentioned at checkin for the morning but turned out it was only coffee and tea.
All round, a bed for the night kinda place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oisin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose this hotel over the new and very nice hotel across the street for the value and cleanliness of the rooms as well as the character of the lobby, which looks like someone's cabin complete with a fireplace and board games. This is nothing fancy, but for the price we had a very nice stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just couldn't get past the smell. I had to go buy candles so I could get the stench to go away. Room was dirty also bought cleaner to clean bathroom etc.. Very noisy as well.
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in another Hotel/Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Safe, affordable, close to local attractions... Overall exactly what I was looking for. It's very charming and the owners are very sweet, and it's within walking distance of Old Town. Don't be discouraged by the age - it adds a LOT of charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

not really a place we would go back to. A bit down beat. We booked a ground floor room and did get one eventually, but a very tired room. Location excellent. Needs a good clean out. Lobby may be good, but the rooms don't match.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
2.3 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Property: Lighthouse Inn
Address: 155 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439-9647
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic property is conveniently located on Hwy 101, within walking distance to Old Town restaurants and shops. Guests enjoy complimentary tea and coffee served in the spacious lobby, free parking, free local calls and an on-site natural foods restaurant and market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Florence Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing