We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget motel quality yet treated like royalty on our anniversary!”
Review of Silver Sands Motel

Silver Sands Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed there on our anniversary in September 2012. The manager and her partner went above and beyond our wildest dreams to make the stay and our time memorable. The kindness poured in greater than any I have received in 4 star hotels. The rooms are not luxury but the people who managed the place treated us like royalty! I tell everyone I meet who might stay in Florence how kind they were.. If I am ever an instant millionaire I will totally remodel that place for free for them.. What heart.. I cant say enough how I appreciate their care when we had very little to spend on a room and our anniversary!! #14 Thank you!! I hope things are going well for you and that you are still there! Sincerely, Shell

Room Tip: Our room had a king size bed and a couch plus microwave, fridge, table and a nice enough tv.. the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearlinprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I needed a cheap hotel that wasn't too run down. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was as expected. Old, out of date but VERY clean. The walls are paper thin! I would stay here again. Great location right off Hwy 101. I felt very safe here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awaywego1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I only stayed at the Silver Sands because it was the only room in town. My room was on the second floor and it was pretty poor. Each step while in the room resulted in creaking floor boards. Okay, I could deal with that. Trouble was, each step by the folks in both adjoining rooms resulted in the same (loud) creaking noises.
Okay, I could deal with that by sleeping with earplugs installed in my ear canal. No problem.
What I could not deal with was the incredible number of red welts cause my the bedbugs! Holy Raid, Batman!
Pulling back the sheets and carefully inspecting the mattress revealed a veritable Times Square at midnight on New Year's Eve crowd of the little rascals.
Folks, if you have to sleep in your car, DO NOT STAY AT THE SILVER SANDS MOTEL!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Growing up an hour from Florence, I've stayed in nearly every hotel along the coast. This is by far THE WORST!! We checked in, dropped off our stuff, then spent the day at the beach. It was night when we got back, so we just wanted sleep. Pulled back the covers and holy crap! The entire box spring was rotted down to the springs! Someone say bedbugs? The sheets had some reddish stained droplets I can assume were blood. We ended up driving home then! We were in the room for close to 30 min in total, but since we checked in earlier, no refund. I wish we would've taken the time to look around room earlier. Completely filthy disgusting carpet. Cigarette burns, fridge didn't work, never tried microwave. Also half a roll of toilet paper with no more in the room! A very poor choice for a guy trying to save a few bucks. I'll spend the extra 10 or 20 and go ANYWHERE else next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-train911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay on the coast for the weekend. We stayed in Newport one night and then the next night we drove down the coast. I was looking for something decently priced and this was not it! We went out to a nice dinner and then headed back to the motel. We got inside and the windows were open in the room and it was cold. We turned the heat on comfort zone which was about 70 degrees on the thermostat and the room felt like it was 85 degrees all night. The tv remote did not work. The refrigerator and microwave were shorted out and did not work properly. The continual shorting out of the fridge was the most annoying sound ever. The sink had a continual dripping of water and thus, rust stains were in the sink. There was mold all over in the bathroom and the sheets on the bed were stained. The place is run down. We went to sleep and were woke up at 1 am by two guys that were placed in the room to the right of us. They were up talking until almost 1:30 am as the walls are paper thin. Once they finally went to sleep I could hear them snoring as if they were in our room. We were woke up at about 6 am to the couple in the room directly left of us having loud intimate sessions. The walls are paper thin and my wife and I did not get any peace and relaxation here. There are other motels around that are 20 to 30 dollars more. Take my word for it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you purchase if you have to stay at a motel this cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE. We went up there for a funeral and rented a room, made a reservation online and the office was so messy that they couldn"t even find our reservation. When we got to our room it smelled so bad ( non smoking room that reaked of smoke) I had to go back and tell them that they would have to give us another room. We got our other room and the sink was stopped up, there were stains on the sheets and mattresses, floor was stained, the only heat was a space heater that was filthy, couldn"t get a wake up call because no one would answer the phone in office. No coffee pot in room. Absolute the filthiest, nastiest and most poorly run motel I have ever seen

Room Tip: Pick the Park Motel or anywhere else. Would have rather slept in car or tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last year while touring the coastal highway. We had been camping all along the way but it would not stop raining so we decided to get a cheap hotel for the night. We paid $50 for the night and we both agree we would have rathered to sleep in our tent. The room smelled awful...someone had probably been smoking meth in it the night before. We had to go across the street and buy febreeze, douse the room, and air it out so we could stay there comfortably. The service was poor. The only positive was that it was dry and warm...something we needed at the time. I am sure there are other $50 rooms in Florence that are better than this. Keep driving!

Room Tip: Maybe check out a few rooms and see which one does not smell bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree_dhyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#11 of 13 in Florence
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 13 in Florence
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Motel

Address: 1449 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439-9620
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Sands Motel is under new management, and new housekeepers, our rooms are clean and well supplied, we hope your new experiences with our motel will be good ones. We are still pet friendly, but in only certain rooms. We are renovating many rooms at this time, in honor of who you are..Thank you new management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing