We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelly's Cantina - CLOSED

Kelly's Cantina
Cuisines: American, Soups, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A relaxing atmosphere on the Siuslaw River. Comfortable, non traditional patio furniture that encourages you to sit back and relax as if you are truly on vacation. Even the locals feel as if they have had a break from everyday life!
Wenatchee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best food in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Not the most glamorous of decors, but don't let that influence you. The food was outstanding: crab stuffed portabella mushroom, lobster roll, pork tacos, mac & cheese - I tried them all and very delicious, excellent prices. Unfortunately, as we sat in the back, I saw many people come in, look around, and leave because of the sloppy decor. Dear Kelly's Cantina: first impressions are lasting ones. Work on brightening your entrance - it looked like a storage area - and get nicer tables and chairs. Don't need to be expensive, just neat. Arrange the tables and chairs to make it look homey and comfortable, and have someone greet people when they come in. Good luck - you have what it takes to be great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crkbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place gone bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I used to love going to Kelly's but today will be my last trip. It's Saturday, a busy day and there were only two people working, weekends need more people working. It took over an hour for the four of us to get our food and the waiter seemed very upset to be working. He never asked if the food was okay or refilled our sodas and when clearing the table he scraped all the food into one dish at the table to clear. Also, a few of us had water to drink and the cups where miniature in size. Is there a shortage on water that I'm not aware of? It is sad to see what has become of this place. It's obvious the people working there have lost interest and so have I.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seedless_grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Kellys Cantina is a very comfortable place, with great views, great people, and awesome food. Crab cakes are a must have. Awesome dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank ttammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The menu offers some delicious sounding food, but our dinners did not live up to their descriptions. And they were a bit pricey for what we received. Our server was pleasant but not friendly. (The lawn chairs are not comfortable.) We felt like we were in intruding on the owner and her friends who were gathering on the tiny deck. All of us were disappointed and will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BFraser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went to Kelly's because the menu looked appetizing. So we walk into the restaurant & a female employee ( chef, waitress, or ??) is sprawled out on a chair watching tv. No greeting NOTHING. The bartender approached us & seated us. He mumbled something, could not understand. Then walks away. He came back to take our order 10 minutes later ( mind you, there were 3 other diners in the place). He acted like he just had a root canal done! We regret not leaving at this point. I got the pork carnitas with chipotle mashed potatoes; it came served in a cereal bowl! The meat was dry & the mashed potatoes were peppered; definitely NO chipotle in them. My husband had the red snapper & he is just too polite to complain but did say that his meal was OK. Kelly, do yourself a favor and get some employees who are in the customer service business! With a few menu changes & stellar employees, you could have a GREAT restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Cantina also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing