We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SAND RAIL - SAND SAND EVERYWHERE”

Sand Dunes Frontier
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sand dunes tours in large buggies or smaller "sandrails" or ATV rentals.
Hatfield, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SAND RAIL - SAND SAND EVERYWHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Totally enjoyed this ride on the Sand Rail. We were in a 4 seater, our driver was great, felt like we were flying up and sliding down the dunes. Better than any roller coaster I have ever ridden. He stopped couple times for us to be able to take in the breathtaking dunes and ocean. An experience I will never forget and when we return to Oregon this will be top of our list to do again. Be prepared you will have sand in your shoes, hair, etc. Goggles are provided.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    8
    4
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a great ride. We were on a tour so we were on the 28 person buggy. The driver was great, taking us up and down the dunes. The group was mostly elderly so I was worried on how they would do, they all loved it! Dress warm, it is cold along the shore and windy. I would do this again in a minute.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun dune buggy ride and tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Enjoyed our ride through the dunes...the guide was informative and friendly. The kids appreciated being able to stop and get out and play at the mid-point. Would have enjoyed it if we did a few more hills instead of just cruising around, but still fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldenfox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been going here since I was 8 years old with my siblings and it hasn't changed, just got busier. The buggy rides are thrilling and worth every bit of sand that gets in your shoes!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dunes are great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This location does both the fast dune buggies and the slow tour. I was traveling with 2 tween girls who were a little worried about the potential for a vomit inducing ride, so we chose the slow tour. Unfortunately, we had to wait 90 minutes to take it. Not because it was busy, but because the require a minimum number of people to take the big buggy out and no one else wanted the slower ride.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Dunes Frontier also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sand Dunes Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing