We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, microscopic rooms on a busy, noisy highway”
Review of Villa West Motel

Villa West Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa West Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2011

At $99/night we expected more. Old motel, rooms very small, thin walls, but clean. No electrical outlet at the table where you would use your laptop. Good internet connection if you don't need a plug. No electrical outlet in the bathroom either, so forget the hair dryer. Free coffee in room but no breakfast. Linens ridiculously threadbare. Pillows lumpy. Chairs stained. TV about 17", old and small. Teeny bars of soap for shower. Impossible to open windows for fresh air because of the constant traffic noise from the highway fronting the hotel. When asked about restaurants front desk clerk refers you to a place you have to drive to in the old section of town and gives you a card for a free glass of wine (obviously some arrangement there) without mentioning any of the four other restaurants within a one-block walk from the motel.

Room Tip: There are no best rooms. Motel is small. All rooms are right on the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

Good thing we didn't read the reviews before we went. On a trip along the coast, we ended up in Florence and needed a place for 1 night. This was half the price of the other 2 motels checked, and we were tired. Yes, it's old and a bit tacky, but it was very clean. Over the years we've stayed in worse and paid much more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyPt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We needed a place to stay from about 8pm Friday until 9am Saturday before we began our actual vacation in Florence, Oregon.
This motel was at least $20 less then any other i could find on short notice, making it our top choice. Based on the reviews we did not expect much.

Upon arrival a man and woman were sitting out site the front office, as we walked up and made eye contact they scurried inside. As we entered the teeny office the woman came in and greeted us as though she hadn't just seen us outside (weird.) She didn't know about my reservation since i had made it on "oregon reservations" and said their internet was to slow to pull it up, so she honored the confirm page i had printed.

The location on the corner of 126 and 101 made it Very easy to arrive, find a quick dinner, visit the casino, sleep and leave. Although traffic was a bit noisy, our apartment is on a busy road so we are used to it.

The room was clean, small but adequate. The fixtures all looked updated as well as the bathroom being fairly nice considering what i was expecting. It was strange that the wallpaper border had mallard ducks on it...but the sheets were soft and not starchy and the mattress comfy. We found a bunch more pillows in the drawers as we were leaving.
It was strange that you drop your keys off in a unsecured mailbox, and a little unnerving since we couldn't find anyone to actually check us out.

If you can get a super cheap price, and need a motel to pop in and out of i would stay here, but truthfully i would spend a little more and stay somewhere nicer.
Our second night we stayed at a Comfort Inn in lincoln city and made this place dull in comparison!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raeaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I am not sure why this is listed here as a B&B/Inn, as it is just a lousy motel. It's difficult to find low cost lodging on the Oregon Coast, and this place is a little less expensive than most, but what a dump.

The walls are very thin and every time someone goes in or out of their room, the whole building shakes like it is going to fall down. The street noise is constant and also shakes the building. Thin old sheets, that came off the old, lumpy mattress during the night, covered with thin, scratchy blankets made the night rather sleepless.

The room was fairly clean, but everything is old and stained. The internet connection was pretty good, but this is the first place I have stayed in where you had to pay for the ice.

Skip it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I get to be the best to review this place? Oh, goody.

We stayed here when we were stuck in Florence unexpectedly for a night. We couldn't bear to spend the $180 walk-in rate for a night at the Comfort Inn and out of exhaustion we checked in to the Villa West, told ourselves we were helping a mom-and-pop kind of place, but instead entered the Twilight Zone.

This place is old and gross. Do NOT be fooled by their own description on their website. The room smelled bad and the shower in the bathroom was disgusting. The twin and queen beds had mismatching threadbare sheets. The bedspread had something crusty on it. The room and bedding overall felt like we were sleeping in crazy grandma's attic (no offense to crazy grandmas out there). The balcony walkway had pieces lifting up, posing a tripping hazard. I seriously worried about emergency exits (we were on the second floor and the only exit we could see was down the tiny cramped staircase--partially blocked by the 25 cent ice machine). The shampoo was a mustard-packet type thing with an unknown brand shampoo and the soap was tiny no-name sliver imported from India. Terrible location--at the corner of two highways and it was noisy. No air circulation in the room. Our personal interaction with the staff was friendly enough but this is certainly not a professional organization (shirtless desk dude, anyone?). The room did have a TV with cable and an a weak, spotty wireless internet connection (I wouldn't call it high speed).

We strongly considered turning around and leaving immediately. But our personal situation was that our child was sick and she didn't "see" what we were seeing, and was content with the Disney channel. We have since learned that a reviewer on another hotel rating website says that there is a sign in the office that says there are absolutely no refunds once you check in. Well, no kidding. We didn't see that sign but I wished we had, because maybe we would have looked at the room first and bolted. We were charged $89 and this is about $80 too much!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
15 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa West Motel

Address: 901 Highway 101, Corner of Hwy 101 & 126, Florence, OR 97439-7648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa West Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villa West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing