We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it TO GO”
Review of Chens Family Dish

Chens Family Dish
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take it TO GO”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We order take out from here AT LEAST once a month, such good food!! Gen Tso, Kung Pao, Sweet n Sour....it's all very good and cooked to order and ALWAYS ready within 20 minutes of our call!!
Decided once on a whim to dine in It took 10 min to take our drink order, an additional 20 to take our appetizer order and WAY too long to get our food. The food was good, as usual, but the service and timely dining was awful!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTKKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    43
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, great food and very nice inside!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My mom and I went for lunch (which they serve the lunch menu until 3). I got the choice B for $6, which is a choice of 3 of the items listed. I chose pork fried rice, chicken subgum and vegetable chow mein (which was a substitution for pork chow mein so it was a dollar more but soooo worth it!). You could tell the food was very fresh, vegis were cooked perfect. I also tried my mom's mar far chicken which was VERY good! You actually get a chunk of chicken instead of breading with a tiny piece of chicken like a lot of places. And I really like their red sauce they have on the tables to go with it. The only thing I'd change is no pork in the egg flower soup. Good flavor I just prefer it without. Their togo menu says they are open from 11am to 9pm 7 days a week.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovemyoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food & good service”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Visited Chen's for the first time last week. Delicious food - wor wonton soup, seafood in a clay pot, codfish with black bean sauce - all were yummy. The owners and servers were all gracious and friendly. I'll go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarrieYano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Chen's is a great restaurant with tasty food for about 10 dollars and generous portions. If you didn't enjoy this restaurant, then your probably used to the gourmet chinese restaurants in the city or your just a lousy competitor that closed down :p

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank negrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcminnville or
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The Very Best In Chinese Food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We ate a variety of dishes all of which were very good. This restaurant has been nominated as one of the 100 top Chinese restaurants in the country and in our opinion it deserves it. The service was quick and friendly. We asked for the more bland dishes to come with medium spice and they came with a spiceyness exactly on target. Florence is a tourist town and has many good but somewhat expensive places to eat. We wanted to also try something besides the excellent seafood and found Chen's an excellent change of pace at a very modest price. The menu is very broad and the lunch prices are about half what you will pay at dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chens Family Dish also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chens Family Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing