We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopter noise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Helicopter noise!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I live in Florence and have always recommended the Pier Point when there are visitors in need of accomodations. Recently, friends and realitives were in town to celibrate an anniversay and a few of them stayed there. They were perfectly happy except for the continual noise from a helicopter that was coming and going from a pad near the hotel. Their beautiful balcony went unused at times because they could not take the noise due to a tour operator offering helicopter tours of the area. I am sorry that I will now have to find a new place to refer people to because this truly is a beautifu hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypearl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    352
    92
    41
    22
See reviews for
382
526
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The room was had a great view of the bay and was large enoug that my husband I were able to make about without running into each othe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Liane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Liane P:

Thank you for the awesome review! The staff really appreciates that you took notice to their efforts. Please come back and stay with us the next time you are visiting Florence, Oregon.

Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My spouse & I stayed at Pier Point Inn June 22. It was our second visit. The view from room 234 was spectacular and expansive. Old Town Florence, the Siuslaw River and bridge, tree covered hills are a feast for the eyes. Staff is friendly, the beds are quite comfortable, and the breakfast is truly filling. The only drawback, as others have mentioned, is the stairs and lack of elevator to rooms, ice vending machine, and pool. If you have mobility concerns, or use a cane as my spouse does, make sure your room is easily accessible. The facility is a bit pricey, but the private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and breakfast kind of make up for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear glinda1:

Thank you for leaving us an online review twice regarding your two stays with us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the beautiful view, the friendly staff, comfortable beds and filling breakfast. We really appreciate your honest feedback and know that an elevator would be more than ideal at our property. Unfortunately it is not feasible at this time (especially down to the pool area) as we have explored this option for the last couple years and the way the building was built makes an elevator in that part of the property nearly impossible. Luckily we do have quite few rooms that are at street level though which does allow our guests with mobility concerns to have a comfortable stay as well. Again, thank you for leaving us an online assessment and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Elisa & Dan, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I travel all around the state for business and this is by far my favorite place to stay. The staff is exceptional and have gone out of their way to make sure I am comfortable and all of my needs are met. The rooms that I have stayed in are spacious and have a beautiful view of the bay. The free breakfast is much better then the average continental breakfast that I am used to at most venues that I stay in. They also have free internet in the rooms. Even though I mostly stay here for business I would not hesitate to bring my family to this hotel. They even have a few pet friendly rooms that are well situated. That is important for my family.

I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Ed Z:

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your continued business and very much appreciate that you took the time to let other travelers know about us. As owners of the hotel, we can never hear enough that our staff is exceptional. We do have an incredible team who love what they do which makes all the difference in the world when one works in hospitality. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay. We do hope one day that you will be able to bring your family and your pet for a visit as well!

Sincerely,
Dan & Elisa, Hotel Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just spent 4 fun filled days in Florence, OR at the Best Western Pier Point Hotel. We were very well taken care of by the entire staff. They are dog friendly and our little guy had a great time also. Each morning we were served a hot and yummy breakfast. The new Restaurant is fantastic. We had a great dinner and enjoyed the view of the river.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying on the upper level as the view is so relaxing. If you have trouble with stairs the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sharon P:

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 4 days with us and felt well taken care of by our team. We really appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Also, we are so glad your pet had a great stay as well.

Thanks again,
Elisa & Dan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a truly good-looking motel, nicely designed, with a lovely small waterfall near the entrance and nice plantings. The Lobby is very attractive, and the staff are enthusiastic and helpful. Our room was very spacious and looked well appointed. However, one bed lamp could be turned on only with considerable fiddling, and the other would not turn off once we finally got in on - had to unscrew the bulb. The very attractive mirrored closet doors do NOT open or close smoothly. As we were staying only one night, we did not complain, Given how nice the staff was, I expect they would have tried to fix things, but we didn't want the hassle.

An example of the helpful staff is that I could not find the ice machine, and a nice young man took me all the way out of the lobby, down some stairs and through a hallway to get to it. Excellent service, to be sure. That said, a facility of this size should have more than one ice machine and should either have them quite visible or place good signage to them.

Breakfast is full, with eggs and choice of sausage and/or bacon, plus biscuits and gravy, grits, juices, fruits and cereals, yogurt, coffee and tea. Service was a bit slow, and the items were unexceptional in flavor and texture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCar3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW PIER P, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear JCar3cats:

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our hotel. I am so glad you pointed out some of the very nice features about our property even though you did encounter a couple issues in your room. Please do call the front desk in the future as soon as you notice anything that is not up to standards as our team prides themselves on addressing any issues a guest encounters as quickly and best they possibly can. I bet, had we taken care of those items for you, this review would have been a four or five star rather than the 3 based on all your wonderful comments. I do appreciate again your feedback and we hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Elisa & Dan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Upon our arrival we got a fabulous upgrade - a room with a view! Carrie, at the reception desk, was extremely helpful. She directed us to a nice restaurant in town called the Restobar. Normally, the restaurant closes at 8:00 pm and we arrived a few minutes later. Luckily, they were willing to accommodate the four of us for dinner. Great service and excellent food. In the morning we had a lovely view of the water and the bridge from our balcony.
Had a delicious breakfast starting with 'made to order' omelettes. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear SadhusWithiPods:

Thank you so much for the awesome review. It literally warms my heart when I read a review like this. Carrie does such a great job and it means a lot to her and us when people mention her in an online review. Next time you stay with us, please have dinner at our new onsite restaurant as we have some exciting menu changes coming up this summer and your dinner will come with a beautiful view of river, Old Town Florence and the historic Siuslaw Bridge. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Elisa, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,942 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
509 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
0.5 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Property: Best Western Pier Point Inn
Address: 85625 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing