We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with friendly staff”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice our room was. We stayed in #460, which was quite private, though the restaurant was over us. Good during all hours except closing time (about 10 pm to 11 pm), when tables were slid and things were banging during their clean-up, which woke us up for awhile. Front desk staff was all very friendly. Carrie was wonderful! She seemed to try hard to make our stay pleasant. Full breakfast in the morning (omelettes, waffles, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit and the usual fare) is included, which was a real surprise, and it was quite good. They bake chocolate chip cookies throughout the afternoon. Our room was lovely and clean. The bed was comfortable and nice. And our partial-view room offered a fine view of the bridge and the river. Be aware: for some reason, they lock the door from the rooms to the lobby during the night and don't open it until 6:30 a.m., which we found weird. When I went to the lobby to get hot water for tea at 6:15 a.m., I was surprised to find I was locked into the guest section of the hotel. (There is an exit door that leads outside only and requires your room key to get in.) In all of the hotels we have stayed in, we have never seen a hotel lobby that locked its guests out of the lobby. A motel, ok. But a nice big hotel with a nice big lobby, weird. They said they did it to keep guests from asking for breakfast too early. Put up a sign, rope off the breakfast area, but leave the door from the rooms to the lobby open. Other hotels do it this way. I also wanted to use the lobby bathroom so I wouldn't awaken my husband in our room. The front desk clerk came to the locked door after I knocked loudly on it and asked, "Can I help you?" I felt a bit odd having to ask to use the lobby bathroom so as to not awaken my husband and to get some hot water. I was told that on our second night, they would leave the door unlocked for me. When I arrived at the door at 6:15 a.m., it was locked! And again, I had to ask to use the bathroom and get hot water. By the third night, they had the door unlocked for me, and told me they had done it because they knew I would be there. That was nice of them, but we still think it is an odd practice. Locking the front door is one thing, locking the guests' access from the hall to the lobby is another. All said, it was a nice hotel, the staff was nice, the breakfasts were great, and we loved the new restaurant upstairs for dinner (Bay View - see our review). We would stay there again,and might stay in #460 as long as we went to bed after the restaurant had closed up for the night.

Room Tip: Stayed in #460 - nice and quiet during all hours except about 10 pm - 11 pm when the restaurant over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticAuburnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear RomanticAuburnites:

Thank you very much for leaving such a thorough review of your stay with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the room. Also, thank you for mentioning Carrie as she is an amazing employee who deserves special recognition. I really do appreciate the candid feedback regarding the policy of having the lobby door locked in the early morning. I will be discussing this with our management team to see how necessary this is as the last thing we want is to inconvenience our guests because of a hotel policy that may not even be necessary. I agree that it is an odd practice as you were in the interior portion of the hotel and the lobby should be open to you 24 hours a day. I do apologize for the inconvience and we will be making some changes in our procedures based on your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    352
    92
    41
    22
See reviews for
382
526
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Wondering if we would have picked this hotel if not for its great location by the river and the bridge. But no access to the river or bridge. The lobby staff was friendly but the breakfast staff was not; felt like we were a burden to the breakfast staff; no facial reaction whatsoever from any of them on any of the days.

The rooms were well furnished; but the toilet flush handle was broken when we arrived and the smoke alarm battery died waking up all of us at 4am in the morning. Other than put on a cheerful face, the staff didn't do anything to make it more pleasant for us.

The pool was fun for the kids but was on the smallish side.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A4TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear A4TA:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I first want to apologize that our breakfast room staff were not friendly and made you feel like a burden. It’s very disheartening to read this as our staff as a whole generally provides excellent customer service. We really do appreciate you letting us know what occurred and we’ve already met with that department to discuss your feedback. Also, I am very disappointed to hear about the maintenance issues in the guest room. I regret that you were woken up by something that was completely preventable on our end. I do want to note that there most certainly is access to the bridge from the hotel. Many of our guests walk over the bridge into town when they stay with us. I wish we had taken care of the above issues before you left, as it’s a failure on our part to have a guest leave unsatisfied. Thank you again and please consider giving us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Carrie, Tyler and really the whole staff from maintenance housekeeping and management are excellent and we stay at many motels! Would recommend over any other! We had the option of staying in a Hotel with a view of the ocean but chose this hotel instead because of their friendliness and hospitality and willingness to make our stay comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisArmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear MisArmstro:

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell travelers about our wonderful team members. Carrie and Tyler were very excited to see that you mentioned them on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to them and to our management team that you took the time to write about members of our staff. We are very proud of our team and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were staying at the Best Western (Piers Point) in Florence, Oregon on
March 11. At about 830 in the evening, the neighbours started to get really
noisy. We endured it for about 30 minutes, but then I decided to phone the
front desk; I figured that if we had paid for a room, we were entitled to
some quiet. I am not a compainer by nature, but the noise was bugging me.

So, with much trepidation, I phoned the front desk. The girl I got was, I
think, named Carrie. She was really open to my complaint, and assured me
that I was not being a crank by being concerned about the noise. She
assured me that some action would happen.

I hung up the phone, and said to my wife, "Well, I guess that is all I can
do, other than go next door and throttle the people." Within three minutes,
I heard Carrie, (I hope that is her name!) knock on our neighbour's door.
She spoke SO sweetly, yet firmly to them, and mentioned in SUCH nice tones
that there had been a complaint, and that would the noise now stop, please
and thank you.

She then said good night to the people, and wished them a nice evening, and
left. Her manner was so polite and wonderful, I guess the noisy neighbours
were helpless to do anything but obey her entreaty. We heard not a peep
from them from that moment onward until about nine o'clock the next morning!

About fifteen minutes later, Carrie then phoned our room, and asked, "Are
the noisy neighbours now quiet?" I was so impressed that she followed up on
things for us. We said, "Yes," almost told her we loved her, and then went
to an undisturbed, dreamless sleep.

I believe this employee deserves a raise in pay, a basket of fruit, a
bouquet of flowers and some fine wine. Her service to us was exemplary, and
she made us want to go back to that hotel - which we just might do next
Spring Break. (I am a vice-principal in a school charged with the
discipline of students; believe me, I needed my rest during my holiday, and
her intervention on our behalf made me realize my goal of relaxation!!)

Thanks again for letting me spout off about our great experience. It was
wonderful for us, and consequently, I am telling all who will hear that the
Best Western in Florence, Oregon, is THE place to stay.

Very sincerely,

Peter Flynn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Peter F:

Wow! What an incredible review of your stay at our hotel. As a management team, we are so proud of Carrie and very grateful to have her working with us. She does an amazing job everyday and we know we are very lucky to have her working with us. Thank you so much for telling your story online as well as leaving us a 5 star review on TripAdvisor. Again, thank you for the awesome review and Carrie will be recognized for her stellar service. Please do come to stay with us again next time you are in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a wonderful hotel with excellent staff that smother you in friendliness. My family and I stayed a couple of nights here and wish we would have stayed a couple more. From the warm chocolate chip cookies to the best complimentary breakfast I've had and the view from the breakfast room is amazing. The only cons I have is that most of the rooms are only accessible from outside, so getting to the pool you must go outside and the back through the lobby. Also, the fridge in our room was right beside the bed which made it a bit noisy. We had a room with a view..it was great sitting in our room and watching the river. The staff are amazing...I wish I got their names when we checked in since they made our stay the perfect one.
The location of the hotel is close to old town and the dunes which made it easy to get around. I can't wait to visit Florence again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justwon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Justwon88:

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our team really appreciates your nice comments. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the fridge. Our team reads all our online reviews regularly and takes the feedback seriously. Please do come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights and loved it. I read the reviews before I went and found them to be true. The girl at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly as was the staff that serves breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding considering the price of the room and the location was great. This is right down the road from sandland adventures and just across the bridge from Old Town. If your going to Florence I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam99354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Adam99354:

Thank you very much for reviewing out hotel on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate when a guest takes the time to leave feedback online. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and that the online reviews you read prior to your stay were helpful in choosing our hotel. I am also very pleased that you felt the price for the room was fair considering the outstanding breakfast and gorgeous view. Again, we appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. From the very first time we walked in, each staff person we encountered was so pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too much to ask, always with a smile. The service here is exceptional, the rooms nice and clean. Breakfast was way beyond expectation, with an omlette bar! Yummy! Fresh baked cookies on checkin, free wifi, pool that isnt muggy and echoey. What's not to like? I wish we came to Florence more often so we could stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JMS75:

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel. As the hotel owner, I am so pleased to read about the great work our staff is doing. Our team takes a lot of pride in giving the best customer service on the Oregon Coast. I’m also very pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, cookies, your room, and the pool area. Again, we really appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,942 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
509 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
0.5 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Property: Best Western Pier Point Inn
Address: 85625 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing