We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, for a Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Originally I booked at another property, but could not find it so went back to this hotel. Typically I don't stay at Best Westerns but was pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and thoughtful touches such as the germ-friendly remote. As a frequent traveler and admitted germaphobe, I appreciated this thoughtfulness. The bed was very firm, to my liking, and breakfast was adequate. I second an earlier review that mentions the odd layout of the property, and if you have a problem with stairs, you need to request a room on the 2nd floor (main level) since the 1st floor is down a level. The only drawback was the lack of a weight-room since I work out daily. Overall I would recommend this property for a very restful night that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tokyorose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear tokyorose50:

Thank for your comprehensive, thoughtful review. I really appreciate that you gave Best Western a chance because as a brand we are very focused on making sure your room is cleaner than you will find at other branded hotels. The “clean remote” you mentioned is just one of the many things we as a Best Western property do to ensure your room is super clean. Also, I do want to let you know that we are in the process of adding a fitness room to the property as this is becoming much more important to our guests. Please come back and stay with us again when you’re in Florence. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pier Point Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Clean and quiet. Good breakfast. Close to town and shopping. The staff was pleasant and helpfull. No eleavator so try to stay on the ground level if you have heavy luggage. Great view of the river and grand old bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Goldfinder:
Thank you for your very nice review. As an owner, I read these reviews daily looking for feedback from guests like you. We are looking into the feasibility of adding an elevator at our hotel in the future as it does seem to be more and more important to our guests. Thanks for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was spacious and clean. Only drawback were all the stairs. As you age it's a bit more difficult to navigate them with luggage. There are 3 floors with the first being below the ground floor which we were on. Would suggest you request 2nd floor room (wihich is ground level) if you have more than a duffle to tote in. Breakfast buffet was sub par but adequate. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeluvsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Deeluvsg:
Thank you taking the time leave us a review. I appreciate your positive comments. We are in the process of looking at the feasibility of adding an elevator to the hotel as this does seem to be more important to our guests so appreciate getting your feedback as well. Thank you and please come to see us again when in Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

On the plus side, breakfast (with omlettes cooked to order) was great and the Pier Point has a nice pool accompanied by a couple of hot tubs.

On the minus side, we paid extra for a balcony & river view but all we got was shrubbery (see uploaded photo), which also darkened the room (which was very average by Best Western standards with a very noisy fridge).

The design of the hotel is rubbish (it is a pet bug bear of mine if you have to walk through the car park to get to the pool given that this could have easily been avoided when planning the property), and the walk into Florence is further than it might seem.

Florence itself was a lovely town full of decent restaurants, interesting shops and a great ice-cream parlour but if we return we will avoid the Pier Point and stay on the town (north) side of the river.

Room Tip: If you want a chance of seeing the river, the higher the better!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Silex:

Ouch! That is a harsh Review title about our PLUS property, but I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. First, thank you for noting that there were pluses to your stay, i.e., the omlete station and nice pool. Obviously, my landscape crew has dropped the ball with trimming the bushes in front of this room and they will be on it today! Also, I believe this room is a “partial” river view, not one of our “full” river view rooms but nevertheless those bushes are out of control (which happens on the Oregon Coast with the constant moisture). Thank you for bringing it to my attention and we are on it today. Also, as far as the hotel design, it was designed (I agree somewhat oddly) many years ago but we are in the process of working with an architect to make some improvements in this area. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

2 nights ago my husband and I stayed at pier point again, because we were also here in July and it was a great hotel with a great staff. The front Desk was just absolutely amazing, very friendly and welcoming. Our room was great with a breath taking view (recommend the rooms on the top floor). The only downside of our stay was the breakfast, they ran out of plates, and food and the attendents weren't very welcoming as we remembered last time we visited. Overall minus the breakfast our stay was great, Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluefores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Bluefores:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your positive comments regarding the hotel and, of course, am disappointed that we did not do a great job with breakfast during your stay. As an owner, I work with my staff to try to provide a consistent excellent experience for our guests and it's never great to hear that we did not do so. I'm doing my best based on the information you provided to find out what happened during your stay to see how in the world we could run out of plates or food. If you would like to provide us with more information, please call the hotel direct and ask for Leisa. Thanks again for your feedback and please do come again to see us soon and we'll make sure your breakfast plate is overflowing and that you will not leave our hotel disappointed. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We came through town late at night and no-vacancy signs were up all over town, so it was back across the river to the only hotel that seemed to have night staff -- Pier Point Inn. We received the last "non-premium" room, paid a couple of hundred bucks, and slept. The property has obviously had some construction defect issues -- floors slanted, cracks in the walls, etc., and the floor was soaked in front of the refrigerator, whether from a leak or open window we couldn't tell. We were also in a pet friendly room -- but on that account it was fine, no smells, very clean. I wouldn't say "stay away," but don't go in with high expectation.

Room Tip: Request something above ground level
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear DavidG:

Thanks for taking the time to leave an honest assessment of your stay. Obviously, as an owner, I’m disappointed to read that your time with us with just “so-so.” I regret that your room had a couple maintenance issues and hope you were able to let our front desk staff know about them before you left. We have taken two rooms out of service at this time that are slightly out of level in order to repair those items and I’m assuming based on your review that was the room you were in. I am happy to hear though that the pet room you were in was very clean and fresh smelling. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We decided to take a quick weekend trip to the coast. Found this great hotel. It was very clean and had all the amenities to make you comfortable.

The layout was a bit strange, but once we figured out which walkway lead to where, it was fun to explore.

Great view of the Three Rivers and downtown Florence. So very close to the dunes (about half mile from the entrance and about 2 miles from parking from the dunes).

We had great service from the staff - all had a sincere smile and were happy to help.

The pool was a great temp. The hot tubs were a little small and a bit strange, but again, once we got used to it all, it was very comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was excellent! Custom make our omlettes and plenty of everything. Seemed a bit busy and there was still plenty of everything.

Good warm cookies and complimentary hot chocolate and other warm drinks.
We do plan on staying there every time we visit from now on.

Only 8 mins from 3 different golf courses.

Was very relaxing and had nice tv's and microwaves and fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slamgwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Slamgwhit:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your awesome review about our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Florence and were able to enjoy the amenities at the hotel. Also, thank you for noting the sincere smile of our staff as our staff takes pride and joy in serving our guests. Also, since you mentioned that you would be back, please look for our restaurant and lounge that will be opening by 2013 where you will be able to enjoy a tasty dinner with the best river view in Florence. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,029 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
1.1 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
67 reviews
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Address: 85625 Highway 101, Florence, OR 97439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $134 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing