We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cavelike” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Pier Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Pier Point Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Vernon WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cavelike”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Our room was musty even after leaving windows open. Due to configuration of rooms, a group of travelers who sat in the courtyard at 2 AM kept us awake. Check-in staff was friendly and offered the usual "let us know if you need anything!" However, the wake up call button on the phone directed me to another guest's room and multiple tries to the front desk left us with a busy signal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EL_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear El_Grandma:
I'm sorry the phone in your room did not work properly and the guests in the courtyard kept you awake. I regret the inconvenience and appreciate your feedback. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and regret we did not achieve this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    340
    88
    38
    22
See reviews for
363
505
43
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
spruce grove
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

On a 10 day bike trip thru the states and Canada, we stayed at numerous Best Western hotels. This particular one was an older refurbished establishment...and expensive compared to other newer hotels. Outdoor corridors and vending/ice machines not all that conveniently located if you were on the far end of the motel. There is a pool but we did not see it...I believe it's somewhere on the basement level.
Our room was clean and overlooked the river and as well into the backyard of some local residents. Not all that scenic!
Bed was comfy and the wifi worked with no problems. A tasty complimentary breakfast was offered in a spacious dining room which did have a lovely view.
No restaurants within walking distance, but a short drive will have you in the "Old Town" area where there are plenty of dining choices available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear bieder:
I appreciate you taking the time to leave a detailed review of your stay with us. I’m glad you found your room clean and I regret that you did not find the view from your room satisfactory. I’m not sure which room you were in but it sounds like it was a “partial view” room and not a full river view room. I’m glad you did like the view from our breakfast room though. Also, I am happy that your wifi worked, you enjoyed the breakfast and the bed was comfortable. Also, we will be opening a restaurant in the hotel in the near future if you are visiting Florence again. The restaurants in town are within walking distance for many of our guests but that is a personal choice. Thanks again for leaving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We checked into this motel in desperation after leaving the uncomfortable tiny room and stiff bed and surly clerk at the Ocean Breeze - what a relief. Helpful staff, great room with a view, wonderful bed, good breakfast, quiet, - loved it and would readily stay again - was worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookpublicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again when you're visiting Florence. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I liked this hotel. Nice staff, good rooms.

Not in the center of town, a nice 1/2 mile walk over the scenic bridge to the old town.

Good breakfast, but no restaurant. Swimmingpool in basement, but my key couldn't open the door. Could've asked reception, but didn't bother, just wanted a look anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Corvette8:

Thank you for your nice review. I wanted to be sure to let you know that we are going to be opening a restaurant in the hotel in the near future. We are very excited that our restaurant, to be called The Bay View, will have the nicest river view in all of Florence! Thanks again for leaving your feedback as the staff and I take our TripAdvisor reviews very seriously and enjoy getting great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Best Western sits directly on the river in Florence and is very convenient to the Sand Duners and the downtown area of Florence. Our room was located on the third level and was located directly on the river. We could sit on the balcony and look over the river to town. The front desk people were very friendly both upon arrival and departure. The breakfast was exceptional since it was included in our rate. It included made-to-order omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, and more. We would definitely stay at the hotel again when in the area. Just be aware that the hotel does not have an elevator (all rooms have an outside entrance), but there is a bellman available to help with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear VAVBV:

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We read our TripAdvisor reviews daily and get super excited when we see a seasoned TripAdvisor reviewer give us the highest marks. Thank you! Also, I wanted to share with you that we are in talks with an architect to see the feasibility of eventually adding an elevator to our hotel as this seems to be more important to our guests than ever before. As you mentioned, we do have a Bell-Hop available to help with luggage most times of the year and we have a number of rooms at ground level as well. Again, thank you for your awesome review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewell, surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose this hotel for our final night on the Oregon coast before heading inland to Crater Lake. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful; she suggested a couple of restaurants for dinner, La Pomodori which looked fabulous but had just closed at 8pm when we arrived and 1285 Restobar which proved to be a disaster (see separate review).

The view from our window across the river was lovely and the room itself was clean, spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Although we were on the ground floor we had no trouble with noise from the adjoining rooms which was a godsend after our experience in Newport.

The complimentary breakfast the following morning was great with plenty of choice, including eggs cooked to order. We even had a table overlooking the river!

We also appreciated the office area for guests where we took the opportunity to back up our photos and the free cookies available at reception.

We were very happy with our experience here and would gladly have stayed another night if time had allowed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewell_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear ewell_tourist:

Thank you so much for your awesome review. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed account of your stay. While we, as a staff, learn a lot from negative reviews, we learn as much or more when we receive this type of positive feedback. We truly are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is good in some ways; but is very pricey for the quality that is lacking. Our room was sloped and I could feel lumps under the carpet in places . The breakfast selections are wonderful for any kind of dietary needs you might be on so there they would get a very good rating, But for as old as the hotel is and the apparent sloping in the room, I wouldn't recommend it with the price tag that is on it. There are other choices in town. It is too bad, I believe the hotel is sinking a little and prices should reflect that.

Room Tip: Check a room first to see if it is sloping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORDaisy, Owner at Best Western Pier Point Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear PatY:
Thanks for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I wasn't sure how to respond because you said some positive remarks but left us a low score. Because I can't tell based on this information which room you were in it's difficult for me to respond about lumps in the carpet but rest assured that the hotel is not sinking and our prices are based on season and occupancy. While our property is not brand new, we have a comprehensive preventative and scheduled maintenance program in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
24.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
0.4 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#2 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pier Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pier Point Inn

Property: Best Western Pier Point Inn
Address: 85625 Highway 101, P.O. Box 2097, Florence, OR 97439-8501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pier Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn!Duck into the Sea Lion Caves and see these impressive animals up close; it is just a few minutes away from our Florence hotel.Many of our Florence hotel guests are in the region for the Oregon Sand Dunes and spend the days on ATVs or four-wheeling in their own vehicles. Our Oregon Coast hotel provides guests with everything they need for an exciting or relaxing getaway, like luxury bedding and an unbeatable location along the coast. With a river view of Siuslaw River, we are the perfect choice for couples looking for a little romance or outdoor lovers who want to be as close to the action as possible. We are a full service hotel. Our onsite restaurant The Bay View servers dinner nightly from 5-10PM and includes a full bar.Our Florence, Oregon hotel is right across the bridge from Old Town Florence, a must-see for history buffs. It is filled with fine dining, shopping and antiquing. However, it is our location next to the Sand Dunes that really draws people to our Florence hotel. We are close to the beach, and the Oregon Coast is stunning year-round. Oregon Coast sightseeing and whale watching is something everyone should do at least once, and we are conveniently located near the tour sites.Coho salmon fishing at the nearby river draws fishermen and women to our Florence hotel, too. The Rhododendron Festival and Fourth of July fireworks on the river are beloved annual events that locals and travelers alike look forward to. Even if you are here for business with Peace Health or Oregon Parks and Recreation, it is simple to make a little time for leisure activities.Our Florence hotel is the best place to watch the Rods-N-Roadies Car Show, and our friendly hotel staff is dedicated to making sure your stay is the best it can be. We are happy to provide tips and recommendations on must-see sights and on things to do. If we can do anything to make your stay even better, just ask and we'll go the extra mile to deliver. Reserve your river view room at BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your Best Western Pier Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pier Point Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing