We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a king studio on the first floor facing the river. Room had been updated. We were there for the New Years Eve package to see the Satin Love Orchestra. Overall the experience was good. Price seemed a bit steep at 249.00 which included king room, SLO party, and Brunch.
ROOM: clean, comfortable, bed linens and couch updated. Bathroom tiles, Carpet, and woodwork need updating. Thin walls so could hear neighbors easily.
BRUNCH: wide selection. Omelet and waffle bar, prime rib(nicely prepared) and turkey, small but quality cheese selection, seafood cocktails were taken up a notch with avocado and spices. Smoked salmon was moist and wonderfully seasoned. Dessert bar had pies, petit fours, breads which were average quality. The service was attentive.
SLO was fun 70's disco music. Entertaining to watch and dance to. Great sound.


..

Stayed: December 2013
Thank OregonBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 752 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for just a few days and decided upon this place. Couldn't be more central to restaurants and shops. Very easy driving access and that helped with holiday traffic.
Rooms were vast for the king size room and prices as comfortable as the rooms.
No need for us to ever search for another place. This quick stay from a Thursday to Saturday anchored future choices.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank JVWagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

For years, we've been staying at the Valley River Inn when we are in town, several times a year. We were pleased to see a renovation a few years ago, which greatly enhanced the experience. However, over the last six months, the concierge floor breakfast has been closed more times than not, and the towels have become so worn, I'd complain if they were at my local gym!

Although the hotel offers restaurant vouchers for a VERY mediocre breakfast buffet, it's simply not the same as the convenience of having coffee and a continental breakfast on your own floor. If I wanted to dress and go to a restaurant, I wouldn't ask for the concierge floor. Additionally, we found out that the conceirge lounge is closed the vast majority of the time. So why wasnt this explained to us when we made the reservation?

Instead of just closing the concierge floor, the hotel might better consider increasing the cost of staying on the floor and seeing if customers are willing to pay the fee. There aren't many options in Eugene. However, if the quality of the basics (linens) doesn't improve and the conceirge floor doesn't return, we'll be returning to the Hilton.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank On-the-Move-306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is about the fourth time we have made a reservation at the Valley River Inn for the New Years Eve party with Satin Love Orchestra. In the past I have always had to call and check myself on the reservations for dinner and brunch the next day that I wanted. This year the front desk person Monica did such a wonderful job and read my requests, called and made the asked for reservations and let me know that she had done so and everything was set for our arrival on New Years Eve! How wonderful to have some someone so efficient handling things! Now all I have to do is put my "dancing shoes on":)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise when people are in their rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank BL_Jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were bumped from our Flight to SLC, Utah. It finally was completely cancelled due to mechanical, overbooking & weather. Was very weary of our ordeal but Delta was nice enough to put us up there with food vouchers & a outstanding room. Room service was excellent, the staff was efficient & helpful!! Restaurant was definitely pricey but delicious food but with the vouchers it was reasonable. Loved all their accommodations. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay at the extended part of the Hotel. Where you walk on the path to the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunamukT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer. We stayed in October and the carpet seemed old, the room smelled like mildew and the bed was terrible. I was expecting more for $259.

We could hear the outdoor speaker playing music throughout the night through the window and finally around 2 am when I contacted the night auditor to see if she could shut it off she told us she no longer had access to the music system.

This was a spectacular property in it's heyday but if it's been renovated they missed the room I had.

Desk clerks were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for the 2013 Eugene Marathon. It was clean and classy and the staff was friendly and helpful. The property is beautifully landscaped and was pet friendly. They even had little scoops and waste baskets out for the dogs staying with their families.

The river flows gently just outside your door and the mall next door is full of good stuff to take home. They even have a Ducks store inside the mall so you can prove you visited Eugene.

The restaurant was very nice and the food good.

I liked the way one wall of my room opened up via sliding glass door right out onto a wonderful courtyard. Just make sure you close the curtains before changing or showering. Ha ha ha...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandbtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#6 of 38 in Eugene
1,149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#11 of 38 in Eugene
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Eugene
Hampton Inn Eugene
#7 of 38 in Eugene
537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: $102 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find tastefully appointed accommodations and upscale amenities in a stunning riverfront location at Valley River Inn. Our historic hotel in Eugene, Oregon offers 257 spacious suites & guest rooms with patios or balconies offering gorgeous views of the Willamette River, the Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards. In addition to our cozy rooms and suites, our Eugene hotel offers an outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, and on-site restaurant—the award-winning SweetWaters on the River—that serves innovative Pan-Pacific Northwest cuisine in an elegant riverfront setting. We’re located in the heart of Willamette Valley, close to everything you want to see and do in Eugene. Visit your favorite student at the University of Oregon, and take in an Oregon Ducks football game at nearby Autzen Stadium. Enjoy great shopping and dining next door at Valley River Center. Or spend the day touring local wineries and breweries. Valley River Inn has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing