We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley River Inn is our place for special occasions!”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is our second stay this year, as we celebrated a Birthday in March and now our Wedding Anniversary. The service and Hospitality before and during our Anniversary celebration at Valley River Inn., was awesome! We had a wonderful stay and the room and service from all the staff was outstanding.
Furthermore, and to our surprise, we were personally invited by the Hotel Manager Mr. Roger, to attend VRI's 40th Anniversary party.
Kevin (Concierge) did a great job of arranging our visit to the local wineries which was an experience we will never forget.
Also, we really enjoyed the experience with Chris and Deanna in the Concierge Lounge, they were so attentive and fun to visit with.
Sweetwaters restaurant, where the ambiance and quality of food is superb as is the Cob Salad and Prime Rib are to die for. Christopher (Sweetwaters Manager) took special care to assure we had the best dinning location inside and outside on the River. Christopher also selected one of the best Cabernet's ever, for our dinning pleasure.
Mike M. in Reservations, was also a great help in arranging our stay and wonderful accommodations while at Valley River Inn.
We must say thanks to all the staff that continued to make us feel like family during our stay.
On our trip home we continually talked about the Hospitality extended to our Anniversary celebration and how soon we could plan a return trip to Valley River Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are most preferred.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOOTLTUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 744 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped over for 1 night on our way from California to Vancouver. It is located at the end of a shopping mall loop, very quiet location. Checked in was quick. There's a restaurant, a swimming pool, and sauna in the building. Unfortunately, we arrived late, and did not have time to enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel Just makes the 3 star mark in my book and travels. Its OK but it is not a four star. It is a big Hotel with lots of rooms and amenities.
One thing I would highly recommend is a room with River view. That would be the room to stay in but make sure its away from the highway running close by. Also request top floor river view.
Its a old hotel with 4 star upgrades in it but it just doesn't work. Great deck at restaurant to eat or drink while watching river go by. Shop around for a good price.Lots of services nearby food and shopping easy access to highway system. If you want a more upscale experience try Inn at the 5th.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am sending this review as I am staying at VRI. I arrived much too early for check-in with my King Charles Cavalier....but Mike not only got me in to a room but he upgraded me to a River view room which is a source of great interest for my dog Joy! I ordered lunch from Sweet Waters (room service) good food but expensive. Joy and I have walked the river walk located right outside the sliding door, so convienent! A much needed break with Joy, wonderful room, great Staff!

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed on ground floor, get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at Valley River Inn. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience. We are very pet friendly, and are happy to see that Joy had a great time as well. This type of feedback is always exciting to share with our staff. It keeps them motivated, and lets them know that what they do everyday matters. I passed on your feedback with Mike as well.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Again, thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,
George Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are a tea drinker, don't stay here unless you bring everything you will need for your morning cup of tea. No frig in the room in which to keep milk or cream, and restaurant on Sunday morning not open until 7:30am and then out of tea. Also no microwave, so to get hot water you have to use coffee maker to heat water, which then of course makes your tea tastes like coffee.

As for the sauna and the hot tub, don't bother if you want to break a sweat (let sauna heat up for over an hour and still not hot--same for hot tub).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We reserved a river view concierge top floor room facing the Willamette River. Our room was "next" to the elevator in a building attached to the bar/ restaurants. I was skeptical and disappointed--this was my wife's 60th birthday weekend, I have a problem with noise and sleeping and we were going to pay $300.00 per night on Sat. August 3rd. It was wonderful--no noise other than some drunks walking by the door at 11:00pm--not a problem (no mechanical noise or commercial ruckus. Our concierge "Chris" was so good at evening drinks and food and at morning breakfast---wish we all had had employees like him! I ended up having a great experience. I would recommend that a small (quiet) refrigerator be installed in the room to chill wine (from the King winery south of Eugene--another spectacular experience). Do try the Valley River Inn at the Concierge level--its worth it. Sounds like a paid ad doesn't it-but it isn't. You are near a major shopping center but this doesn't impact your stay. Great pool area.

Room Tip: get the 3d. floor river view concierge room near the middle of the project and away from an adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We Reserved two nights at The Valley River Inn but no such luck. When we went to check in they told us that they had overbooked the hotel for the first nights reservation and because we booked through a third party they had given away our room! They accommodated us by putting us in another hotel across the highway free of charge. What a hassle but okay...well at least they paid for it. The night that we did stay was acceptable but we should have spent the money and booked a river view room they were much better than the pool side room. We had a drink at the bar overlooking the river and it was very nice. The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to restaurants and the mall. Lobby and restaurant are in need of a facelift but overall this is a decent hotel. Nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#6 of 38 in Eugene
1,135 reviews
1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
979 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Eugene
Hampton Inn Eugene
#7 of 38 in Eugene
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#11 of 38 in Eugene
675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#6 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find tastefully appointed accommodations and upscale amenities in a stunning riverfront location at Valley River Inn. Our historic hotel in Eugene, Oregon offers 257 spacious suites & guest rooms with patios or balconies offering gorgeous views of the Willamette River, the Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards. In addition to our cozy rooms and suites, our Eugene hotel offers an outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, and on-site restaurant—the award-winning SweetWaters on the River—that serves innovative Pan-Pacific Northwest cuisine in an elegant riverfront setting. We’re located in the heart of Willamette Valley, close to everything you want to see and do in Eugene. Visit your favorite student at the University of Oregon, and take in an Oregon Ducks football game at nearby Autzen Stadium. Enjoy great shopping and dining next door at Valley River Center. Or spend the day touring local wineries and breweries. Valley River Inn has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing