We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Their restaurant food was delicious. Grounds were well kept. Our room large and everything (lights, TV, etc.) worked well. Don't know what kind of bed was there, but it was really comfortable. The little balcony off our room was great to open up to the outside air. Stayed for 5 nights.

Room Tip: Can't think of anything else to make stay better.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel has some very good green practices which I appreciated. We did reuse our towels and linens.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    243
    107
    39
    28
See reviews for
212
165
46
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Only the view and the staff friendliness keep this from being one star (or less if possible). This place is totally rundown and needs a major overhaul. As the room we booked was taken we were "upgraded" to a river view suite.
-moldy, musty smell
-chipped paint
-curtains not closing properly
-wet bar but no glasses
-broken bedside lamps
-electric cords running througth the bedroom
-bath fixtures from ancient times
And just try to get parking near your room!
The list could go on but you get the idea.

Room Tip: Check it out or mold and cleanliness first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank88_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our first visit to the Valley River Inn. My son actually found it on tripadvisor. We walked in the door without reservation, were greated warmly, given a beautiful room over looking the river. We travel up and back on I-5 about every six weeks visiting our grandson in Washington state. We have never stopped in Eugene before this trip. We found the room to be all that you could possible want. Lots of room, separate bed room from the living room and the bathroom is quite large.

The Sweet Water Restaurant is fantastic. Great food,excellent service with a view overlooking the river. Casual dining with at it's finest with reasonalble pricing. Great for families.

Room Tip: ask for a river room on an upper floor---great river view
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate what the hotel is doing. The offer of a credit at restaurant for not changing out the towels every day is unique. Never seen it offered anywhere.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

my sons wedding reception was held here and it could not have gone better.from the friendly staff and great food to the comfortable rooms and relaxing setting on the Willamette river.great location by the mall in the Valley Inn center but it seemed secluded from the mall traffic.the breakfast buffet was great and so affordable.the house coffee is Starbucks which is my favorite. we enjoyed it every morning.

Room Tip: get the river view room. it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stay at the Valley River Inn approximately twice per month.

The hotel is very comfortable, nicely located near the Mall and there are great amenities available both at the hotel and nearby.

The rooms and decor were recently updated and the hotel continues its tradition of offering a great place to stay when visiting Eugene.

My only suggestion would be to upgrade the internet service which is spotty at times.

The staff is always warm and welcoming and know me by name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Valley River Inn! We truly appreciate your business, and that we continue to be your hotel of choice when you travel to Eugene.

Your feedback is very important, and the team was very happy to see your comments. This helps to keep them motivated, and know what they do gets noticed. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,
George Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall, it was a nice place to stay and the conference area was serviced well. The person working the sound system was helpful. Did not go the restaurant this time as there were too many people and too crowded. Having our pets with us was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtremern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Valley River Inn. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves, and your pets did as well.

I have shared your feedback with the team, and they truly appreciated it. We look forward to having you (and your pets) with us again when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
George Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My daughter and I came to Eugene for a U of O Tour. We could not find any other hotels with availablitly on a Friday night, except for The Valley River Inn. I think we got lucky finding this hotel. For all of the ammenities, clean rooms, and price. We scored! We even decided to stay another night, which was not a problem. My kids went bike riding on the river trail and had a great time. If I ever come back this way, I will definitely stay at the Valley River Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, General Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Valley River Inn. I am happy to see that you and your daughter had such a great experience with us. We are know for our warm hospitality, and as you mentioned our location is one of a kind. With convenient access to fabulous shopping and the river trails, there is always something fun to do.

We did just recently complete a full renovation of the hotel, and are celebrating 40 years of Pacific Northwest Hospitality in 2013!

We look forward to serving you as our guest again when your travels bring you back to the Eugene area.

Warm Regards,
George Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
873 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
583 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#14 of 35 in Eugene
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Property: Valley River Inn
Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing