We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice value”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, nice value”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed one night. Location was great, nice walkway along the river. Lots of dining choices very close to hotel. Clean, large rooms. Poolside room, still quiet and peaceful, which was needed after a long drive. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    248
    108
    44
    28
See reviews for
219
166
48
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at VRI and have stayed there before. It was recently remodeled and I had the opportunity to stay in a junior suite on the river that was fabulous.
The restaurant is lovely with a varied menu. It is walking distance to the mall and right on a walking, biking path that runs along side the river. It also nearby Autzen Stadium, home of the Oregon Ducks. The room was comfortable and well appointed. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity22gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent the weekend at The Valley River Inn to visit family. The room was really comfortable, the bed was just right. The best part of the stay was having that amazing view of the river. We took advantage of the lobby, to hang out by the fire and chat, and took advantage of the bar. Everyone we encountered was friendly and the room felt like a decent value for the view.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a view of the River... it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh0ffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

had an excellent time at the event that we ahd planned at valley river inn. the rooms were very large and clean, the service for all the events was excellent. we had a meeting for 28 people, a luncheon for 30 and dinner for 60, all request were taken care of and no hassels with change orders at the last minute. food was great,table settings were excellent, and the help they gave the band was awsome. thank you

Room Tip: "south side rooms are river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The service and Hospitality before and during our stay for my wife's Birthday celebration at Valley River Inn. was awsome. We had a wonderful stay and the service from all the staff was outstanding. Kevin (Concierge) did a great job of arranging our visit to the local wineries which was an experience we will never forget. Furthermore, and to our surprise, we were personally invited to the guest appreciation party, that was an opportunity to meet the Valley River Inn Staff. We really enjoyed meeting with Chris in the Concierge Lounge (a delightful experience).
Sweetwaters restaurant, where the ambiance and quality of food is superb and the Tiramisu was to die for.
Also, the Hotel Manager Mr. Roger, was so kind to arrange our short trip to Florence, OR.
Mike in Reservations was also a great help in assisting us with our changing schedules and wonderful accommodations while at Valley River Inn.
We must say thanks to all the staff that continued to make us feel like family during our stay.
On our trip home we continually talked about the Hospitality extended to my wife's Birthday celebration and how soon we could plan a return trip to Valley River Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are most preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOOTLTUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Valley River Inn. We truly appreciate your feedback and enjoy sharing it with the team. This makes them even more passionate about what they do.

We are very pleased to see that we were able to participate in making your wifes special day even more memorable. This is what we take so much pride in here at Valley River Inn! We are excited to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Eugene area.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on a weekend. I requested a room that would accommodate someone with disabilities. (Although not in a wheelchair, I have spinal injuries that make mobility difficult) The pros: The ground-floor room was clean and spacious, and had a patio with chairs near the pool. The bed was comfortable. Room service food was good. The staff was friendly and cheerful. The cons: There was a bit of a walk to get to my room. No one offered to help with my luggage. As someone else stated: "I did not care for the heater fan running all night even when I turned it off." Perhaps it was for "white noise" to help with sleep, but I found it a bit annoying. There was a coffee maker in the room but no refrigerator. Their restaurant, Sweet Water's, has good food but the service was very slow. It seems they're quite understaffed. I would stay here again in the hopes that the hotel will correct these challenges... this hotel could be so much more enjoyable by doing so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angels_Wing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate you staying at Valley River Inn while you were in town. As you mentioned our rooms are very large and spacious, and our staff is very dedicated to providing excellent service to our guests.

Thank you also for the suggestions that we can work improve on. This is great feedback to share with the team so they can continue to learn. Your experience with Sweetwaters is not what our guests typically experience and I have shared your comments with them.

We hope to see you again when you come to the Eugene area. If there is anything we can do in advance to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently stayed two nights here. We were in one of the remodeled rooms and found it to be clean, nice and very roomy. It does have a great location and is easy to get to other areas of Eugene from there.

Room Tip: On the third floor their is a "Club Level" that has a great breakfast and happy hour snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51766Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us at Valley River Inn. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our recent remodel. Every guest room, public space, and Sweetwaters on the River enjoyed a complete make over.

Again, thank you for your stay and your feedback. We hope to have you with us again the next time you are in Eugene.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 37 in Eugene
1,080 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 37 in Eugene
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 37 in Eugene
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Property: Valley River Inn
Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing