We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay... Wonderful View”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent the weekend at The Valley River Inn to visit family. The room was really comfortable, the bed was just right. The best part of the stay was having that amazing view of the river. We took advantage of the lobby, to hang out by the fire and chat, and took advantage of the bar. Everyone we encountered was friendly and the room felt like a decent value for the view.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a view of the River... it's worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nh0ffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
There are newer reviews for Valley River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 722 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

had an excellent time at the event that we ahd planned at valley river inn. the rooms were very large and clean, the service for all the events was excellent. we had a meeting for 28 people, a luncheon for 30 and dinner for 60, all request were taken care of and no hassels with change orders at the last minute. food was great,table settings were excellent, and the help they gave the band was awsome. thank you

Room Tip: "south side rooms are river view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The service and Hospitality before and during our stay for my wife's Birthday celebration at Valley River Inn. was awsome. We had a wonderful stay and the service from all the staff was outstanding. Kevin (Concierge) did a great job of arranging our visit to the local wineries which was an experience we will never forget. Furthermore, and to our surprise, we were personally invited to the guest appreciation party, that was an opportunity to meet the Valley River Inn Staff. We really enjoyed meeting with Chris in the Concierge Lounge (a delightful experience).
Sweetwaters restaurant, where the ambiance and quality of food is superb and the Tiramisu was to die for.
Also, the Hotel Manager Mr. Roger, was so kind to arrange our short trip to Florence, OR.
Mike in Reservations was also a great help in assisting us with our changing schedules and wonderful accommodations while at Valley River Inn.
We must say thanks to all the staff that continued to make us feel like family during our stay.
On our trip home we continually talked about the Hospitality extended to my wife's Birthday celebration and how soon we could plan a return trip to Valley River Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are most preferred.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOOTLTUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Valley River Inn. We truly appreciate your feedback and enjoy sharing it with the team. This makes them even more passionate about what they do.

We are very pleased to see that we were able to participate in making your wifes special day even more memorable. This is what we take so much pride in here at Valley River Inn! We are excited to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Eugene area.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on a weekend. I requested a room that would accommodate someone with disabilities. (Although not in a wheelchair, I have spinal injuries that make mobility difficult) The pros: The ground-floor room was clean and spacious, and had a patio with chairs near the pool. The bed was comfortable. Room service food was good. The staff was friendly and cheerful. The cons: There was a bit of a walk to get to my room. No one offered to help with my luggage. As someone else stated: "I did not care for the heater fan running all night even when I turned it off." Perhaps it was for "white noise" to help with sleep, but I found it a bit annoying. There was a coffee maker in the room but no refrigerator. Their restaurant, Sweet Water's, has good food but the service was very slow. It seems they're quite understaffed. I would stay here again in the hopes that the hotel will correct these challenges... this hotel could be so much more enjoyable by doing so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angels_Wing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate you staying at Valley River Inn while you were in town. As you mentioned our rooms are very large and spacious, and our staff is very dedicated to providing excellent service to our guests.

Thank you also for the suggestions that we can work improve on. This is great feedback to share with the team so they can continue to learn. Your experience with Sweetwaters is not what our guests typically experience and I have shared your comments with them.

We hope to see you again when you come to the Eugene area. If there is anything we can do in advance to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently stayed two nights here. We were in one of the remodeled rooms and found it to be clean, nice and very roomy. It does have a great location and is easy to get to other areas of Eugene from there.

Room Tip: On the third floor their is a "Club Level" that has a great breakfast and happy hour snac...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51766Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us at Valley River Inn. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our recent remodel. Every guest room, public space, and Sweetwaters on the River enjoyed a complete make over.

Again, thank you for your stay and your feedback. We hope to have you with us again the next time you are in Eugene.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent two nights at The Valley River Inn. It is decent hotel in a good location. The room we had was not one of the "recently remodeled" rooms mentioned in other reviews but it was fine. The room was almost double the size of a typical hotel room of the same grade/price. Unless we are staying in a 5 star hotel I cringe when walking barefoot on hotel room carpets and this was no exception. The front desk staff was great even though they were super busy when we checked in. One draw back was the seasonal closure of the pool that we were not expecting.

Room Tip: Try to get a "recently remodeled room" and one that faces the river.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at Valley River Inn. I am disappointed to see that we did not meet your satisfaction in all areas of your stay. This is very unusual here and I have shared your feedback with the team so they can effectively use this information.

The entire hotel, including all guest rooms, just underwent an entire renovation, so everything is fresh and new. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you return to the Eugene area.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was nice and well furnished. I did not care for the heater fan running all night even when I turned it off. Also the service in the bar was very slow, yes it was busy but not that busy and when we went to the bar to
get our own drinks we were told to wait for our waitress. It was over 10 minutes to get served our drinks. The
hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd t T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 38 in Eugene
1,092 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 38 in Eugene
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
2.2 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: $111 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find tastefully appointed accommodations and upscale amenities in a stunning riverfront location at Valley River Inn. Our historic hotel in Eugene, Oregon offers 257 spacious suites & guest rooms with patios or balconies offering gorgeous views of the Willamette River, the Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards. In addition to our cozy rooms and suites, our Eugene hotel offers an outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, and on-site restaurant—the award-winning SweetWaters on the River—that serves innovative Pan-Pacific Northwest cuisine in an elegant riverfront setting. We’re located in the heart of Willamette Valley, close to everything you want to see and do in Eugene. Visit your favorite student at the University of Oregon, and take in an Oregon Ducks football game at nearby Autzen Stadium. Enjoy great shopping and dining next door at Valley River Center. Or spend the day touring local wineries and breweries. Valley River Inn has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing