We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference at Valley River Inn”
Review of Valley River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley River Inn
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was at a 3-day conference recently at the Valley River Inn and wanted to compliment the staff for their hospitality. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, and lounge/restaurant staff were very friendly. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the food is good. The meeting rooms were also very spacious and the banquet facilities were perfect for such a large group.

Room Tip: Unless you have to get up by 5am, do not choose a room between 221-225, the concierge lounge is dire...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaMM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Valley River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 722 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent last night in this wonderful hotel & staying again tonight. Couldn't wait to praise it. Of course, you must stay on the 3rd floor, Exclusive Concierge Level to make it worth your while. The amenties on this level are amazing: upscale continental breakfast, complimentary high speed internet access, big fluffy bathrobes, turndown service, hosted evening hors d'oeuvres and beverages (every kind of alcohol imaginable)....so worth it. Chris has hosted the breakfast and happy hour for 9 yrs. and he is the host with the most. Room #312 is a huge suite and where we'll stay next time. Can't wait to use that big jazuzzi tub! Hotel is beautiful, service excellent. Be sure and book a room overlooking the river. Even in mid Nov. now, cloudy and crisp, we sat on the balcony. Did I say the hotel was across the street from the largest shopping mall? Not to worry, hotel is quiet. No noise except from the running river and the Mallard ducks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stumbled upon this inn while traveling through Oregon for 5 days. Near commercial development (mall, restaurants, etc.) but once you got on the property, and dined at the restaurant (overlooking the river) - you were transformed into another state of mind! Bed, bath, TV, room, etc. were all clean, non-smoking (which we love), and we enjoyed our 1 night. Wish we could have stayed for a few more - but needed to get back home!

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to the main building; breakfast was not included in our room rate (not sure i...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a treat to stay at the Valley River Inn in Eugene, OR. The hotel appearance was startling when we first walked in the door, the accommodations were great and the staff was very friendly and personable. We were in town for two nights only and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were addressed by name during the check in process (took about 2 minutes total) and treated as if we were long time regular guests. Our standard king room was spacious, clean, neat, nicely furnished and very pleasant with a view of the river (must request a river view room) which was just outside our patio. The bed was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. We were on the concierge floor (recommended for anyone staying at this hotel) which offered happy hour every evening with complementary beverages and snacks and a complementary breakfast daily of muffins, breads, rolls, cereals, and outstanding freshly made tasty waffles. Chris, the concierge host was friendly and dedicated to being the best host ever--and he made the grade. The hotel restaurant offered a nice choice of tasty meals and the butternut squash ravioli was superb. I will recommend it for everyone. The staff were all very friendly and outgoing and made us feel like guests in their own home. This is a very nicely appointed, comfortable and pleasant hotel to which I will return whenever I am staying in Eugene.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view (these are away from the parking lot) and upgrade to the concierge o...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tried to check in after 4pm and was told their was no room ready and they couldn't tell us when their would be. When pushed they finally said sometime after 8pm. They didn't offer any compensation and said that is just the way it is on game days. Game days? There is no information about this when making a reservation online - we were just one of many very upset guests which they must experience every "game day". We paid $270. for a subpar room that was not what we reserved and it was dirty. I have never complained on trip advisor, but this motivatecd me to warn others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank interior m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValleyRiverInn, Front Office Manager at Valley River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your stay at Valley River Inn and for taking time to share your experience. This type of feedback is very important to us.

I do apologize about the delay in check in time. You are correct, we do not have a check in time on Oregon Duck Home Football game weekends. This is due to check in time being directly tied to kick off time. Once kick off time is announced, we contact every guest to inform them of the check in time and let them know the different ways we can help since rooms are not ready at the traditional check in time. There are a few guests we are unable to reach, usually those who book on websites other than Valley River Inn, since contact information is not given to us.

As for the condition of the room, that is not a normal experience at Valley River Inn. I have met with the Director of Housekeeping so he is aware of the concerns and will address them accordingly.

Again, I apologize for the frustrations you experienced, hopefully we will see you again when your travels bring us to the Eugene area.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Edwards
Director of Front Office Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I frequently travel and have always had exceptional service at Valley River Inn. The recent renovations are very modern and nice. This hotel has the most convenient location and a fantastic restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tawny566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Valley River Inn concierge level, river view room was absolutely gorgeous! The remodel is very modern, elegantly done and comfortable. Roxanne, Rachel and the front desk staff were very friendly. We had dinner in the bar one evening and the food was delicious! Looking forward to returning soon! Thanks for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to have a river view room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha0973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 38 in Eugene
1,092 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 38 in Eugene
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
2.2 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley River Inn

Address: 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Eugene
#5 Business Hotel in Eugene
#7 Family Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: $109 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valley River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to one of the most time-honored and respected hotels in Eugene, Oregon. From its versatile event space to its award-winning restaurant, Valley River Inn offers Northwest hospitality at its best, with signature West Coast charm. Gaze out across the Willamette River, Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards from your own private balcony or patio. Enjoy our large outdoor swimming pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, and fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Valley River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley River Hotel Eugene
Valley River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing