We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eugene University Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Friendly staff at check-in and nice room (118 I think?). We were tucked back in a corner of the parking lot right by the staircase. Though we had a lot of foot traffic right by our room, we were somewhat shielded from the noise of the busy main road. The room itself was nice, with a comfy bed and decent sized living area, along with the traditional amenities you'd hope for.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the university and directly across the street from the arena. Hayward Field is a short walk away, and there are also some nice trails for running/walking just across the river. Several casual dining options can be found on the main drag as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pknight212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at University Inn & Suites and do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here last night for 1 night on my way to Portland. Feels fairly safe, clean with a decent size room. Ventilation in bathroom is really loud!! I stayed in room 220 (avoid!!). But it's right next to the busy Franklin Rd. You can hear some loud traffic late and early morning, if you're looking for a quieter place to stay, look elsewhere. It's a bit over priced too for the kind of location that it's in. Also, it looks more like a motel than an "inn" for $100/night, and that was after a small AAA discount was given to me. But nice of the staff to give me the discount despite not being an AAA member. :) Thanks for that!

Room Tip: Just stay away from rooms closer to main Franklin Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for for reviewing your stay with us. We have made note of your feedback and forwarded to the appropriate departments. Our convenient location on busy Franklin Blvd. does mean there will be traffic, but we are always happy to check availability of rooms further away from the street if requested at the time of reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I recently stayed at the University Inn in Eugene, OR. After a long and stressful day of travel, one fiasco after another, I arrived at the hotel and was greeted by Challace at the front desk. What a breath of fresh air she was. She was extremely attentive, courteous, and truly helpful, which after the day I had was all I could have asked for. Thank you Challace for an easy, stress free end to my day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at University Inn. We are always happy to hear that our front desk staff was attentive and helpful. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at the University Inn & Suites over the weekend, while visiting my kids at the University of Oregon in Eugene. I stayed there for 3 nights. Upon returning home this Monday, April 28th 2014 I received a call stating that I had violated their NO PET policy and that they had charged me an extra $200.00. I told Samantha that I had never brought in a pet into my room. She said that they had discovered long brown fur/dander in my room and that she had pictures to prove it. I tried to explain over and over that I did not bring any type of animal into my room. She consistently talked over me and would not listen to me. I don't know how many times I needed to explain myself. I did not violate the NO PET policy, as I did not bring a pet with me. My dog, who just happens to have short white fur, was at home. She said I should contact my bank and make a claim. She said that once the bank had the information/evidence, they would then decide who was right and make the decision of whether or not to put the charge through. After wracking my brain, the only thing I could think of was that I had I cleaned my round hairbrush. But I assure you, I did not strew my hair around the room. I put it in the trash can under the sink. I'm am hurt and upset that she would accuse me of such a thing. She would not listen to my explanation. She said that she had given my name and number to her manager and that maybe he would call me.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
5  Thank Chimpyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Our sincerest apologies for the experience you have had after checking out from University Inn & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to bring these customer service issues to our attention and have taken steps to avoid them in the future and improve the way we handle such issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

There were things that could have been better, like a funky shower with low water pressure, and a TV that was in need of servicing. But the important stuff was great. Bed was comfy, and room was clean and super quiet! I'm a light sleeper and usually wake throughout the night at hotels like this. But I slept great. Staff was super nice and made some great recommendations for food as well. Also the continental breakfast was typical, but did have the waffle maker which is always nice.
For a nights rest on a budget, this is a good stop.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SingingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at University Inn & Suites. We have made note of your feedback and forwarded to the appropriate departments. Please do check back next time you visit Eugene as we are constantly working to improve our facilitates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. Great for a one night stay while commuting. I wouldn't stay there for an extended period. Price is very reasonable for what you get. Nothing special about the facilities, very simple.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor so checking in and checking out, loading the car was an ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the rates and friendly staff, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well, it was cheep. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a business center, so I could print our boarding passes. The room was clean. It just felt like it was out of the '70s. Had Wi-Fi which worked well. Didn't take a shower. Didn't have breakfast there, but looked to be minimal - bagels, cereal, etc.
The bed was okay. My room had a couch, desk and chair, mini refrigerator, microwave. Adequate for an overnight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerieakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are glad to hear our business center was useful and that our staff was helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#20 of 38 in Eugene
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Eugene Downtown/University
0.7 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.2 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#10 of 38 in Eugene
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene University Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene University Inn & Suites

Address: 1857 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-1984 (Formerly Franklin Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range: $60 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene University Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EUGENE HOTEL - QUALITY UNIVERSITY LODGING Welcome to University Inn & Suites, a 100% smoke-free, family-friendly Eugene, Oregon hotel. You'll enjoy well-appointed accommodations, exceptional service, and an array of amenities to make your visit a most pleasurable and memorable one. An ideal location provides easy access to jogging and biking trails, shopping and dining options, and the Eugene Airport. When you're our guest, you'll always be within close proximity of fun things to do. Eugene attractions range from Lane County Fairgrounds and Alton Baker Park to Autzen Stadium, home of the University of Oregon Ducks football team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eugene University Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing