We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eugene University Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This nice little motel, across the street from the Univ of OR, was very comfortable. I had only planned to stay 2 days. That stretched into 5. The staff was extremely helpful; I was moving to Eugene and had a million questions. One staff member (Rene) even helped rode the buses with me as I tried to come to understand Eugene's transit system. Is that above and beyond the call of duty or what? The only reason I couldn't give it a 5 rating is because it's not the Hilton. It's just a comfortable/safe friendly little independent motel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal I would say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
University Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time in filling this review out. We strive to make our guests feel at home and it seems like we succeed in your case. We will inform Renee of the thoughtfulness you had to mention her. She is a great addition to our team and she does go above and beyond (even on a bus). We appreciate your business very much. We hope you come see us soon and again and tell your family and friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    30
    12
    24
See reviews for
48
35
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhododendron, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I would keep looking for another hotel. this is old and needs to be updated. the toilet had to be dealt with or it would keep running and it was sluggish. the air conditioner did not cool the room and it was a hot muggy evening in eugene. we had to keep the window and door open to let a breeze come in the room. the front desk staff was very nice and the breakfast was great but i wouldn"t stay here again even though it was across the street from UofO we still drove for our tou.r

Room Tip: keep looking for another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165maryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on here. We do understand we are an older hotel and we are continually making changes to update our hotel. We take pride in our service that we offer through our front desk as you mentioned. Since we may not have all the amenities as maybe some other hotels, we try to offer the best service through our staff. We thank you so much for your honesty. Please check back as we continue to upgrade on our facilities and if you do, we would like to offer you a discount of on your next stay. Just call our front desk at (541) 342-4804.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eugene hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I came to Eugene to see the Dahli Lama last week. I drove down from Seattle and after so many hours in a car all I wanted to do was take a nap and relax. The front desk staff was very kind and helpful in not only getting me into a room right away, they even were able to accommodate for my last minute requests (first floor & towards the back). They directed us to an amazing Italien restaurant, Bebe & Giannis! The room was clean and the price was perfect, but even better is the location- right across from Matthew Knight Arena and walking distance to Autzen, I will definitely be coming back for Football season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherD206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review on our hotel. We are so pleased that our staff was attentive and provided you with friendly, helpful service. Here at University Inn & Suites we make it out number one goal to provide only the best service to our guests and we are glad you could experience this type of service we aim to achieve. We are so fortunate to be just across from the Matthew Knight Arena as our location provides convenient lodging to many events and concerts, such as the Dalai Lama. It would be our pleasure to serve your lodging needs for football season! Go Ducks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The place was inexpensive and the staff was nice enough however, the room left a lot to be desired.There weren't other rooms available as we were there for the Eugene Marathon and it was booked, so we were stuck. First, it smelled like smoke (all no smoking rooms) and there was a shower cap over the smoke detector (guess the maid didn't notice that...hmm), there was a burn hole in the couch and heavy dust on the furniture. While stretching, my friend found some costume jewelry under the bed (guess they don't clean under the beds). Also, if you want to use the hide-a-bed, there is a $10 charge for that! The shower had a choice of a light trickle or a lighter one which was barely sufficient to rinse shampoo out of one's hair. The TV had a movie channel but there wasn't any movies from this decade. It also had a music channel but I had not heard of even one artist in any of the genres. The breakfast was adequate (cereal, fruit, breads) and they were accommodating marathon participants by opening breakfast early and allowing late check out. Look for another place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, General Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our front desk employees. We will make sure they get recognized for their great professionalism. We apologize that you did not find the room inadequate. We, here at University Inn and Suites, work really hard to ensure a great stay for our guests. We have address the issues that you brought to our attention, and we look forward to your review helping us in the future. We hope that if you do stay in Eugene again, we would like offer you 25% off on your next stay if you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything was satisfactory for the rate charged. The room itself, very nice. Clean , bed is comfortable. The front desk staff is amazing. Very nice and personable. Can not beat the price of this place. If you're trying to get a great room for a good price or are travelling on a budget, then this place is for you. The value you receive is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We, here at University Inn and Suites, appreciate you take time to stop by trip advisor to write us a review. We are so glad to hear your stay with us was a wonderful experience. We are always looking to better ways in assisting our guests. Our front desk attendants take pride in their work and customer relations and we are glad to see our guests notice them. We hope to see you again in the future and if you could, please tell others about us. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The customer service is what makes this place stand out. Our front desk person (sorry, I didn't get his name) was outstanding. As for the accomodations, the location was excellent, if I had been in town for a Ducks game (note to self for future reference). The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing spectacular, no bells and whistles, but completely adequate for my needs. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCLUZEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Front Office Manager at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. Our sole purpose here at University Inn and Suites is to make our guests feel at home and well appreciated. We are continually looking to advance in our service and improving the decor of our rooms. We are glad that our font desk clerk, Ryan, was able to help you during your stay. We are also pleased to know that you will stay here again. We encourage and request that you tell your friends about us. We are always looking to meet new people and creating bonds with those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just booked my stay there with my daughter. I hope that when I get there, it is what I need after driving straight through from CA. I will rewrite this review after our stay. I must say the price is right the area is perfect for being close to UNIV... I also asked my other daughter about the area,since she is already in OR going to school there..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank 13maryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugeneuniversityinn, Director of Sales at Eugene University Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are confident that your stay at the University Inn & Suites will be exceptional.
If there is anything we can do, to make your stay more exceptional, please bring this to our attention.

We wish you safe travel to our beautiful city; and a comfortable, relaxing visit to the University Inn & Suites.

DPR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 35 in Eugene
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Eugene Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eugene University Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eugene University Inn & Suites

Property: Eugene University Inn & Suites
Address: 1857 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-1984 (Formerly Franklin Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eugene University Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EUGENE HOTEL - QUALITY UNIVERSITY LODGING Welcome to University Inn & Suites, a 100% smoke-free, family-friendly Eugene, Oregon hotel. You'll enjoy well-appointed accommodations, exceptional service, and an array of amenities to make your visit a most pleasurable and memorable one. An ideal location provides easy access to jogging and biking trails, shopping and dining options, and the Eugene Airport. When you're our guest, you'll always be within close proximity of fun things to do. Eugene attractions range from Lane County Fairgrounds and Alton Baker Park to Autzen Stadium, home of the University of Oregon Ducks football team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eugene University Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing