We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Standard for Fish and Chips”

Newman’s Fish Company
Ranked #30 of 615 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Eugene
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Standard for Fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When it comes to finding the best fish and chips in Eugene, there is none better than Newman's. When we travel we always compare our fish and chips meals to Newman's. It's the greatest. Unfortunately, we pretty much limit our patronage of Newman's to the summer in good weather, because most of their seating is outside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 644WallyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good fresh sea food!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's not a fancy place and not a great place for a date or the family. But, if you just want no frills good fresh seafood Newman's is the place! Everything I've had here was great. The fish tacos are my favorite and I recommend them!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We generally call Newmans on Coburg Road. We order the Halibut fish and chips. It's a little expensive ($23 for two orders). But worth the stop.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank catsplay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish & chips”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

They have fresh fish and chips, but the fish and chips a the Fishermen's market is much better and they have a large selection, plus they give you both chips & coleslaw

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank selove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, OR
1 review
“Newmans Not So Subltle Change in Quality”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I started going to Newmans in 2009 and enjoyed the fried scallops meal that I had at the Coburg location every time I went. Out of necessity, the price of the scallops had to increase dramatically (gas, the economy, whatever) and I understood. What I don't understand is that the quality of the scallops has gone down, the batter has thickened and the oil used to cook the scallops is just not as fresh as it should be. I'm willing to pay more for the same quality but not for inferior food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newman’s Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Newman’s Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing