We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips”

Newman’s Fish Company
Ranked #30 of 620 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Springfield, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We generally call Newmans on Coburg Road. We order the Halibut fish and chips. It's a little expensive ($23 for two orders). But worth the stop.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank catsplay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish & chips”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

They have fresh fish and chips, but the fish and chips a the Fishermen's market is much better and they have a large selection, plus they give you both chips & coleslaw

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank selove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, OR
1 review
“Newmans Not So Subltle Change in Quality”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I started going to Newmans in 2009 and enjoyed the fried scallops meal that I had at the Coburg location every time I went. Out of necessity, the price of the scallops had to increase dramatically (gas, the economy, whatever) and I understood. What I don't understand is that the quality of the scallops has gone down, the batter has thickened and the oil used to cook the scallops is just not as fresh as it should be. I'm willing to pay more for the same quality but not for inferior food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

NO one does fish better than Mewman's. Great price, generous portions, friendly staff. No muss no fuss! Stop by today.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I had high expectations for this place but it didn't deliver. Food was priced right but nothing special. Grilled fish and rice made me wish for some vegetables. Salmon on rice didn't delight. Breaded scallops weren't above average.
I rarely give bad reviews. This wasn't bad food, just not special. Kids had chowder that had too much pepper. Food was heavy handed all around. I will try something else next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newman’s Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Newman’s Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing