We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the Salmon!”

Newman’s Fish Company
Ranked #25 of 610 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get the Salmon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Newman's is a sunny day experience. That'll make your food taste better too. Not that this food requires that, but it does make the experience a better one. It's not often you see deep fried salmon on anyone's menu, but that's one of the standard selections here, and I always get it. Salmon is superb as a deep fried offering, and given that halibut is so absurdly expensive (and not that much better anyway), get the salmon and enjoy a wonderful meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfugawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Newman's is a fish & chips takeout eatery, but the fish is fresh and the cost is reasonable. We will go back again and again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

You can get fish that is not deep fried. Yummy fresh fish!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PoppiMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Served at an outside walk up window. Fish and chips, and clam chowder. That's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

The fish and chips are very good. I felt that the amount i food fir the price was reasonable. My family had the cod, the halibut and the shrimp. All were tasty and well prepared. The food is served at a walk up window and there is very limited seating, mostly outside and a few seats inside of the fish market. The fish market smells like a fish market, not my idea of a lovely place to sit and eat. The server was not pleasant or unpleasant, she was just there. I would probably not visit again if I was in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent -- Experienced Fishmongers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The people who work here really know what they're doing; the fish is uniformly fresh and superlative; the place is clean and well-kept. I never go anywhere else for fish.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newman’s Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Newman’s Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing