We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Us”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eugene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect for Us”
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I loved it. It was convenient. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was quaint. The location was perfect for track, the marathon and walking to the Spring game. The best Italian restaurant is walking distance across from Prince Pucklers...and oh yeah...PRINCE PUCKLERS is the best. The house is historic but clean and comfortable. You just can't beat that location. There was even off street parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Happy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
18
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Came with small group for Mom's weekend celebration and luckily got into this B&B. Great staff, excellent location to University and restaurants. Rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable...like a home not hotel! Staff was incredibly accommodating offering to make different breakfast to suit special dietary needs. Employee allowed us to gather in dining area to visit with our daughter and enjoy a glass of wine. He even played the piano and saxophone for us. Sorry to hear that someone complained...wish they would have come down to say something as we would have left earlier. Next year we are going to book all the rooms for this Mom's weekend at the Secret Garden. Others staying at nearby hotels were envious! Kudos to employee Dave for being an awesome host!! (The Secret Garden is very quaint & quiet....it was our group that was loud for about an hour or so.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigangal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We booked the room later in the evening and the employee was nice, offering us a discount since it was so late. There was a large group, probably from the college, in the common area for a group meeting. When we got to our room we could hear pretty much everything going on down there, including an employee playing the tuba for the group. The group left around 10 PM.

The TV was very small and had poor reception. The Wi-Fi signal was also very weak. The rest of the room was nice, though the bathroom amenities were poor quality. Decor was nice and the bed was comfortable. The house was very noisy though, creaking throughout the night. There were at least 5 instances where it seemed like somebody was pulling on our door handle.

We did not stay for breakfast, so I can't comment on the quality of the food. I would not stay again, but for one night it wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Staff members accommodated our request to have a birthday cake celebration in the breakfast room the evening of our stay. They set out plates, utensils, glassware and a pitcher of water. They also made space in the refrigerator for the cake.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, N.Y.
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I visited family in Eugene over the Easter holiday. Stayed at the Secret Garden Inn rather than on the fold out couch in my parents living room. The staff could not have been friendlier and the room (Toadstool) could not have been more comfortable. The Inn was beautifically decorated and in a quiet neighborhood, adjacent to the Univ. of Oregon. Can't say anything about breakfast, because I slept late every day. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised and will probably stay there again when future family affairs bring me to Eugene.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Found online when booking travel for mtg at the U of O - close to campus, location perfect. Great ambience - even better than it looks online...Quiet and peaceful, meticulously clean and staff was top notch--friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2009

What a gift the Garden is to Eugene. Never again will I be looking for motels when business takes me to the city. The Garden is exceptionally easy to find and it has a very convenient on-site parking lot. I couldn't ask for a more peaceful, cozy environment. The staff went out of their way to be cordial and helpful and the meals were prepared to perfection.

The Secret Garden is just a block away from the U of O campus, which made it ideal for the visit I had to make there. This section of the city has a marvelous selection of fine outside dinning, many are within convenient walking distance.

I will not be shopping for motels on my next visits to Eugene. The Secret Garden has moved to the top of my favorites list and to the top of my list for referals.

Thank you Staff, Rob.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 35 in Eugene
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 35 in Eugene
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.7 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#13 of 35 in Eugene
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: 1910 University Street, Eugene, OR 97403
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is an intimate, European-style Boutique Hotel one block from the University of Oregon in Eugene, Oregon. Within walking distance to Matthew Knight Arena, Track City – Hayward Field, Steve Prefontaine’s Memorial, Hendricks Park, Autzen Stadium, Willamette River and riverside bike paths, Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, Maude Kerns Art Center, Beall Concert Hall and several Restaurants including Agate Ally, Beppe & Gianni’s Trattoria, Studio One Cafe, Wild Duck and McMenamins. In the late 1990s when Becky Kaiser became steward of this stately home once owned by the Baker family of the distinguished newspaper, the Eugene Register Guard. She brought with her the aura of her grandfather, Henry Kaiser, known as the father of modern American ship building. As the small inn’s proprietor, Becky Kaiser developed its themed charm from the book The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.Since May 2008 when Don Flinn assumed ownership, Secret Garden’s charming staff continues the tradition of providing a sophisticated level of comfort and courtesy. The common rooms consist of a large lobby with intimate seating areas with fireplaces, two large dining rooms & gorgeous gardens ideal for weddings, meetings and social gatherings. Delicious on site catering provided and the attention to detail to create your perfect event. The staff enjoys sharing knowledge of the recreational pleasures of the Willamette Valley including the annual Oregon Bach Festival, Oregon Mozart Players, Prefontaine Classic, UofO Football & Basketball games, NCAA Track & Field, wine tastings at nearby King Estates and always golf, especially at Bandon Dunes on the Oregon coast. (Ask about Secret Garden’s limo service available for your excursions.) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing