We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oval Door- charming with great granola!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
santa monica
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Oval Door- charming with great granola!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

Lovely B&B near downtown Eugene-- superb full breakfasts, beautiful rooms. My husband converted to a crunchy granola type after he ate their homemade version. It is for purchase and worth bringing home! Please note, you will need to take off your shoes at the entry.

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — A little odd to remove shoes in the inn.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank uzengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
62
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

Very clean and comfortable home. Plenty of rooms to select from, great location for dining that is within walking distance. Very relaxed atmosphere. Great Service, especially the morning coffee tray brought to your room first thing before you go down for a full breakfast. The hostess askes your preferences for tea or coffee and how you take it for the morning tray. This was fantastic.
This is the cleanest place I have ever stayed in.... And I look all the time in all kinds of corners etc.

  • Liked — VERY Clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gemneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

We arrived at the Inn not quite sure what to expect, and we had a great time. We had one of the least expensive rooms (only $100 a night, even on the weekend!), and it was charming, spacious, and light, as was the private bathroom within our room. The innkeepers were not around as much as I am used to, but they were available by phone and friendly when present. Tea, sodas, beer, wine and homemade cookies were always available, and you could choose your breakfast time within a 2 hour window. They had the most helpful notebook of restaurant info, including comments on each plus menus. Don't miss the Fisherman's Market on 7th street if you like seafood.
Once we arrived, we never moved our car for our whole 2 night stay, because there was so much to do within walking distance, including lots of restaurants, shopping, the amazing Eugene library, the university, and a walking path along the river. We look forward to returning!

  • Liked — beautiful rooms, great location, good price
  • Disliked — not much outdoor seating
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank goodtogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

The Oval Door does not have a very friendly atmosphere which is unusal for a B&B. The room was very clean, but nothing special. It was hot in Eugene and there was a window unit air conditioner in the bedroom that was noisy but necessary to stay pleasant in the room. I think I was most turned off by the lack of friendliness. Eugene is a very helpful, friendly town and this B&B did not match the city.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank damino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene,oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

We loved the Oval Door. We stayed in the Wild Rose room and it was spacious. There were little special touches all over. It was comfortable and clean. Loved the breakfast in the morning. We would highly recommend it. Warning-getting there through all the one way streets was hair raising. Otherwise, you can walk to most anything.

  • Liked — Amenities, charming,
  • Disliked — parking
  • Tips/Secrets — go early to breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2005

So, my husband and I have now been to the Oval Door B&B in Eugene three times. We've stayed an average of three nights each time. The things we love about it is that the entire environment and experience is so inviting, accomadating and impecably well run. In the mornig there is coffee, best in town, freshly brewed sitting out side the bedroom door. It's by request of course and seems simple, but there is something so decadent and I love that the service is so warmly delivered. At night after a long day there are fresh yummy cookies and the ability to make a cup of tea. What a way to wind up the evening. Feels like mom's home. The privacy extended to us by the owners is balanced with genuine friendlyness. We are always happy to return and see our friends at the Oval Door. Truly the best breakfast in town too, Nichole is a masterful chef. It is a treat to stay there and not at all exorbant, price wise. The house is a very cool victorian style home nesteled in a sweet neighborhood one minute's walk from downtown. What a gem of a B&B. Can you tell it's our favorite?

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2005

1st nobody was there and I had to wait around (after traveling) to check-in.

2nd I called the numbers on the door and the worker told me how busy she was somewhere else (people were supposed to be there to check me in and weren')

3rd The owner (?) was also a real estate person and was very overbearing in sales and religion (pushy)

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank futureskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innchefs, Owner at The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
We make every effort to be available for a personal check in and are always here during our normal check in hours (3-6pm). We know that sometimes guests arrive early and forget to call to let us know and so, at the front door,we put our cell phone numbers out so we can be reached in the event we are out running errands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#5 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 988 Lawrence St., Eugene, OR 97401-2827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the amenities and privacy of a fine hotel with the comfort and charm of a boutique Inn. Located in downtown Eugene, The Oval Door is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Full gourmet breakfast each morning with in-room coffee service if desired. Complimentary red & white wine, micro-beer, Coke products, sparkling water and fresh-baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oval Door Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing