We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations”
Review of Excelsior Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Our room was one of the last available, so expected and got a small room. What we didn't expect was the lack of usual amenities such as bath mat, facial tissue and working outlets. We had to charge our computer on the floor of the bathroom. Very small, cramped, with just a pedastal style sink. The wood looking floors were also very squeaky underfoot with shoes on. The bed had a added "pillow top" style cushion on top of the regular mattress, not very comfortable. The parking was very limited and cars double parked. Will not return to this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bike_ski53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Excelsior during a U or O reunion. What a wonderful experience. The composer/art theme was carried throughout the hotel. Rooms were spacious and well decorated according to composer (ours was Debussy--reds and drama). Hallways and public areas had sellable paintings which were lovely. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Alex was particularly helpful and seemed to be working endlessly and cheerfully. The buffet dinner on the night of the reunion was excellent, far above expectations for a buffet (usually steamy and soggy)--great restaurant and bar. This inn was a wonderful find--I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattyann65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stopped here for one night enroute to Crater Lake. We had the Debussy Room and it was very comfortable and plush. Nice quiet location near University area. Breakfast is included in the room charge and it was delicious. Had a wonderful omlette with fresh spinach and cheese. We did not try their restaurant otherwise, but if the breakfast is any indication, it should be good. The parking lot is hidden from the street and is very limited in size. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

You have to find the hotel behind its front-door restaurant. But we much appreciated the hotel once we found it. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The front staff was incredibly personable (like after we called and asked for directions, the person at the front desk waited for us on the street to arrive). We like Eugene and we'll definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whsy82seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed at the Excelsior last week for the first time. I have never been to Eugene before and had no idea what to expect. The Inn is quite lovely. The rooms are small but well appointed with chocolates, water, robes and other amenities. The service is friendly and the little courtyard is peaceful - and smelled good from the flowering vines. Throughout there is original art work by local artists, at amazingly good prices. The restaurant was good, a great wine list with an enthusiastic staff who were knowledgeable. It is always a good sign when the waiter puts your dessert (complimentary for guests) on a to take to your room when you are too full to eat at the table.

Parking is a bit of a challenge, but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinhorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We had really high expectations for this place but were disappointed. Our room was cramped, dark and uncomfortable, and the food was so bad that we ate at other restaurants despite the fact that we had free breakfast passes.

Don't go there!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourcenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at the Excelsior as part of a road trip from California to Washington. The night we stayed happened to be our anniversary, and found the room to be perfect for us. We chose the dinner package and were not in the least bit disappointed. The included breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well. I particularly enjoyed the art hanging on the walls in the hallways. This is definitely a gem of an inn and we will most definitely stay here again should the chance arise.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetcaroline71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eugene
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.7 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
981 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#10 of 38 in Eugene
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#6 of 38 in Eugene
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Inn

Address: 754 E 13th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range: $148 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Inn features 14 European styled elegant guest rooms with a fine dining restaurant on site. A full farm-to-table breakfast is included, all rooms have private bathrooms, and free wireless is available throughout. We have two pet-friendly rooms (Mozart and Verdi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing