We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campbell House, A City Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inn at the 5th(Eugene)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downtown Inn(Eugene)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
136
59
14
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
59
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary glass of wineb bbeautiful victorianstreet marketjacuzzi tubcommon areasbed and breakfastcozy roombreakfast is servedfew blocksnext morningamtrak stationchain hotelsbreakfast was excellenteugene areagas fireplaceclose to downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 222 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2007

A friend and I stayed here one night over Memorial Day weekend. The room was cute and was very quiet despite being on the ground floor (we were afraid of upstairs noise) and just off the common area. The beds were very comfortable, and my only complaint with the room had to do with a historic feature: the bathroom taps are separate hot/cold so you can't wash your face from them. The common areas have a lot of books, videos/DVDs, etc. available to use. Several people were just sitting and quietly reading. Meanwhile the location is very close to town and to the linear park along the river. We were awakened by one train during the night as the crossing is very close by, but it was transient noise and we quickly went back to sleep. (All told I found the trains along the Columbia Gorge, where I'd stayed on an earlier leg of this trip, to be much more frequent and noisy as the river valley forms something of a "tunnel" effect. Here, it didn't and the train quickly came and went.) The inn has recently added dinner and we considered it but ended up elsewhere in town. There were several items to choose from for breakfast which made it more like a restaurant than a b&b, but it was very good and they combined parts of a couple of different menu items for my gluten-intolerant friend. All told we thought this would be a nice place to stay for several nights and linger, instead of just one night as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborahj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

The Campbell House is a beautiful Victorian B&B tucked away in the side streets of Eugene. We turned up after hiking in the Redwood forest and when we were offered a room with a Claw foot Bath we couldn't say no! Emily was very happy to show us the rooms before we checked in - we chose a room at the back of the building with views over the garden. Our room was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, seating area, fridge, TV and that fantastic bath tub. Every guest receives a complimentary glass of wine in the evening and there was a choice of different grape varieties. The bar lounge was warm and comfortable with an open fire, tea, coffee and homemade cookies whenever you felt the urge! The owner proudly displays a photo album of the restoration of the B&B from its days of neglect - what an amazing project. Emily was really helpful and directed us to a couple of great restaurants just a couple of blocks away. At night there is a little train noise but ear plugs are provided, in case you haven't managed to wear yourself out during the day! Breakfast was included in the price and it was delicious! Free flowing fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee accompanied devilish waffles, granola and fresh fruit. There were specials too but all just a little too much for us! Such a lovely place, we stayed for an extra night.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We were thrilled to find availability last minute at the storied Campbell House Inn. This was the last stop for us on our weeklong motor holiday and the best was saved for last. We reached Lydia by phone after searching our Select Registry guidebook. She was waiting for us as we arrived during the dinner hour. After a warm welcome and a quick tour of the beautiful grounds she led us to our gorgeous room pointing out all the amenities available and attending to our needs. A number of fine restaurants were available just a stroll from the inn. We found that breakfast served in the sunny dining room was just perfect, beginning and ending with some of the best coffee of our trip. We will visit Eugene and the Campbell House again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CharlesMendocino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We have stayed at the Campbell house several times and
always found it "a treat within a retreat". A Victorian estate
built in 1892 and lovingly restored by Myra Plant. The rooms
are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. And whats
better than being just 2 blocks from downtown Eugene.
Its no wonder they were voted as one of the "Top 25 Inns
in America" by the American Historic Inns. Thanks again
to you and your wonderful staff.
Bill & Ronda

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Iflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

We booked a last-minute special just hours before checking into the Rachel room here a few days ago... what a treat! We've stayed at lots of B&B's before, but we really loved the Campbell house! They seemed to pay more attention to details than I've ever seen before! We had a free glass of local red wine in the main house, an amazing breakfast in the morning, a jacuzzi tub and warm fireplace, soft Christmas music in our bedroom, cozy robes, and a soft bed! I left twenty hours later feeling like a new person, which is saying a lot, because I was in between two law school exams! Feel free to contact me with questions!
brookgwen@juno.com

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrookMeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews