We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campbell House, A City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House, A City Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

if you are in eugene and need a place to stay - this is the place! very cosy and friendly. lots of attention to detail, and SO much nicer than a motel. Be aware that if you book the cheaper rooms, they are very small (even by European standards) but that didn't bother us as we only stayed one night. if you need space, go for the more expensive rooms.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
93
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've stayed at the Campbell House for over 10 years while on business and just visiting the Eugene area. Without a doubt it is my go to place that I choose and highly suggest to friends and business associates. I always wish I could stay longer as the Campbell House is a very comfortable and relaxing inn for a vacation or business. Myra and her staff are there for you whether you need pampering or wish to be left alone. There are a variety of rooms depending on your budget. A nice touch are the room journals which guests write their thoughts about their stay. If you are a light sleeper you might ask for a room at the back of the house due to some train noise from the train station about four blocks away. If you are a runner or like a nice scenic walk there is a public path along the river which is nearby. You can also walk up to Skinner's Butte behind the inn and see most of Eugene. There is also a climbing wall at the butte for rock climbers. Breakfasts have changed over the last year. It is now a buffet with freshly made selections though I still miss the famous waffles that were on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Nice place to stay, free glass of wine in the communal room a nice touch. Rooms are tiny so don't take your big suitcase in there. No elevator, and freight trains will bother you if you're a light sleeper. Air conditioner works extremely well, great staff and a very quaint clean place to stay. Would recommend it. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTSRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, or
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

The wife and I checked in with high hopes. We knew we had chosen the smallest room so weren't displeased with what we got. We had locked our bikes up to the rack in the parking lot that afternoon and within an hour and half our best bike was taken! When I reported it to the front desk he looked bewildered... when I asked about the obvious video camera pointed toward the parkiig lot he said that wasn't functional and was for show only. I don't hold the hotel responsible exactly but it would be nice if they had a little more security, It was a warn evening so left the windows open and woke with a start to what sounded like a train coming right into the room! As the other reviwer mentioned, four more times through the night

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spicey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lew64, manager at Campbell House, A City Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
I would like to correct a mistake our Front Desk Clerk made. He had mentioned that the Security Cameras were not functional. They are! Unfortunatly, at that paticular time we were not recording. We have some safer bike areas that we will encourage our guest to use. We are sorry for the loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We arrived around 6 pm. The front desk was manned by one of the two owners. When he saw we had a four month old baby that needed to have bottles warmed up at night he upgraded us to their carriage house for no extra charge. The room was beautiful and so peaceful. There was a hot water tap (great for warming bottles), electric fireplace, tv, tons of videos to watch, a soaker jaccuzzi tub, and a deck that overlooked a wooded area. We were close enough to walk to dinner but also backed up onto a natural area that made our stay very peaceful. The hosts were wonderful and our stay was really relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boring, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

The Bride and I have stayed in bed and breakfast inns from San Francisco to Seattle, and the Campbell House Inn is the best of our lodging experiences. LIsted on the National Registry of Historic Places, the building (s) date back to 1892 and have been painstakingly and tastefully restored to a most inviting degree. The brother and sister team of Lew and Myra own and operate the facility, and were gracious beyond expectation - even to the point of offering to tote our luggage fro and to our van. The furnishings are seemingly all period pieces, including a bed (prepared European style with blankets enveloped in sheets) with beautifully finished antique headboard, and high enough to warrant a two-step staircase. Bath robes with the company logo were a nice, added touch. Complimentary upscale wines and a delicious breakfast, including trattati, round out the offerings. Yes, trains could be a disturbance - but only to those who don't love them. The Inn is walking-distance close to downtown, and at the foot of Skinner's Butte, which overlooks much of Eugene.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir-Hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

This is a zillion times better than the two Best Westerns in town. Our suite was spacious and beautifully appointed and the staff helpful and very pleasant. Nice touches such as complementary glass of wine, cookies, and coffee. The breakfast was above average. Check out their last minute specials for great deals. We walked to shopping and restaurants. We will definitely come back when we're in Eugene; we had a relaxing visit in a comfortable, charming setting.

  • Liked — The incredible suite
  • Disliked — Outside downstairs to get to the suite (which was beautiful though)
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House, A City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House, A City Inn

Property: Campbell House, A City Inn
Address: 252 Pearl St, Eugene, OR 97401-2366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campbell House, A City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 1892 Queen Anne voted one of the nation's 25 best B&Bs by American Historic Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Campbell House, A City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House, a City Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing