We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I would have passed”

Best Western Greentree Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Greentree Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Eugene
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wish I would have passed”
Reviewed January 17, 2006

My girlfriend came into town for the first time since I moved to Eugene. As a treat I thought it might be nice to get a room some where that we could play with the kids in a pool. When checking in, we noticed someone else came back with a room key and said that they would pass. Hmmmmmmm... Well, tired and not wanting to go anywhere else by now, we got a room. Our room was not in the best shape. Rust on the bathroom fixtures, walls had sheetrock pulling off, and the beds felt like plywood. Pillows really were worthless, and the worst part, the "heated" pool was merky and so cold the kids said they didn't even want to go swimming. We then knew why the parking lot was empty.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    124
    57
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
87
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2005

Needed a quiet room after a previous night of noise elsewhere (see my review of Stewart Mineral Springs in Weed, CA)

Asked the desk cleark for a really quiet location away from the main road.
He found a room in the back building. He noted that it overlooked a little creek.
I checked it out first and it seemed nice and quiet. Quaint, even for a medium-budget chain hotel.

Checked in quickly and went out for the evening.
Got back into the room at night to hear a freight train running! Turns out both Amtrack and freight trains run all day and night. Not only behind this hotel (about 1/4 mile away) but behind all the other chain hotels on Braodway in Eugene.

If you're a heavy sleeper then go for it, or at least have a glass of wine first to knock you out.

Nice, huh?

Helpful?
5 Thank Victrola78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2005

We were passing through on our way home and only required a room for one night. The rate was reasonable and the room set up was pleasant. However the bathroom and especially the shower curtain smelled terrible.

The worst part was when when we woke up to find bug bites all over our bodies (doctor has identified them as flea bites). Our family was itchy for days and unknowingly ended up bringing the bugs home which led to days of cleaning, pesticides, fumigation etc - which in turn has cost us over hundred dollars and hasn't ended yet.

We told the front desk attendant and she was pleasant and sympathetic and gave us a discount (10%) however no discount, even if the room was free could make us stay there again. Our family has been through hell trying to eradicate these pests and are still not over this experience.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2005

We stayed here while driving back to California from the Seattle area. We had decided to stay the night and found this Best Western. Overall this was a nice place that was more than sufficient for a night or two. The staff seemed friendly and the rooms were clean. I agree with the reviewer about needing an elevator. With two small children it was hard to go up and down from the third floor but we knew there wasn't one from the AAA book. The pool is small but well maintained and there is a workout room. Continental breakfast is well, continental, but for $85 I wasn't expecting a huge breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Well, I wouldn't call it the Ritz, but it does seem to be a good value for the money. Our first room was facing the parking lot on the first floor and right away, we asked to be moved to a quieter room. The staff was very nice about it and we moved to the third floor, on the other side of the building, not facing the parking lot. My only beef with this place is that there is no elevator, come on, get with the program. Old people and small female tourists like myself might stay here and carrying heavy suitcases up three or four long flights of steps is not conducive to a convenient hotel experience. Overall, it was very well maintained and clean and quite large, comfortable rooms. I would say that this was a nice value (we paid about $75) for the weekend, but might try the Hilton down the street next time.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank cjennt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2005

I have a pet peeve. Lately a "suite" has come to mean an open archway connecting two medium sized rooms. The Greentree offers a real honest to goodness suite. It has a "goodnight, see you tomorrow" real live closing door that separates Mom and Dad from junior.

Everything else is a little above average for BW. Others may have had a bad experience here but we find it a pleasant stop for a football weekend.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fortunakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2003

we checked in late about ( 3 am ) on a Wed. the front desk person was no where to be found for an hour. When he finally appeard he was unapologetic and seemed intoxicated. The room was not worth the $80 ...
we moved to the Hilton the next day for less money !

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 36 in Eugene
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
2.2 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 36 in Eugene
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 36 in Eugene
1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Greentree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Greentree Inn

Property: Best Western Greentree Inn
Address: 1759 Franklin Boulevard, Eugene, OR 97403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Greentree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Greentree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Greentree Hotel Eugene
Best Western Eugene
Eugene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing