We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience and Work Being Done Here!”

Cascades Raptor Center
Ranked #1 of 89 things to do in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nestled on a wooded hillside in south Eugene, this nature center and wildlife hospital specializes in birds of prey. Some 50 resident birds of 30 native species are on display, including owls, falcons, hawks, to bald and golden eagles. Open Tues-Sun and some major Mon holidays.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience and Work Being Done Here!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On a stop through Eugene, we decided to head to the Raptor Center as it got good reviews on Trip Advisor. I am so glad we did! It is run by very educated volunteers and a handful of bird experts. The people working/volunteering here truly seemed to love what they are doing and believe in their cause.

It is set up so that various birds are in their own habitats nestled into the woods of the property's land and on each cage has a story about the bird as well as information its species. I personally enjoyed the "Interesting Facts" section on each of the cards. It was definitely interesting for both kids and adults.

The primary goal of the center to release birds back into the wild after injury or abandonment. It was great to see, hear, and talk about various birds that made it back into the wild as well as the ones that will be forever in captivity, but are living nicely in these large habitats, safe from lurking predators.

I highly recommend this place for kids, adults, and especially wildlife enthusiasts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilerz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    76
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Raptor exhibits bad for handicapped”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The visit started off with the parking lot down a hill from the main building. Not something that works well when you have limited mobility as I have. To enter the visitor center, you have to go up three steps, again, not handicapped friendly. Then when you are given a map, there are two sections, one uphill and one down hill. again not for the mobility limited. The ground is very uneven and walking with a cane was close to impossible. I was only able to cover half of the exhibits because there is no way to safely walk to all the cages.

The raptors look well cared for but out in the open, so I am noping they do something with them in the winter. No mention of this. If you are physicially fit and able to hick up and down a steep hill, then the raptor center is worth getting up close and personal with wild raptors, eagles, owls, osprey and others.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank winnipesaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAShimmel, Executive director at Cascades Raptor Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the difficulty of our terrain, which we do warn visitors about on our Plan Your Visit page on our website. There's only so much we can do about the topography, with switchbacks, shallow steps, hand rails, and lots of benches . We do have plans for an alternate site, flatter and with more room for parking, too, but that is years down the road. As a non-profit with a very small staff and a large volunteer base busy with lots of birds in care, fund-raising on the scale which would permit us to build from scratch to be fully accessible is not yet an option. Thank you for visiting and sharing your concerns - we share them, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique and educational”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited the Cascades Raptor Center after reading of its existence in a flier at our hotel in Eugene. I am a native of Eugene, and have been back many times since moving away years ago. In spite of that, I didn't know that the Cascades Raptor Center was there until our last trip. It is an amazing place, and one that no family should miss when in the area. We saw -- up close and personal -- three Bald Eagles, one Golden Eagle, hawks, countless owls, ravens, falcons, kites... The list goes on and on. One can get almost nose-to-beak with many of them, and there is a ton of information about each of them, as well as the reasons for their being there: Unfortunately, some had been injured to the point that they could no longer survive in the wild, while foolish people had tried to "tame" others, which never works. It only resulted in their being just comfortable enough with humans that they couldn't survive in the wild, either. While we would always prefer to see birds and animals in their native habitat, Cascades Raptor Center is absolutely the next best thing to that. Due to the location of the center, which is mostly on a slope and though the paths are graveled, it is not suitable for those with difficulty walking. It would be almost impossible to make it handicap-accessible, due to its location. But any able-bodied person will find it very doable, and children will be fascinated. Don't miss it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pondkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nesting Bald Eagles!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you want to stand right next to some amazing, alert raptors, this is the place for you. We rank this venue right up there with the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park. So worth the $8 per person. The birds are alert and personable. They've really done a good job of providing you an excess of information including each bird's personal story (why they are in a facility because they couldn't be rehabilitated) as well as general traits of the species. The enclosures are good and there's never any issues in locating occupants. You get to see nests and feeding. Really amazing and neat. And there's about 50-60 birds to view. The staff or volunteers were very nice and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back. The only bathrooms are portables so take care of going to the bathroom before you go if you can. Water is available but nothing else so make sure everyone is fed as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A quick fun educational trip”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent an hour here. There are outdoor cages with hawks, eagles, and owls. Each bird has a story on how they came at the center. When we went there, a guy came out with a hawk on his arm and answered our questions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seeversa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascades Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing