We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best little cute affordable place in downtown Eugene”
Review of Timbers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timbers Motel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have personally been to over 7 hotel motels in the Eugene area. This under 80 bucks a night is far the best for sure. Roomy enough for three people.
2 bed ground floor unit, vehicle 10 ft. away from entry door, nice for a change. No long hauling of luggage and everything you do living out of the vehicle for the duration.
Friendly enough check in. Free breakfast, bagels, cream cheese, good orange juice, bananas, coffee, muffins, toaster, bring your own favorite creamer, no eating area in small lobby.
Outside entry doors, 2 story, close in town, a dozen great food places within 4 blocks in every direction. BBQ to Thai.
Nice two full beds, sheets okay, would recommend replacing blanket sheet of bedding, ( sheet between comforter and top sheet) sheet was kind of rough and just not very cozy to be against skin. otherwise comfortable enough. Flat screen worked and looked good, decent living chair to sit to watch tv in plus table with 2 chairs, Microwave and Fridge, nice shape and worked good. Really liked bathroom area layout, private with dressing area in back of room and separate shower/bath and toilet in own room. Beds facing away from back area so you won't be stared at while getting ready. Nicer newer counter tops, sink & towel bars with clothes hanging area.
Older seventies motel/hotel with newer hardwood floors, carpet, bathroom tile and shower liner was okay with plenty of bottles, bath accessory storage.
Bath exhaust fan was commercial grade and in clean condition and worked almost too good, really nice for a change, It actually exhausted the air from the bathroom, what a great idea!
Lighting was modern enough and the timber ceiling beams with varnished wood car decking or paneling for those who don't know what car decking looks like, was pleasant to look at and gave the room some good charm and warmth. Something you just don't get to experience at most hotel/motel places for under 80 bucks very often at all.
Right across the street from Greyhound bus station. Traffic noise for this part of town not that bad, maybe a little traffic noisy for some folks in the work morning hours but at night pleasantly city quiet. Landscaping okay. Big Oregon art supply business across the street. Three banks within one block.
For under $80 bucks a night, hard pressed to find a better place.

Room Tip: Just go there and see for yourself. Not really a bad location.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Timbers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived late and were very tired driving from SF or we would have left when seeing and smelling the room. No reservations but saw it on TA and the reviews I read weren't bad. We were told the $69 room on TA was only for a small queen smoking room. So for $79 I chose a non smoking room with a King bed. When we entered the room it was so freezing cold we had to find the heat source, plug in the fridge and the smell was so rancid of smoke I'm sure it was a smoking room anyways. The sheets were stained and with the room so poorly lit I'm sure the cleaning crew couldn't see them. We had flashlights with us. We slept on the top of the bed with the towels and our own blanket on top of us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timberseugene, Manager at Timbers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience. I have told all the clerks to make sure that we have a few heated rooms at night for late night check ins.
We have extra portable heaters if anyone asks for one. No guest complained to any clerk or manager so I was surprised to see your negative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed in this Motel. The last time, it was undergoing renovation and this time I got one of the newly renovated rooms.

The Motel is old, but the accommodations are right up-to-date. The room was big, had a king size bed, and all the amenities: large flat-screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, comfortable bed, and even an ironing board and iron. The large room leaves plenty of room for the table with two chairs for working or eating, and an overstuffed chair. The new AC/Heating Unit worked well and the curtains closed tightly enough to shut out almost all light. The Wi-fi worked at least well enough to easily check email.

The bathroom is all new with a tiled floor and a good bath with a new shower-head and controls.

The owner was friendly and the Motel provides a basic continental breakfast including muffins, bagels with cream cheese, coffee or tea, and orange juice. The only fruit was bananas, but they were ripe and didn't look left over from last week (as is so often the case).

The Motel is well located for getting around down town on foot. We walked over to the Eugene City Brewers and had some good beer. We chose to try "triple play" and "200 meter," both of which we liked.

Although there are streets all around the Motel, I did not hear any road noise at night.

The price at $67.20 including tax (winter rate-king size bed) is reasonable. I highly recommend this Motel at least for a couple needing one bed. They have a room with a smaller size bed for about $10 less but I couldn't say if it is as well appointed as this one.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Frendly Place..Nothing is too much trouble...its a great location and the price is right..The Internet is Free..Even the Hilton could learn from the Timbers.The Laundry is accessible for a cheap price..The Bed is good and the room is pleasant.Overall its a good find

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank cistech2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Some people may call the Timbers kitsch, I call it unbearable. An old bedspread on the bed and the whole room smelled like smoke. Just awful. Having said that, there were very, very gracious people who worked at the front desk and who gave us PERFECT advice for dining (The Cannery) so all was not lost. But seriously - for nearly $200. I have never been so appalled (literally never, and I've travelled globally a lot) by a hotel room. Ick. Oh I forgot the dead bug caught up in the ceiling molding. Ick again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biku-ilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I slept one night at the Timbers motel.The motel is located in the center of Eugene, in a busy area. Rooms are (enough) big and comfortable. No sign of luxury but everything at hand. The only problem was with the shower, it was impossible to get cold water, so I had a pretty hot one. Staff is ok. Wifi good enough. Breakfast is basic but usable and at the price you pay for the room it really comes as a bonus. I parked my car for free in front of my room door. The price for the rooms is very low vs to the quality the motel offers. Nothing else to mention. Recommendable overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This nicely renovated hotel is right Downtown and walking distance to restaurants, night clubs, shops and more. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful in giving directions. The rates were VERY reasonable compared to the other hotels within a mile radius.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priseilmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 38 in Eugene
1,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 38 in Eugene
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.3 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#20 of 38 in Eugene
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbers Motel

Address: 1015 Pearl St, Eugene, OR 97401-3110
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Eugene
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
#6 Business Hotel in Eugene
Price Range: $108 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Timbers Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Timbers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbers Motel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing