We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free Disappointment”

Pizza Research Institute
Ranked #113 of 617 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
814 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Disappointment”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The saving grace was the salad. Small serving for a large price but wonderful dressing and lots of colorful veggies. The pizza was barely OK. We chose gluten free so our daughter could eat with us. The dough came out of the freezer. I didn't mind it being frozen but it came to the table hard on the bottom and raw in the center. Not a pleasing texture. We asked for no red sauce, just a little oil and garlic. Ordered a roasted garlic, spinach, mushroom and smoked cheese medium pizza. Couldn't find the roasted garlic, the mushrooms were sort of hard and dry, the smoked cheese was crisp half moons and they put blue cheese on top which was not ordered. Along with the disappointing pizza was the very warm temperature inside the building and the flies. We counted 6 at our table and swatted them throughout our meal. Service was just OK, slow considering there were only two other people inside. With all the good pizza in Eugene, we won't give it another try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Outstanding Reliable & Valid Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Not sure who chose this name... but it is Perfect for Research City-Eugene!

My research shows that the stuffed mushrooms are some of the best hors d'oeuvres I've ever eaten! We followed that with some of the Mediterranean topping pizza (feta, kalamata olives, etc.).... excellent!

I have eaten a couple of times at PRI in the previous location. It was great food then... is it possible that it got even better? I will be back with friends and colleagues. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDocIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Vegetarian, or optionally Vegan, Pizza.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went there with a group, did not know they were vegetarian. Good (but not huge for a "large") salad, good pizzas with things like mushrooms, artichoke hearts, smoked cheddar, and so on. There are gluten-free and vegan options as well.

Lots of garlic, I will say. When they put something on a pizza, they put a LOT of it on a pizza, not just a bit.

Nice outdoor seating this time of year, with decent shade. Service reasonably prompt, and agreeable to complex check-splitting 6 ways.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pizza & Salads won't disappoint !”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

On a visit to Eugene and so glad we stopped in here for an early dinner. Sat outside in the curtained area, it was very pleasant. Drinks were generous with alcohol and cleverly tasty! We had salads and my favorite was the wilted spinach with honey Dijon dressing, Wonderful! The four of us decided to share the pizza #7 asparagus with garlic & tomatoes and it was an excellent choice. Crust is perfectly crunchy and the sauce very good. There was a generous amount of cheese and the veggies cooked perfectly. I'd eat here regularly if I lived in a Eugene.

Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

When visiting our family in Eugene at least one night will be pizza. Usually it's Pizza Research. A great and tasty variety with different crusts. Good beer selection, wine selection kind of skinny. Will probably have it this Monday night.
Usually get is to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barongruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Research Institute also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Research Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing