We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, but a bit over-rated”

King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room
Reserve with OpenTable
King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 639 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dedicated to pairing Northwest wines with regional food products, King Estate's culinary team, led by Executive Chef Sean Winder, uses seasonal organic ingredients whenever possible. Most of these come from the Estate's 30+ acres of organic gardens and orchards.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A gorgeous spot on top of a hill with a phenomenal building. Worth the drive out for the view. The wines are quite good, usually not super good though. The food also can be good, with lots of fresh produce grown on their property. We got sick last time we were there though, and we called them up about it and they really weren't concerned other than to try to convince us it wasn't them that caused it. That pretty much scratched them off of our list of places to go to and places to take guests to. Unfortunate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Veggies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron B, Manager at King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We read your comments and are very apologetic about your experience. Do you remember what you had ordered or who you may have spoken with?

Reviews like yours are the only way we can make improvements. We take them very seriously. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do. We would love to see you again at King Estate soon and have the chance to make this up to you!!!!

Aaron Blair
King Estate Winery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 455 of 552 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I felt that we had been transported to a European estate upon our arrival at the Winery. We were fortunate to dine there for both lunch and dinner and and could not have been more pleased. The views from the patio were fabulous, the food was locally sourced (including estate-grown, certified organic fruits and vegetables) and the wine was amazing. While we enjoyed sampling the Pinot Gris and the Chardonnay our favorite vintage was the complex and complementary 2009 Pinot Noir that we drank with a delicious salmon dinner while we enjoyed the amazing views and the delightful service from the Estate's culinary team. My husband's favorite lunch was a very interesting cheese plate with bread from the Estate's talented bakers and honey from their bee hives. We are already anticipating a return trip next summer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CarefreeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron B, Manager at King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Look forward to your vist next summer!!

Feel free to contact me personally concerning any reservation needs.

Aaron Blair
King Estate Winery
aaronb@kingestate.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I are foodies who love fine dining at its best. We are also lifelong winos who have been to the premier vintners across the country. We have had meals at winery restaurants all over the US. It is very rare to find a true gourmet chef at a fine dining restaurant open for lunch and diner daily. We feel this place has it all and is probably the best in Oregon. The food and service is superb. The winery is world class. They grow almost all of what the serve. The menu changes by season and what is ripe at the moment. This winery is so good we are Club Members.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardSE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron B, Manager at King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your enthusiasm for our winery. We are so glad you are a part of our Tower Club and hope you come visit us again soon. Feel free to contact me before you come out next time.

Aaron Blair
King Estate Winery
aaronb@kingestate.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Picture a stately chateau with a lovely, winding road that sits atop one of the gently rolling hills near Eugene. Now picture yourself sitting on the front patio, enjoying a glass of delicious wine while surveying the fabulous view of the surrounding area filled with manicured vineyards and trees with their leaves slowly turning into glorious hues of reds and oranges. On a fall day, that is what you will find on the patio of King Estate Winery.

Don't plan on making the trip unless you plan for either lunch or dinner at King Estate. The wines are delicious and My aunt and I enjoyed a most fabulously delicious brunch at the Estate! (I would have stayed for dinner, if at all possible.)

Thank immlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron B, Manager at King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you come back to visit us soon. Feel free to contact me before you make a trip out this way again!

Aaron Blair
King Estate Winery
aaronb@kingestate.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On Friday, October 11, 2013 a beautiful autumn drive to see the scenery and beautiful color of the turning leaves of the Oregon Coastal Range lead us to King Estate Winery , a previous favorite stopping point on other visits to the region. Just south of Eugene, OR and west of Interstate # 5, sitting on a ridge above the Lorraine valley, our approach from the east produced a magnificent view of the winery and the surrounding beautiful vineyards. After admiring the "180" degree view from the front patio and photographing the scene for later enjoyment, we entered the winery and were greeted by a pleasant, helpful front desk staff. We chose to enjoy the complimentary tasting of two Pinot Gris wines. Rather than venture into the $6 and & $12 fee-tasting categories, we decided to stay for lunch and choose a wine to compliment our meal choices. After reviewing the luncheon menu and the special charcuterie menu, we decided to abide by our " less meat - dietary restraints" and chose a 3-cheese assortment as a starter, which was nicely presented and provided an interesting combination of either apple butter or regionally produced honey to apply to each chosen cheese - the goat's cheese was a personal favorite; and, yes, the honey was a nice accompaniment to one of the white cheddar-like cheeses. We chose to purchase the individual "mini" loaves of freshly baked bread for $ 1 each, rather than purchase the suggested cracker basket. We enjoyed the "NxNW" Riesling to compliment our cheese course and the main entre of a delicious roasted chicken, served in a light broth with roasted vegetables. The Chantrel mushrooms were exceptional. Our pleasant waiter heard that we were celebrating my sister's Birthday, so provided a complimentary dessert - delicious apple dumpling in a light pastry topped with a pear "fan" for great table presentation and a lighted candle cleverly affixed to the plate. Ice cream also accompanied the dessert. We left the restaurant area most satisfied with our meal and experience and I pledged to return to sample the various Pino Noir wines on my next trip to the Pacific Northwest. My sister and brother-in-law had previously treated us to several visits to the winery in past summer months where we enjoyed a picnic lunch outside after sampling various wines in the tasting room. Always a "must" stop when touring the Willamette Valley of Oregon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank douglas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron B, Manager at King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for the kind word, we really apprecate them. We hope to see you for your next birthday and celebrate with you again!
Feel free to contact me for your next event or wine tasting.

Aaron Blair
King Estate Winery
aaronb@kingestate.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to King Estate Restaurant & Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing