We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this restaurant..”

Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #10 of 615 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant..”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great food and a comfortable, romantic and cozy atmosphere. Delicious authentic Italian food with a wine cellar to match. For a quite romantic dinner with that special someone or if you’re out with friends, the food and the settings will have you in Italy and leave you with a smile. I love this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    125
    48
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
266 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A lucky find and a great meal!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were passing through Eugene on a Monday evening when, it turns out, many restaurants (including the ones we had planned on trying) are closed. We decided to try Beppe & Gianni's and are we glad we did! The restaurant is in a converted house a short distance from campus. There is a combination of indoor and outdoor dining, giving you options for lovely summer evenings. The decor is charming with a lot of wall murals and hangings, making the space very intimate. Service was very friendly and attentive. The menu has all the classical Italian favorites as well as some dishes I wasn't familiar with. After sharing a very large Caesar Salad, I enjoyed the Cappelli Di Vescovo (Bishop's Hats) that were pasta pockets stuffed with swiss chard, procsiutto, ricotta, and parmesan, done in a brown butter sage sauce. Yum! My wife had the special -- a lovely grilled salmon with pasta and vegetables. The portions were very generous. The wine list was quite extensive and very reasonably priced. The only thing that wasn't exceptional was the carrot cake we shared for dessert. It was somewhat dry and not all that flavorful. All-in-all, we had a wonderful evening and will definitely come back when we next pass through Eugene.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gbruels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, overpriced, loud bar”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were expecting exceptional and it was quite disappointing. Very poor service. Had to wait 20 after done to pay. Not very friendly, and barely average food. Pretty house.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earth_angel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Expectations...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really wanted to try great Italian food in Eugene and were told by several locals that this was the place. Parking was easy in a very nice neighborhood, the restaurant is in an old house with a cute herb garden in front.
We were seated in a pleasant enclosed porch and were very happy with the atmosphere and service.
The food was the disappointment.
My 'stuffed' ravioli wasn't stuffed, the pasta was very firm and cool with no garlic or herb taste. The sauce was tasteless.
My wife's Pappardelle con Carne just wasn't very good. The beef was coarse and completely overwhelmed the other ingredients of the dish. Though she likes al dente, the pasta was cold and hard and the sauce was tasteless.
Our kids had the pasta with butter and cheese, never found the cheese. The chicken skewers were more like bland chicken jerky. I appreciate the need to thoroughly cook chicken but seriously.
The staff was very good, the bus boy was invisible but water glasses were always full and plates taken at the appropriate time. The waitress was a professional who knew when to attend the table.
Overall I wouldn't recommend Beppe for the food but the atmosphere and service are enough to make it worth a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian with friendly owner and wait staff!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

One of the highlights of our trip to track nationals in Eugene was eating here after the meet! Ate there 3 straight nights. Food was outstanding - owner was wonderful as well as waitress Rebecca.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing