We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing to an Italian vacation”

Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #8 of 620 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Closest thing to an Italian vacation”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I had just returned from Italy last year when we tried this place for the first time. Recently, we went again, and both times we felt like we back in Florence. The service was attentive but let us take our time through the meal. The atmosphere is cozy and feels like many of the little places we enjoyed in Italy (we sat out on the patio the second visit). Best of all, the food is truly handmade, and includes all of our Tuscan favorites. We tried to eat Italian style, with some thing from all the courses, but we were able to share one item for a couple of the courses. Try the "bishop hat" pasta, and don't forget to leave room for one of their desserts, especially the awesome cakes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    130
    48
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian restaurant in Eugene”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Try the house-made ravioli or lasagna - you will not be disappointed. The salads are also perfect - very fresh.The hazelnut-crunch chocolate cake is very, very good (if your have room for it!) The service and ambiance are excellent - you can go as your are, or get dressed up for a special evening out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyHappyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not That Great”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant. I had pesto sauce and pasta, which stuck together like glue. I did not taste any garlic or pine nuts in the sauce and it was very thin. My husband had the lamb and beef ragu over pasta, which he liked. He asked for a side dish of meatballs and sausage, and was told they do not make them. I never heard of an Italian restaurant not serving meatballs or sausage. We did have the bean soup, which was bland. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I hate to say this but I would rather go to Olive Garden any day. After hearing so many good things about this place I decided I had to try it out. Other reviews are spot on in that it is very busy. They don't take reservations so we waited at the bar with a glass of wine - the waiter "guessed" it was okay that we take our wine with us to the table instead of paying for it seperately at the bar? Our server was a little spacey - and border line negligent. It took quite a while for us to get our food and when we did I was VERY disappointed. My "bishop hat" pasta was nauseatingly oily and my husband's marinara was incredibly acidic. The portions were actually very small too. If it hadn't been for the 2 baskets of bread we consumed waiting for our food then we probably would have left hungry. After a bottle of wine, salads and main courses our bill was over $90 - which I was expecting...but the level of service and quality of food definitely didn't warrant this kind of charge. I won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A family neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is not by any means a four star Italian restaurant. If you are expecting a fine or nice San Francisco or New York or Seattle Italian restaurant, this is not the place.
What it is is a causal place anyone can go to, children as well.
It's a place for a bowl of hearty pasta and a glass of wine. Don't get me wrong it's good hearty Italian food, kinda Americanized. It's not refined or like you would eat in Italy.
The place is always packed, the service is really good and friendly. It's a very relaxed atmosphere.
Good food, decent wine, good desserts. Don't expect 4 or five star. But do expect good food and good friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing