We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be called a Bed and Light Morning Snack”
Review of C'est La Vie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
C'est La Vie Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Eugene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2009

C'est La Vie Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian, smaller than it looks from outside and from pictures, but immaculately kept and decorated with lovely detail. The gardens are delightful, and there are many wonderful seating areas for nearly private outdoor coffee or a glass of wine. The bathroom in our room was spacious and so pretty, with both a beautiful clawfoot tub and a stand-alone shower. The beds and linens were superb.

I am however surprised to read of some of the breakfasts others have eaten here at the Inn. Not one to go in for huge American breakfasts, it doesn't take vast quantity to satisfy me. Nonetheless, on a vacation, one expects or at least hopes to be pampered. I feel I wasn't the only one at the table to be surprised that breakfast was over after being served, among the six of us, coffee, juice, a dinner-plate sized fruit 'platter', and 2 plates each with 4 small crepes. (Presumably the 2 extra crepes were for the 2 men at the table). Even this slight repast may have been adequate if there had been anything in the crepe but literally about 2-3 tablespoons of what seemed very much like a black bean and corn salsa, with a scraping of less than a tablespoon of sour cream on top. At home, even on a diet, I could have put some smoked salmon or asparagus and perhaps a small serving of high-quality and delicious cheese into the crepe, and still not go over my calorie goal! unlike some of the breakfasts I read about in previous comments, there was no choice between banana bread or French bread. No meat or vegetarian substitute. No eggs (albeit one may have been in the crepe itself, I suppose.) I would have been happier with a typical continental breakfast at even a moderately-priced hotel.

So sadly, even though C'est La Vie Inn is beautiful, I can not recommend a Bed and BREAKFAST which falls so short on the latter part of its name.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavesUpToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

Great folks, lovely rooms, good breakfasts, an amazing garden, easy to get to/from the airport. Mostly quiet, but on a busy graduation weekend our room (the Matisse room) was a little noisy at night -- drawing the heavy drapes helped a lot.

A couple of small problems:
- High-speed internet was out several times.
- The extra bed we asked for was an air mattress… which leaked! After it did this twice, Anne-Marie got a real extra bed -- and on our last night, she gave us a second room free to make up for the problem!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

C'est La Vie was a delightful surprise. The rooms were cozy, quiet and immaculate. The breakfast was as good as any you would get at a 5 star hotel. After breakfast we were given a tour of the garden which is beautiful and so much thought has been given to the plants and layout. There is a small porch off the upstairs library where my husband and I sat on a warm pleasant evening. All in all, I would say this was the best B&B experience we have had.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maycreekzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

This was our first time B&B.
It was so nice decor,garden,bed and people.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

C'est La Vie Inn is a great choice for those exploring the Lane County wineries, checking out U of O, or hiking/biking the surrounding region. Innkeeper Anne-Marie has tastefully restored her Queen Anne Victorian home, and the staff puts together a great breakfast each day. The gardens are lovely as well. There is a computer for guest use, as well as a grand piano, board games, and movie/DVD library. And the bed we stayed in was amazing--at once firm yet soft, inviting and cozy. All in all C'est La Vie provided a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband and I had a very special weekend at the inn. The room was very beautiful and charming, priced at a reasonable rate. The innkeepers were very nice and seemed happy to have us. Great location, a few blocks away from Amazon Creek running trail, which I enjoyed running on. I highly recommend it, and we hope to stay there sometime soon!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank ckgdeshutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Enough cannot be said about this Bed and Breakfast; the Innkeepers were great, especially the husband. The house was immaculate and restored in recent years at no small expense. The grounds were pristine; hundreds of plants, shrubs, and trees surround this house on approximately a quarter acre. Each is finely kept and labeled. Extra amenities include visitor-available computer with internet, freshly made cookies, and a miniature train set in the one of the gardens. Breakfast was nice but simple.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mattludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 38 in Eugene
982 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#6 of 38 in Eugene
1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#8 of 38 in Eugene
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
1.3 mi away
Campbell House, A City Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'est La Vie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Inn

Address: 1006 Taylor St, Eugene, OR 97402-4767
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Eugene
Price Range: $177 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — C'est La Vie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard?We were rated “Fodor’s Choice” for Eugene lodging. Lonely Planet also rated C’est La Vie Inn as their top pick for Eugene! In addition, we were chosen as Eugene's representative in "20 Great College Town B&Bs" by BedandBreakfast. And our beautiful inn was voted one of the most romantic places to stay by “Best Places to Kiss in the Pacific Northwest.” See why visitors from across the country and around the world have enjoyed their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your C'est La Vie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing