We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Duck Fans!! Ontario, Oregon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtown Inn
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Duck Fans!! Ontario, Oregon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

A group of us stayed in this Motel during for our annual Oregon Ducks football game. GO DUCKS!!! We were all very pleased! The rooms were very clean, comfy beds, great location!!The hotel staff & manager were very courteous & kind!!! We plan on staying again next year :) :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Glad to hear that your stay was comfortable. We will see you guys next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    20
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
43
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Okay, not the nicest place I've ever stayed. But it was walking distance from the train station, clean, a good value AND booking through their website was actually the best rate. I like that- proprietor struck me as straight forward and decent. BTW- Do not count on "continental breakfast" for real food.

Room Tip: U-shaped configuration and small lot means road noise hard to avoid, on a major street that used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waroadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This motel (Inn) was a real disappointment. It was rated as three star, but clearly should have only gotten one star. It's just a strip motel from the '60's that has a new roof and better windows. Even some of the furniture is original. Simply slapping an older flat screen, a skimpy refrigerator and a tiny microwave in the room doesn't make this a three star motel. Everything has been done on-the-cheap. I would have much rather paid more for a two star stay than get taken advantage of by this false rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear sir, I have tried to call you several time and was unable to get hold of you. I wanted to talk to you and see what really the problem was. The things you have mentioned in our rooms doesn't not make any sense to me at all. The TV's are brand new, we have just replaced them 6 months ago and furnisher had been replaced about an year ago. Please call us when you get time and we can talk about this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent one night here in a double queen bedroom. The room was large and clean. The beds comfortable but the pillows were lumpy. Good shower pressure and decent towels. Wifi reception was good, as was the TV reception. The location of the Inn is not quite as close to 'downtown' as we were expecting and we had to drive. There are no restaurants nearby. The breakfast was very ordinary. No juice or toast; just cereal, prepackaged pastries, fruit and coffee/tea. The water was luke-warm, so had to zap in the microwave to get hot! However for the price paid, it was very good value and I would recommend it. We did not notice any noise from neighboring rooms or traffic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very standard motel room run by a conscientious proprietor. We usually stay in higher end places so, I was a concerned at first. But, the place is clean, the TV's are top notch, and if you have things to do in Eugene it is located in a good location. As I say, at first, I had some concerns but realized that this is a well organized establishment and it's cool.

Room Tip: A place for people who have business in Eugene. The owner seems to be dedicated to providing good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taweyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Small motel, it was clean, bed was reasonably comfortable and it was walking distance to several downtown eating and drinking establishments. The "breakfast" was a joke, but we really were not expecting anything so I suppose it was a bargain. It nice to be able to get a cup of coffee first thing.
Will stay there again, for the price, you cannot do better in Eugene.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Glad to hear that it worked out for you guys. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our Downtown Inn look like the typical American hotel room and clean. The front desk is accessible by a locked door where you need to wait for the person behind the door to buzz and unlock the door before reaching the front desk. This method of accessing the front desk did not bother us when checking into the room. When we tried to go to sleep at night, the people in the room next to us had a screaming kid that pounded on our walls until 11pm at night. I wanted to go to the front desk and tell them to tell the people next door to quiet down since I had to work the next day, but I did not want to get out of bed to find out no one is at the front desk. This lack of accessibility to front desk and the noisy conditions gave the Inn an average rating. I'm willing to give this place a second chance. Breakfast is served at 7am. I missed breakfast since I had to leave for work at 6:30am. They had wifi in the room, but I didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
First of all let me apologize for the next door kid and all the noise, in situation like this next time please give us a call from the hotel phone by dialing 0. There is always some here 24/7 at the hotel. And the reason why the front desk door is a buzzed system, is because during the day time I am outside in the hotel helping out and it makes me feel safe that our office and my living space which is right behind the office is secured. Any given time it only takes me a minute or two to get to the office after I hear the bell. Also want to apologize for the breakfast starting at 7am, next time please let us know that you would be leaving little early and would like the breakfast room opened up little early and we will he happy to do so. I thank you for your review and hope to see you guys next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#13 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn

Property: Downtown Inn
Address: 361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-2510
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Inn. We are uniquely located in spectacular downtown Eugene, Oregon. Whether you're visiting Eugene for business, vacationing in our scenic wonderland, taking in the unbelievable sights of the Eugene area, or just passing through, the Downtown Inn will provide you with just the right kind of accommodations to make your visit a pleasurable one. We are only two and half blocks from the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, and Eugene Hilton Conference Center. We are the closest motel to the Wings Seminars, and very close to University of Oregon, Valley River Center, Oakway Mall, Sacred Heart Hospital, and many parks and open spaces. Contact us for group booking rates. Truck and bus parking is available. With our full service staff, convenient location, and wide range of amenities, Downtown Inn is a great choice for all your lodging needs. GIVE US A TRY FOR YOUR NEXT STAY IN EUGENE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing