We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Downtown Inn
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent one night here in a double queen bedroom. The room was large and clean. The beds comfortable but the pillows were lumpy. Good shower pressure and decent towels. Wifi reception was good, as was the TV reception. The location of the Inn is not quite as close to 'downtown' as we were expecting and we had to drive. There are no restaurants nearby. The breakfast was very ordinary. No juice or toast; just cereal, prepackaged pastries, fruit and coffee/tea. The water was luke-warm, so had to zap in the microwave to get hot! However for the price paid, it was very good value and I would recommend it. We did not notice any noise from neighboring rooms or traffic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    20
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
48
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very standard motel room run by a conscientious proprietor. We usually stay in higher end places so, I was a concerned at first. But, the place is clean, the TV's are top notch, and if you have things to do in Eugene it is located in a good location. As I say, at first, I had some concerns but realized that this is a well organized establishment and it's cool.

Room Tip: A place for people who have business in Eugene. The owner seems to be dedicated to providing good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taweyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Small motel, it was clean, bed was reasonably comfortable and it was walking distance to several downtown eating and drinking establishments. The "breakfast" was a joke, but we really were not expecting anything so I suppose it was a bargain. It nice to be able to get a cup of coffee first thing.
Will stay there again, for the price, you cannot do better in Eugene.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Glad to hear that it worked out for you guys. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our Downtown Inn look like the typical American hotel room and clean. The front desk is accessible by a locked door where you need to wait for the person behind the door to buzz and unlock the door before reaching the front desk. This method of accessing the front desk did not bother us when checking into the room. When we tried to go to sleep at night, the people in the room next to us had a screaming kid that pounded on our walls until 11pm at night. I wanted to go to the front desk and tell them to tell the people next door to quiet down since I had to work the next day, but I did not want to get out of bed to find out no one is at the front desk. This lack of accessibility to front desk and the noisy conditions gave the Inn an average rating. I'm willing to give this place a second chance. Breakfast is served at 7am. I missed breakfast since I had to leave for work at 6:30am. They had wifi in the room, but I didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
First of all let me apologize for the next door kid and all the noise, in situation like this next time please give us a call from the hotel phone by dialing 0. There is always some here 24/7 at the hotel. And the reason why the front desk door is a buzzed system, is because during the day time I am outside in the hotel helping out and it makes me feel safe that our office and my living space which is right behind the office is secured. Any given time it only takes me a minute or two to get to the office after I hear the bell. Also want to apologize for the breakfast starting at 7am, next time please let us know that you would be leaving little early and would like the breakfast room opened up little early and we will he happy to do so. I thank you for your review and hope to see you guys next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice little motel. Average clean rooms and nice tv's with dish network. They also offer free WiFi. We were in walking distance to a good burger joint and convenience store. In the morning there was a free breakfast bar that you could eat there or take back to your room. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stoney_2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for one night April 2013. As others have said, the exterior is dated, but the accommodations are really quite nice. I needed a place for just a night to attend an event in Eugene, and because of several competing events, rooms in the area started at $150 and went up sharply from that. Got a room at the Downtown Motel (which is now re-named the Downtown Inn), for $66 including tax. Room was comfortable with a good queen sized bed, a good square dining or working table, a desk and chair, and big flat screen TV. The bathroom was spacious, clean and modern. The rooms have been updated and are a good value. Check in was efficient and pleasant.

Room Tip: On my stay, Room #2 did not have a deadbolt, so I asked for another room, and was quickly given one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylviemcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel. As far as the deadbolt issue goes we are having one put in this week on that door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This small, locally owned motel makes for a nice place to stay in Eugene, Oregon whether its for one night (for those late night Duck Football games) or several nights for a business trip or long weekend get-away. It is a no-nonsense motel with the bare essentials, but its location, price and condition make up for the other more traditional chain hotel amenities. This little gem, located minutes from I-5 and 2 blocks from the west end of the I-105 freeway, makes it a very convenient location to get to. It is a short drive/medium walk from the downtown Eugene blocks and location of the famous Saturday Market. The rooms are clean, although carpeting could use a freshening up. The bathrooms are clean and look to have been remodeled in the past 3-5 years. A good sized flat screen TV, small table, two chairs and a comfortable queen bed complete the appointments in the room. Rooms could use a small microwave, but otherwise, for the price ($99-119+/-) it is a bargain when compared to the other chain hotels in the area ($129-$200+). Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel is horseshoe ("U") shaped. I would ask for one of the rooms on the inside of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_McCanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at Downtown Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn

Property: Downtown Inn
Address: 361 W 7th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-2510
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Downtown Inn. We are uniquely located in spectacular downtown Eugene, Oregon. Whether you're visiting Eugene for business, vacationing in our scenic wonderland, taking in the unbelievable sights of the Eugene area, or just passing through, the Downtown Inn will provide you with just the right kind of accommodations to make your visit a pleasurable one. We are only two and half blocks from the Hult Center for the Performing Arts, and Eugene Hilton Conference Center. We are the closest motel to the Wings Seminars, and very close to University of Oregon, Valley River Center, Oakway Mall, Sacred Heart Hospital, and many parks and open spaces. Contact us for group booking rates. Truck and bus parking is available. With our full service staff, convenient location, and wide range of amenities, Downtown Inn is a great choice for all your lodging needs. GIVE US A TRY FOR YOUR NEXT STAY IN EUGENE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing