We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't do better...”
Review of King Estate Winery

King Estate Winery
Ranked #8 of 89 things to do in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: King Estate Winery is a family owned Biodynamic(C) vineyard and winery in Oregon's Southern Willamette Valley. Founded in 1991 by the King family, King Estate is committed to producing wines of exceptional quality using organic & sustainable farming methods, meticulous fruit selection, and impeccable winemaking practices. King Estate focuses on producing world-class Pinot Gris and Pinot Noirs, while also producing other excellent varietals under their Acrobat and North by Northwest labels. The onsite King Estate Restaurant is dedicated to pairing premium quality Northwest wines with regional specific culinary plates. King Estate's culinary team, led by Executive Chef Sean Winder, uses seasonal organic ingredients whenever possible, and sources those ingredients as locally as possible. King Estate is 100% owned and operated by the King Family.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't do better...”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Although dinners are a little expensive, as one might expect from an "unlimited" star restaurant, the creative food selections, exemplary service and overall "Chateau" experience are all but overwhelming. Everything about this operation is geared to please the customer with a barage of fabulously outstanding products and always a fun and memorable experience!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank asiasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    67
    23
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A piece of Tuscany in the Oregon Valley”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was a side trip that my husband planned while we were near Eugene and I would strongly recommend this to other travelers. We heard about it by looking on Tripadvisor ourselves and what gem it is.
Just a few miles and a bit of a scenic drive outside of Eugene atop a hill straight out of the hills of Tuscany is the King Estate Winery. You drive up a steep hill to get to the stone building and the views from the top are absolutely breath taking and it is easy to forget you are in Oregon.
Inside the rustic building is a wine tasting room and a restaurant that serves classic northwest influenced cuisine. There are several wines that are free to taste as well as a few tastings that you can do for a small fee. There is also a restaurant where you can have. I would suggest having some extra cash as you will want to take at least one bottle home with you!
Every hour a tour of the property leaves from the front porch and takes you through the winery and the wine making process. It’s fascinating to see.
This was a very romantic little side trip and I would recommend it to anyone who has a few hours to spare. You can easily see it is 2 hours or you can choose to linger and make it a half day trip. If I am ever in the area again I will be sure to have reservations at the restaurant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great wine”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Huge estate on a hill with manicured vineyards and tasty wine

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More beautiful than Napa Valley”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

From a distance you can see the spectacular builidng high on the hill surrounded by acres and acres of vines. The drive up to the Estate feels like it could actually be in Italy. The buildings are a hub of activity. Meals are served in several places with their specialty being 'small plates'. We didn't dine, but the food looked great and the number of seemingly local folks speaks for itself. The wine is the big attraction. There were two wines for which the tasting was free. 5 more benerous tastings were just $5. They are famous for their Pinot Gris and we were not disappointed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WestFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of the best aspects of this attraction is the trip over. Although it is quicker if the interstate is taken, I highly recommend coming in on the very scenic back roads from Eugene. Once there, the location is very nice. Nice views from the outside restaurant tables and the food is pretty good. The wine is not really world class but some of the whites are very good. There are a couple of other wineries in the area (which I have not visited) if one wants to make a day of it. Certainly not as nice as some of Oregon's other wine destinations but worth the effort.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to King Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing