We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steelhead Brewery

Steelhead Brewery
Ranked #16 of 607 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stumbled upon this place after getting a bit lost. The place was not busy when we got there around 5 on a Thursday. Seated ourselves (2 kids, 2 adults). Ordered the calamari appetizer which was lukewarm, floppy and funky. Sent it back to see if they could crisp it up a bit and it returned not much better. Ordered the nachos from the kid menu and for $5 we got a handful of tortilla chips with a plop of melted cheese on top. Chicken strips from kids menu were the same you'd find anyplace. Shredded meat BBQ sandwich was dry and didn't look fresh at all -- the side of coleslaw was just okay. I ordered a Hefeweisen and had to go to the bar to ask for a lemon wedge. Ordered dessert for the kids and they were pleased with it. Had to go to the bar again to ask for to-go container. Overall, probably would have been more pleased going to Shari's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skatewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    112
    69
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waited over an hour for our food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch, waited about 10 minutes to be acknowledged by the server. She came back about ten minutes later, took our order, we finally got our food over an hour later. There were only five of us and we didn't order anything special or different, just simple sandwiches and a salad from the menu.

The table next to us had the same issues.

The food was indeed tasty and nicely presented, but we were beyond hungry by the time it arrived. Won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank npwpmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Our Eugene Standby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A good post-game choice for craft brews and pub food in the 5th St. Marketplace in Eugene. We've been coming for decades, and it never disappoints.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaFraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worst place ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Told by the hostess to seat ourselves then got removed by the manager. Awful wait staff! So upset we left

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
611 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a meal after the game and found this pub was busy and a bit loud. The staff was very friendly and attentive and got us seated right away.

Lunch for a group of 6 cost $78. The food was typical brewpub fare and nobody in our group raved about any of it. The meals were tasty and prepared well except for the roast beef sandwich, it was very dry and the au jus way too peppery.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steelhead Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steelhead Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing