We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Waters On The River

Sweet Waters On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Waters On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 607 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Valley River Drive
Transit: On LTD Bus Route, On Bike Path
Description: Sweetwaters on the River is a time-honored classic. Located on the banks of the Willamette River, at Valley River Inn. SweetWaters on the River is a Eugene, Oregon restaurant for corporate diners, the culinary tourist and fine food epicurean. With our panoramic view and three season outdoor patio we define the quintessential Oregon dining experience. Predicated upon local producers of meat, produce and unique ingredients such as Oregon truffles, huckleberries and artisan cheeses, this restaurant in Eugene maintains a focus on local and fresh ingredients. Centrally located in the Southern Willamette Valley wine region our unique geographic position is perfect for the wine enthusiast. Our wine list showcases Oregon’s growing wine industry where world class Pinot Noir is compared to the best of those from Burgundy. Guests with a palate for fresh innovative cuisine and an enthusiasm for fine wine will appreciate the unrivaled service and authentic ambiance of Sweetwaters on the River.
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Breakfast was adequate with good service but my husband thought his eggs benedict were soggy with a sharp tasting Hollandaise and over-poached eggs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwaters_12, Manager at Sweet Waters On The River, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. With this we can improve our quality of food and the service we provide our customers. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    101
    56
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very tasty food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Beef tenderloin & salmon were excellent. I need their secret for the salmon. Service was okay. Wine refill had to be requested. Water was empty before refill. Atmosphere is standard along the river.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samangiealexnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Value meets Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I Stayed at the Valley River Inn for a wedding last week. Getting to Eugene was a battle, from over anxious security, to the wonderful food and service received at airport , it was nice to get my money worth and then some! We walked in without reservation on what appeared to be busy Friday morning. Expecting a stressed staff and to be turned away for lack of reservation. Instead we were Greeted by a friendly host who found us the perfect table by the river. Assuming our food would take awhile to reach us because of business, we planted our feet, ready for the long haul. We were pleased to find this quite untrue, our server had order and food to us faster then i could've imagined. In the meantime, Jonathan did a great job providing our drinks and some genuinely good conversation. The food was Excellent (except the chicken and waffles), the service top notch, and the atmosphere superb. I will definitely be visiting sweetwaters on the river in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We sat on the patio and had a great meal. Our server Melissa was gracious as well as professional. We enjoyed a nice bottle of wine with lamb rack and beef filet. It was cooked to perfection! We watched the sun go down over the river. Doesn't get much better than that in Eugene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose the restaurant mainly because of its location on the river, to entertain out of town guests. It was a Sunday evening, with a reservation for 7 and a request to be seated on the patio. We were 20 minutes early and were told emphatically that we could not be seated until 7. They were obviously understaffed, as the restaurant inside and out was at a 20 percent capacity, if that. The bar was empty. Exactly at 7 we were taken to an inside table. When questioned, they did set up two tables for our party of 4 outside, while insisting that the reservation did not specify an outside table. The menu was dated, did not live up to expectations, service was inadequate, with multiple requests for bread, additional forks. This was my first experience at Sweetwaters and it was quite the disappointment. The location is exceptional, especially since it has no rival. It almost seemed as if they were taking advantage of us, get us in for the ambience and then make no attempt to make the experience anything but mediocre. We could easily have had a great meal elsewhere for less money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meg1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Waters On The River also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Waters On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing