We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dry and tastless”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Sky

Ocean Sky
Ranked #309 of 610 Restaurants in Eugene
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dry and tastless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

all the food we orderd was dry and tasteless even the roasted duck what a dissapointment

Helpful?
2 Thank selove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good chinese food, lunch a good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My favorite! Very good Chinese food. I've been there dozens of times. Lunch is a good value much better quality of ingredients than many a Chinese restaurant. Portions are good, we order for two and take home leftovers for another meal. The dinner menu is similar, but at a dinner price with linens. One local newspaper named it best restaurant to take a date.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best In Eugene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My favorite restaurant in Eugene, the portions are huge and the ingredients fresh and flavorful. Prices are very reasonable and the lunch menu is nothing short of fabulous both in terms of price , portion and quality. Not much ambiance but a great place for a casual and filling meal. Wish they did dim sum.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
403 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Hot and Sour soup, lemon chicken and chow fun!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

In the past year, the restaurant has undergone freshening up of the interior--new paint, new furnishings, new seating. The upgrade is nice. What hasn't changed, and what never should change, is the food.

Their hot and sour soup is astonishing. Best we have discovered anywhere. Soup comes with lunch, and we always add it for dinner. My wife loves their lemon chicken, and i love their combination chow fun, made with wide rice noodles. The portions are huge (we always have leftovers for at least another meal each) and the sauces are perfect.

Everything else we have tried over the years has also been wonderful--beef dishes, chicken dishes, shrimp dishes, vegetarian dishes. While they may not be located in the university or downtown corridor, they are worth seeking out. And, don't forget to try their hot and sour soup!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Chinese food with big portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've been going here for years. I LOVE their Shrimp with Snow Peas (I have them put on Garlic Sauce), with a side of Chow Mein noodles. For under $15, 2 people can eat a BIG lunch, and take home leftovers. The owners don't put a lot of money into making the restaurant fancy, it is reasonably clean, has plenty of tables, and I've always had friendly service. Servings are Humongous, I recommend ordering 2 meals for 3 people, or 1 meal + a side of Chow Mein ($4.50), for 2 people.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sky also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing