We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIt and Miss”

Izakaya Meiji Company
Ranked #37 of 617 Restaurants in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Specializing in Japanese small plates, old school cocktails and whiskey bar but thank goodness no sushi. The theme is based on a Japanese tavern or sake house. sake
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“HIt and Miss”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The idea of Japanese tapas, or small plates, is a cute idea for a restaurant and it is located in a colorful neighborhood that makes it fun to visit. We started with the special entrée of the night which was mussels and fries and their special vegetable of seasonal fiddle neck ferns. The mussels were plump and the broth was flavorful. Fried food can taste light and crispy when it is done right, but that night this was not the case with the fries or the fiddle neck ferns. We asked for a dipping sauce for the fries and were served their house-made wasabi mayo. It was delicious and worth the 50 cents it cost, but interesting that they serve it with their burger and fries at no charge. The chicken thigh Yakitori was moist pieces of meat, but was absent of any Japanese seasoning, leaving it unremarkable. The shining star of the meal was the goat curry. It had many chunks of tender, moist, flavorful goat meat and potato in a perfectly spiced red curry sauce on rice. We enjoyed this with cold sake and it was a perfect pairing! Their bar menu is extensive, featuring local spirits, wines and beers and changes seasonally. We would go back for the goat curry and just be sure not to order any of their fried offerings. Parking is an issue in that it is street only and limited by being in a neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor quality all around”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Service was slow. Food was universally poor - there were 8 in our party and I don't think anyone actually enjoyed their food. After waiting a very long time, we just sort of 'got through' the meal. one main reason we came was bcs the mix of flavors in theory sounded interesting, PLUS one of our party needed Gluten-Free and they advertised being friendly in that vein - they were NOT! The servers had no idea what we were talking about when we asked for gluten-free menu and had to go confer back in the kitchen for a while, then came forward with very obviously unsure/unclear info. our GF gal had to treat VERY carefully bcs it was clear that the info was not trustworthy. She had some health issues in play, so I think she basically ate lettuce and carrots that meal - a drag.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Japanese small plates, small neighborhood”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very cool little restaurant in a nice neighborhood setting, well away from the main downtown streets. So it feels 'neighborhood', real, and mostly full of locals. Especially nice at night, with festive lights festooning the sidewalk patio awnings. Nice seating options in or out. Majorly stocked bar, including a huge collection of whiskeys. The food is really good and interesting. Done small plate style, so you can share a bunch of things, which we love. Fresh ingredients, local, with a Japanese twist to many of the dishes. Delicious. Casual service, plates arriving a little randomly as they get finished, normal for tapas restaurants. A cheerful buzz to the place, great evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Meal quality: variable.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food was mediocre, at best. Service slow. Mostly appears a place to have cocktails w/food as an afterthought.
Nice outdoor seating, though.
Based on 3 visits.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CariocaBonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eugene Funky”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Nice mixture of small plates with fresh ingredients: tasty, reasonably priced, overall very solid. Like many tapas type restaurants, the food will come out piecemeal, which means food pairings can be 'hit or miss'. Good cocktails as well with fresh mixers. Rather tight seating arrangements, and service fair but somewhat inconsistent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtwjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Meiji Company also viewed

 

Been to Izakaya Meiji Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing