We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Eugene!!”
Review of Inn at the 5th

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the 5th
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton CO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Eugene!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is not much to choose from Eugene. This is best there is. The location is great with shops and restaurants next door and within walking distance. The beds and sheets at super high quality as they should for 200+ a night. Very nice place for a couple or getaway weekend. The mercedes shuttle is a nice touch also and a nice little room also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and water fountain, They have great sun in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgilio U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    109
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
318
276
50
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my third stay at the Inn at the 5th. Each trip proves that they know what they are doing when it comes to service. From the valet greeting you out front (every time, no matter the time I pull in), to the personal check-in at the not so standard front desk, to being greeted by name every time we walk through the hotel – it’s apparent the team knows excellent Customer Service. The hotel amenities are aligned with the service. My favorite is the butler cabinet that is the unique way of keeping privacy while keeping the hallways clean of clutter with delivery items and dirty dishes from room service.

The train is there and noticeable - as it would be with any hotel in downtown Eugene.

I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouvertravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Inn at the 5th in a great addition to Eugene. Service is fantastic. Rooms are very comfortable, linens are nice, we had a balcony that would have been great in the summer but still nice. My only negative comment would be the advertising of the jewelry store in the room...strange display of hands with different colored gloves and rings above the head of the bed. Also vintage looking dress mannequin in the corner of room was startling at times. Beyond this, room was very nice and comfortable. Noticed the train sounds more on the south facing room than we did on the West facing which was unusual but did not interrupt our sleep. Rooms are very quiet other wise. Beds are very comfortable.
Because it was our anniversary rose petals and sparkling wine was placed in our room on arrival. Very nice touch.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Superior Kings twice and they were great. The forth floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getawayfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our 3rd stop on a 5 stop trip up the west coast from Los Angeles. Our daughter was visiting several colleges, including Oregon. Upon researching hotels in Eugene, Inn at the 5th was at the top of the list. In spite of a few negative reviews, I booked it and couldn't be happier after our stay, I only wish we'd have been there longer to enjoy it more. We arrived around 6 after a long drive from San Francisco. Check in was seamless, and upon entering our room I was greatly surprised. Since we had 3 people, we opted for the junior suite with 2Q. The decor was wonderful, the bathroom large and up to date, and the gas fireplace with push button switch a fantastic touch. For those with kids, please note that the bathroom has a partially frosted glass wall. Not see through, but don't get too close. The beds were very comfortable. We had an appointment the next morning to tour U of O, so we opted to eat right next door at Marche, which was wonderful.

We discovered we left behind our contact solution, so the valet (I wish I remembered his name because he was a great guy and extremely helpful) drove me to Safeway using the hotel's Mercedes. The hotel is located not only next to a great restaurant, but there a retail shops and a spa tucked away in the same center.

In my opinion, this is the only place to stay in Eugene.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here eight nights while visiting our daughter and son-in-law earlier this month. We stayed in a king room with window seat (who needs a balcony in the Spring here when it rains 3 of every four days); very well-appointed and laid out with a little romantic fireplace. Rooms are sound-proofed (as well as can be expected, see below) and noise from hallway was minimal and no noise between rooms at all. Replacing noisy ice machines with a freezer with bags of ice cubes was smart, neat and very easy. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens luxurious. Bath was well-designed, Aveda products, twin sinks, rain-shower head. Staff greeted you immediately in the morning, and all were very attentive. Room service is thru the excellent Marche Restaurant next door. Room service dumb waiter was very cool. All-in-all, an appreciable and much appreciated attention to detail throughout not normally encountered in a city this size.

We have stayed at every other hotel in E-S, and the Campbell House, and this place is head and shoulders above all.

Trains. You can hear trains all over within the Eugene hills, but especially downtown. Takes a couple days to get used to the train whistles that rumble throughout the night, but if you stay anywhere near downtown E-S, you will hear train whistles, and the Inn at Fifth is no exception no matter how well the rooms are insulated. Even the (relatively) inward-turned king rooms with the small balconies can't avoid the train noise.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wcpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent two days at the Inn at the 5th and really enjoyed this find. Close to University of Oregon and downtown Eugene. The rooms were spacious, very nicely decorated with upgraded furniture, and we had a connecting room for our children. The staff from the front desk, to valet and room service, where extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again as it will be our first choice when visiting Eugene.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is located in the Fifth Ave. shopping complex, a mélange of upscale businesses that include an artisan burger joint, a spa, flower shop, vast kitchen supply store, a women’s clothing store, a wine tasting room. The complex opened in 1976, but the Inn is only a year old, the first new hotel build in Eugene in 28 years.

Throughout the hostelry, the interior design is thoughtful, quietly modern and low key. In the minimalist lobby-registration area is a wall on which a brightly-colored rooster assembled from what appear to be cut-up license plates. The rooster motif is repealed throughout the facility – a bird atop a fountain in a small courtyard, one the labels of the artisan glass water bottles in each room and in discrete paintings here and there.

An inquiry about the rooster theme elicits a tale. The hotel sits on what once was a chicken farm, the story goes. When the farm was being closed down and the chickens – who typically are dumber than a 2x4 – were being gathered up. But there was one rooster who so deftly and repeatedly evaded capture that he was nicknamed Swifty. There, the lore stops. Swifty’s actual fate is unknown. But Swifty’s elusive agility is memorialized throughout the building.

The rooms themselves are well conceived and tastefully decorated. There is a queen-size bed that comes with four foam pillows that are happily replaced with feather ones by the hotel. There are two bed stands, topped by tastefully-designed lamps, each with two bulbs and two electric outlets in their base. Opposite the bed is a table with a small folding, extension leaf. On the wall at table level are two more electrical outlets -- the days of crawling around behind beds or under tables for electric plugs have been banished. Next to those outlets are two plugs for CAT5 cables for those without wireless computers (in a bed stand drawer there is a CAT5 cable in case you forgot yours).

At an angle across from the bed is a gas fireplace that actually produces heat and above it is a large, HDTV with a very sharp picture. For Oregon Duck football fans, one channel appears to pick up Pac-12 Conference Network games.

In run-of-the mill hostelries, the closets are, well, just places to hang garments and maybe a few drawers for other clothes. Not here. The closets are well-conceived and thoughtfully designed. One has a slot that holds a luggage stand, keeping it out of sight when not needed. There are hangers for clothes, drawers, shelves for chapeaus and the like, an out-of-sight refrigerator below a counter on which sits one of those gourmet coffee makers that brew one cup at a time. On a small shelf below are two wine classes and a corkscrew that I found peevishly difficult to operate. That’s why I travel with a personal corkscrew in every bag. Bring your own.

A nifty touch is a locking door next to the closets where guests can place the used room-service tray, which then will be whisked inconspicuously away by staff through a door in the corridor. Gone forever, the annoying spectacle of used room service trays lining hallways waiting for pickup.

The bath is well lighted with a wash basin and spacious counter, a nice, doorless shower and the usual toilet, which, given form following function, are resistant to creative interpretation.

The rooms all have small balconies, each with two red metal chairs and matching table. Some overlook the public parking lot, where interesting interchanges often occur in the wee hours between very fuzzy folks. Most balconies, however, overlook a vast patio filled with red metal furniture similar to those on the decks.

A short stroll or elevator ride away is the Fifth Street Public Market, a shopping complex with a vast kitchen supply store, an upscale toy store, a wine tasting venue, restaurants (including an “artisan burger” joint) and coffee shops, a tailor (a rarity anywhere these days), beauty salons, boutiques selling goods from Africa, cooking condiments, needlepoint supplies, outdoor gear, candy and ice cream, a flower shop and so on.

It is just a delight -- a creatively-conceived and skillfully-executed development with more to come. Across the public parking lot another hotel building, the front desk clerk said, is planned and in a block-size parking lot across the street, a mixed-use development including more hotel space, condominiums, retail shops and other uses. In fact, all the necessary city permitting reportedly has been completed and the project is now awaiting investors and, presumably, the market forces that make the project feasible.

If what is to come is anything like what already exists, it will be a design and commercial feather in Eugene’s cap.

And if the University of Oregon Ducks continue to make their presence felt on the collegiate football and basketball stage nationally, the complex could easily develop into a hub for webfoot fans and a magnet for convention activities that currently go elsewhere.

But even now, the Inn clearly is best lodging in the Eugene area.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for an upper floor room overlooking the vast outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 36 in Eugene
1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 36 in Eugene
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 36 in Eugene
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the 5th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the 5th

Property: Inn at the 5th
Address: 205 E 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the 5th 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the 5th is a "very special boutique hotel" offering elegant accommodations and the ultimate in personal service in the bustling heart of Eugene, Oregon. Our luxurious boutique hotel echoes all that makes Eugene unique, from its artistic, sophisticated design to the high-end dining, spa and shopping available onsite at the 5th Street Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the 5th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing