We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classiest place in Eugene”
Review of Inn at the 5th

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at the 5th
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classiest place in Eugene”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I travel all over the world, and this was one of my best experiences. A well thought-out hotel, new and nice touches, and a friendly, competent staff. We felt like we were in a boutique hotel in San Francisco or such--beautiful, calming lobby area with check-in at a private desk, luxurious bed and linens, nice in-room amenities. Asked nicely for an upgrade on a busy weekend, and was given one with a smile. Gotta like that! Plus, it's just Eugene, so staff is down to earth and really aim to please--none of that big-city snobbery (and I live in a big city). Minor celebrity sighting at valet park area confirmed this is the best place to be in Eugene. Great restaurants nearby and easy walk to campus and Saturday market. No more Hilton for me!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aeromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    102
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
294
256
50
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I just spent 4 nights in Eugene at the Inn at the 5th. We had heard about the Inn from friends who lived in the area and made a reservation when we were going to visit our son who is a student in town. From the minute we checked in and were greeted by Amber we were surprised and impressed. The hotel just opened in January and everything is brand new and stylish, featuring art and furnishings by local artists. The location is prime and sits in the middle of a charming area of shops and restaurants. In fact, Marche, a terrific bistro is right next door and is the source of the room service for the Inn. Our junior suite was spacious, well appointed and unique; flat screen tvs, Italian linen bedding, refrigerator and sleek, roomy bathroom. Everything was impeccable and well thought out.
The young staff was upbeat, attentive and knowledgeable. Their familiarity with Eugene was an asset since we were unfamiliar with the area; their directions and restaurant recommendations were spot on. We already have another reservation to stay at the Inn and look forward to it. I honestly hesitated to write this review because while I think it is important to give credit to businesses that “get it”, I worry that the Inn will get so full I won't be able to book a reservation!

Room Tip: The balconies are a nice feature...it's great to leave the door open to the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosslady500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

After years of being tortured by the Hilton in Downtown Eugene, there is a real hotel that you feel good about staying in. It's all new, which is nice, and the service is very friendly. The rooms are wildly comfortable with quality bedding and excellent bath amenities. It's like an upscale boutique but bigger. It's attached to a fashionable shopping, dining center. This will be my first choice on any trip to Eugene.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When I read about the plans for The Inn at 5th in Eugene, I wondered if it would live up to the promise. It exceeded it. Everything about the place is great. We were greeted by very friendly valet and front desk staff who were very helpful and maintained there friendliness throughout the trip. The lobby was impressive without being too overblown. The room was spacious, well appointed, and very comfort with a lot of 5 star quality touches. It looks like every room has a nice view of downtown Eugene.

The location is perfect, too, with several of Eugene's top restaurants within an easy walk. The Fifth Street market is right there and the Hult Center and Saturday Market are a few blocks away.

The Inn at 5th is a little pricey by Eugene standards but worth it if you want to enjoy one of the area's very top hotels.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have balconies but we had a nice view with a very comfortable bench at the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomaoror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I will admit that as I've aged, I've become a hotel snob. With that said, when I planned a visit to Eugene, OR to tour the University of Oregon, I was NOT confident that I would find a hotel that would meet my requirements of comfort, spa-like luxury, AND family convenience. The Inn on 5th met/exceeded all of my expectations. The hotel is attached/adjacent to 5th Street Market, which is occupied by boutiques and restaurants. After a long day of touring the UofO campus, it was great to arrive at the Inn and have many eating options available within the Market. We were greeted quickly and politely by the valet, manager and front desk personnel. Check-in was a snap. The room was spacious, modern, with a flat-screen 42" HD TV (with HD channels), a butler door that eliminated the need to open the door to receive room service, a gorgeous huge tiled two-person shower and dual sinks. Bedding was high-end cotton. Extra touches included a Keurig single brew coffeemaker, scale, a full-size armoire and Aveda products.

I would've given the hotel 5 stars -- however, the downside of the hotel is it's proximity to a railroad. An Amtrak train came thru at 6:30 am on a Saturday morning with full horns honking. Note that my family brought ear plugs and we were all wearing them.

Outside of being awakened by the speeding train, the hotel exceeded my expectations. Especially liked getting desserts from Marche (provides room service + full dining) , a lovely bistro in the 5th Street Market. Again, the hotel is pricey, however, it will more than suit my needs when I visit my soon-to-be freshman next fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a plaza-facing room. All the plaza rooms have small balconies and have a bit of a sound bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank regalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Starkly modern, extremely comfortable, in a great location -- we loved it! Even though it's prices are high, compared to the Hilton (the only other good hotel in downtown Eugene), the incremental difference is well worth spending. Our bathroom was outstanding -- very large shower and two sinks. It's proximity to Marche, our favorite restaurant in Eugene, and the shops of the 5th Street Public Market make it a very fun place to stay and a complete experience. Marche now serves breakfast with an excellent small menu which makes staying at the Inn at 5th even more delightful.
We travel to Eugene several times a year and will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you need a bedside table and reading lamp on both sides of the bed, be sure to ask. The room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGJ40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, BE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

New and stylish. Room very nice and clean. Staff friendly. Next-door restaurant (Marche) top-notch, even for breakfast. Worth the price IMHO to get away from Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
0.6 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#14 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the 5th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the 5th

Property: Inn at the 5th
Address: 205 E 6th Ave, Eugene, OR 97401-3075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the 5th 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the 5th is a "very special boutique hotel" offering elegant accommodations and the ultimate in personal service in the bustling heart of Eugene, Oregon. Our luxurious boutique hotel echoes all that makes Eugene unique, from its artistic, sophisticated design to the high-end dining, spa and shopping available onsite at the 5th Street Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the 5th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing