We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed one night in our way from San Francisco to Seattle. It was sort of last minute. We got a two Queen bed "suite"...thinking that the sitting area would be somewhat separated from the beds. No, it's really not a suite. It's more like a larger size two queen BR with a small loveseat, a coffee table, and a desk. The amenities were the same as a non-suite room. The bathroom was not very clean -- still residual "you don't wanna know" stuff on the underside of the toilet seat. Not something you want your 4 yr old to touch when going to the bathroom. GROSS! The shower curtain had some sort of white powder on it. And there were old food bits under one of the beds. We're especially conscious of this as we have small children...my youngest still crawls around when playing even though he is 1.5 yrs old. The breakfast was terrible. The eggs were "pre-cubed" (looked liked those sponge eggs from a instant noodle cup) and were swimming in "butter-tasting substance". The only thing that was somewhat edible were the waffles (make your own which was actually fun for my kids) and cheerios (can't go wrong). We will not be back...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadtripMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    36
    22
    14
See reviews for
113
55
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I don't understand why this hotel is so highly recommended. I was very disappointed. I booked our 2-Queen bed room the day of our trip. Unfortunately, the hotel did not have our reservation. Thankfully, I'd printed my confirmation. We were assigned a room on the street side. Yes, it was loud, but more importantly, the air conditioning did not work. We asked to be moved and were assigned a street side room adjacent to the ice maker--at least the air conditioner was working. It was a cool night, but it was so loud when opened the windows that we ran the air conditioner all night. The hotel did offer a discount for our troubles, but I had to ask for it upon check out because the receipt that they slid under our door did not have the discount.

  • Liked — The comforter on the bed
  • Disliked — Air conditioner and loud street/train noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORDuckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city, mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed two nights and felt we should share one observation that concerned us. Being that it is very close to the hospital many folks are discharged and will stay here for a few days for follow up... we witnessed one recovering patient throw up in the hall way. They are even in their hospital gowns when checking in. We are not germ a phobs but began to wash are hands more often while in this hotel

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — a second hospital
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ladylake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,644 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

This Phoenix Inn is in many ways just like all of the motels in the chain. The lobby is comfortable, service is friendly and efficient, everything is clean, and the breakfast is expansive and fresh.

However, the rooms in this one, while spacious, are not the same "mini-suite" design as in most Phoenix Inns. There is no dividing wall between the bed area and the couch/desk area. Also, the rooms seem to have a "backward" design .... the couch is opposite the sink, rather than at the other end by the window.

But that minor point aside, the only real drawback to this motel is the busy train tracks that run right through the parking lot! Well, not really quite that close, but in the middle of the night it sounds like it, as the tracks are only about 200 yards away. The road noise quiets down at night, but not the train noise.

The key here would be to get a room on the back side, overlooking the creek. We peeked in a couple while they were being cleaned, and they had a very pleasant view.

A few other points .... Our bed had a lovely, snuggly down comforter as well as a wonderfully comfortable pillow top mattress cover. We like to take breakfast up to our room, but could not find any trays, so it took several trips. (But we did take the stairs to help work off the large breakfast.) And I agree with a previous reviewer -- that bathroom fan bears a distinct resemblance to a jet airplane ready for takeoff!

  • Liked — Comfy bed, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — The train noise!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

"A relatively new "suites" motel on the northwest corner of the UO campus. The rooms are large and clean. It has a large breakfast room with ample breads, waffles, eggs and sausage in the morning. In nice weather, the breakfast room extends onto a pation above the campus Millrace.

The king size beds are fabulous. I'd want to spend a weekend on one. The drawback in a suite is that you can't really see the small TVs from the beds. They're tucked in an amoire facing the little sitting areas in the room configuration.

The other gripe is that the bathrooms have a very loud fan connected to the light switch. So if you're staying with another person, they're going to hear a small jet engine when you get up in the middle of the night to use the facilities. I consider that a drawback when comparing this property to a Comfort Suites or similar competitor."

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The lsize and location of the TVs in the room and the EXTREMELY noisy fan in the bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

We had booked three nights at the Phoenix Inn & Suites over Thanksgiving BEFORE I read a very negative review of that property on this site. That had me worried but our experience was nothing like the other reviewer.

We arrived earlier than the stated check-in time but that was no problem for the staff, they cheerfully registered us and let us have our room a couple of hours early.

I will grant the carpeting is getting a little worn in the room we had and the cleaner they use to clean the hard surface flooring was a little sticky but our room was very clean and appealing. We had a beautiful view of the creek behind the hotel and of a gorgeous liquid amber tree (I think) that was turning beautiful red and gold and shades in between.

We had a mini-suite with a king size bed and a love seat sized couch - very comfortable and roomy.

There was less ambient noise (i.e. shower noise from adjacent rooms, kids being kids, elevator or ice machine noise) than in most properties I've been to (we generally go to hotels of this caliber 2-4 times per year), although we were close to the elevator and I know there were kids in nearby rooms.

We didn't use the pool or other facilities but I saw there were several families whose kids were using the pool and nobody seemed to be complaining about it.

Breakfast served in most AAA 3 star hotels is now pretty much expanded continental plan and everything we had was fresh and delicious. Good bagels, sweet rolls, fresh made waffles, sausage patties, fresh and canned fruits, other toast and cereal (hot & cold). The only eggs available were some "hockey puck" eggs that I didn't try but my wife did and she thought they were pretty good.

I'd highly recommend Phoenix Inn & Suites to the reader.

  • Liked — overall ambience and location in Eugene (Oregon)
  • Disliked — They should find some other floor cleaning solution that is not sticky and they're going to need to upgrade some carpeting soon.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early and if you're being a tourist to the area try to be there when U. of O. is on recess to avoid crowds.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HardlyHikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2006

I booked 3 nights in Jacuzzi room to relax because I had a heart proceedure next day in hospital. Asked for quiet room due to disability and illness. So many problems, will just list: 1. Lobby needed vacuuming and dusting- cheap faded DIRTY plastic plants adorned everything. Windows and floor-dirty.2. Long walk from parking lot 3. Blood on bedspread in room. Houskeeper said it was grape jelly (I worked in surgery in a hospital). 4. bathroom floor had goopy dried urine around toilet- horrible smell. Front desk said housekeeping gone but they would bring me a cloth to clean it myself. 5. A few hours after using Jacuzzi, became very uncomfortable with an infection in private parts- had to go to drug store to get medicine costing $40. 6. Front desk put young kids and teens right next door who proceeded to scream and party, bang the doors constantly and run up and down the hall until 2 am. I called frnt desk from 11pm to 2am asking them to please do something. The walls are very thin and one can hear everything down the hall and in room above. They offered to move me, but I was too ill and asked why don't they move the offenders. Nothing was done. I checked out next morning instead of staying- they never offered to reduce price for all the problems-they said they didn't have that authority and didn't know how the manager could be reached. I will NEVER go back. P.S. More not very nice things things happened, but tired of writing about this place. This looked the best on the internet- but it's NOT. They don't keep it clean and they dont care about you. Sorry, but that was my experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unclean place and uncaring, rude staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Days Inn is nicer and just down the street
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank binthardunthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.7 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#3 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at the 5th
Inn at the 5th
#1 of 34 in Eugene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Valley River Inn
The Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
BEST WESTERN New Oregon
#15 of 34 in Eugene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Address: 850 Franklin Boulevard, Eugene, OR 97403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene Hotel Eugene
Phoenix Hotel Eugene
Eugene Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing