We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped at the Phoenix Inn for one night and we had no complaints. The room was really affordable and it was far better than what we expected. Room was spacious and clean. The carpet was a bit stained but it was not a major problem. Breakfast was included and it was full of options. Staff at the front desk was professional and responsive. Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay there if I passed by Eugene again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Eugene Phoenix Inn. We include things like the complimentary breakfast each morning to provide guests with the best value possible. We appreciate the feedback from your stay because it will allow us the opportunity to continue to improve and innovate. I can assure you our maintenance team will address the carpet issue, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    40
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
61
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I understand that the Phoenix Inn has recently been purchased and will be under renovation soon, however, the issues with our room were housekeeping problems that should have been addressed. There was old blood on the comforter, a huge cobweb above the bed and the curtains were hanging off the rod. There was no soap in the room and it was dark and dingy. The only bright spot was Mark at the front desk. He was gracious and accommodating, but unfortunately, we just couldn't stay. If a hotel is interested in the comfort of their guests, then these type of issues are inexcusable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collegecounselor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Although I am happy to hear that Mark at the front desk was a bright spot during your stay, the issues with your room is absolutely inexcusable. Room cleanliness is of upmost importance to us, and we take housekeeping issues very seriously. We are disappointed to hear that the complimentary room night we offered you was not satisfactory in remediating the inconvenience that you suffered due to the housekeeping issues. We would love to show you that these issues were isolated in nature, so please contact me personally if you decide to give us this opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 5-21-14, on our family vacation. We were in town to see Hayward Field at the University of Oregon, to visit Pre's rock and to run on Pre's trail. The hotel is in great proximity to all of those things. The downtown is also very close. We chose to drive, but you could probably walk. The service was exceptional and the room was very clean. The breakfast was standard, plenty there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_to_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation here with us at the Phoenix Inn Eugene. We understand that one's accomodations can really have an impact on his or her experience while in town, and we are constantly working to uphold the Phoenix Inn standards of exceptional customer service. We would love to be your choice hotel for the Prefontaine Classic next year and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was pleased with our recent stay at the Phoenix. The hotel is downtown and close to the walking trail along the river. The room was pleasant and had a nice sitting area. Extras included a pool and hot tub, a full breakfast, and even fresh chocolate chip cookies during the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Phoenix Inn in Eugene. We absolutely agree that the proximity of the running trails is an added bonus that is hard to beat on a sunny Eugene afternoon. The Phoenix Inn staff takes pride in the little things that make one's stay more enjoyable, and we appreciate your feedback that will allow us to continue to provide the most hospitable enivornment possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and seeing a message from the GM that they were undergoing renovations in 2014, I called the hotel to see if any rooms were completed as I had concerns from other reviews. I was disappointed to hear that they had not started any guest area updates but they had started to renovate the back office areas. In my opinion, a warped decision as the guests should always come first.
The entry is bright and nicely decorated and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Great experience there!
Once upstairs, the hallway carpets were old and dirty. Once in the room I found old dirty carpeting, marked and dirty walls, scratched older furniture and the desk chair had some unknown substance on it that I did not wish to sit on.
I was also surprised that the blackout curtains only partially covered the windows so my one opportunity to sleep in didn't work out so well.
Bottom line is this is an OK property in serious need of updating and until they do, I will pass.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Jim C-

Unfortunately, a maintenance issue caused us to repair our air conditioning in the back office but our complete renovation has not begun. We will be upgrading most areas of the hotel this winter. We do agree that the guest rooms and common areas should be the first things updated. We will begin this winter in order to not displace current reservations.
Thank you for your review and let me know when you are in Eugene next as we would like to take personal care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Although the location is close to campus this was the worst stay we had on a two week trip from Northern California to Utah. We booked this hotel through hotwire which may be part of the reason we were trated poorly. Due to my having MS and needing to takevabquick break we called at around one about the chance to check in early. We were told there would be no problem and our room was clean we asked if we could see about a higher floor we were told that our room had already been assigned and there was nothing else available even if we wanted to pay for upgrade. Upon check in the staff at the front desk appeared to be distracted by their discussion with one another about their recent weekend activities. When we finally arrived at our room we were greeted by an amazing view of a dirty rooftop. Our "assigned" room!!! The bed was so so, but nothing is more disgusting than hair on the bathroom floor, in the tub, on the counter and on one towel that I immediately put on the floor. Had I not been feeling do poorly I would have called the front desk but we already knew they really didnt care. I will never stay at this establishment again and as frequent hotwire users we will advise them as well. If the hotel has a problem with hotwire guest then they shouldn't use their services. Some of us use the service so that we are prompted to try new places. This is one I won't be staying at again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicinutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Nicinutah-
I truely apologize for your recent stay here at our hotel. This is not the caliber of stay we pride ourselves in creating for our guests, and is way below our personal expectations. I have taken this reveiw as a training tool to create a more professional front desk staff. I also made our Executive Housekeeper aware of the strands of hair that were noticed in your room. We want our guests to feel at home at our hotel and am dissapointed that you did not feel that way.
Please contact me directly next time your in Eugene. I would love to prove that this was not the kind of service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After reading reviews about this hotel I decided to try it out. When I called to reserve, the front desk person was very pleasant and easy to make a reservation with. With the reviews, I was expecting a nicer establishment. The room was pretty outdated...they try to make it look nice with a pillow on the bed. It was pretty rundown. The kicker for me not ever wanting to stay there again was the MOLD in the bathroom. I went to tell the front desk (hoping to get moved...or at least acknowledged) - they just said, "ok, we'll write it down". Overall, super disappointment! And the beds ARE NOT comfortable as others said. Maybe if you like rock hard beds that make you wake up with a stiff back.....

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hbh0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtny O, Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hbhelgeson-

Although I am happy to hear that the front desk made your reservation with ease, I am not pleased with how they addressed the housekeeping issue. I have taken this review as a chance to teach newer front desk staff on how to handle these types of issues. Our hotel starts our updating this winter and would love to show you these updates.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
0.7 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 37 in Eugene
1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#12 of 37 in Eugene
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
1.6 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 37 in Eugene
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Address: 850 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene Hotel Eugene
Phoenix Hotel Eugene
Eugene Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing