We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I was extremely disapointed with the quality of this hotel. Not only was our room kind of dingy and dirty our fridge froze everything we put in it including wine and leftover food. We got a jacuzzi suite and it was the most basic hotel room I have ever been in, especially for the price. They advertise an extended continental breakfast but when we got there at 8:30 am we took the last two plates and almost all of the food was gone and was not refilled. The second floor hallway was extremely hot and when we got into our room the ac was on full blast and it was freezing. When we turned in our room keys the woman behind the counter didn't even ask us how are stay was. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mizkelly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 301 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2008

Not what I expected because of reviews. The Inn in Bend is very nice. The carpets and shower curtain were dirty. 19" TV with poor quality. The furniture was beat. The Bed was nice. The property and common area were also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sazabo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

This hotel is fabulous! I stayed here for a weekend to attend events at U of Oregon and was really pleased with the Phoenix Inn. The rooms are huge; the free breakfast is well-stocked (waffles, bagels, cereal, etc.); parking is free; the hotel offers free internet; and the decor is modern and inviting. The staff was outstanding and very helpful and my first-floor room had a lovely view of the canal. The only downside was the rooms on the third floor. The pool and weight room looked great, although I used neither. The walk to U of Oregon is short and pleasant. Although the hotel is smoke-free, those rooms still really reek of cigarette smoke. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LAcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

The room was massive and clean. The beds are fantastic! Good mattress, loads of pillows and good linens. The bathrooms were oddly small in such a large space though. The breakfast was more than expected and it's just a few blocks away from the OU campus. I didn't have any problems with my after 10om check-in. Great place to stay for a short visit to Eugene!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank GatoTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

The Phoenix Inn is a basic chain hotel. The rooms have been recently updated so they are comfortable and clean. The best part about this hotel is the location. If you are visiting University of Oregon, this is the best hotel within easy walking distance of campus. They have a large parking lot which is nice because parking is difficult on campus. If you visit during football season be sure to book the hotel several months in advance. Otherwise, rooms are ample and reservations usually aren't a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SanMateoMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

For under $80 a night (through Expedia), this was a great deal. It was recommended by my brother who lives in Eugene and whose in-laws always stay at the Phoenix. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, I was tossed between this and the Broadway Motel. Driving by the Broadway (I didn't go inside), it looked like a dumpy motor lodge and I was sooo glad I decided on the Phoenix. The room was very comfortable and large (not a two-room suite, but a half-wall separated the bed from the couch, desk and kitchenette area). The included breakfast was great, the parking was free, the indoor pool was of a nice size and we (and my brother's kids) were the only ones in there, and it is only a couple blocks from the university. The general rule in Eugene hotels is that you absolutely get what you pay for, but we got such a great deal that the Phoenix seems to be the exception to the rule. Yes, we did hear the train a few times through the night, but this wasn't a big deal. As my brother's kids told us, you can hear the trains throughout all of Eugene.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MonthlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We booked a disabled room for 8/6&7/07 .When we arrived we were told the room was not available.We cancelled and were told there would be no charge. The charge did appear on our next credit-card bill. We tried to contact both the local and corporate credit departments but so far no one has contacted us.
This place is a total disaster.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mardon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Eugene
Hilton Eugene
#4 of 38 in Eugene
1,102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#6 of 38 in Eugene
733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Oregon
Best Western New Oregon
#10 of 38 in Eugene
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Eugene Downtown University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene

Address: 850 Franklin Blvd, Eugene, OR 97403-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct and save. The Phoenix Inn Suites hotel in Eugene, Oregon offers 95 spacious, comfortable and inviting suite accommodations. Each sleeping room offers amenities with both the corporate guest and the leisure guest in mind. Our staff is here to make your stay seamless. Ready to navigate you around Eugene, we are experts at getting you around the University of Oregon and Northwest Christian University. Headed to a game, or to a local brewery? Please ask us for directions to wherever your destination may be. While at the hotel, take time to relax beside our indoor pool and spa, and enjoy our complimentary high speed, wireless internet. Parking is also complimentary and is set to accommodate one car per room reserved. And remember, each morning our hotel features a delicious, Hot Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene Hotel Eugene
Phoenix Hotel Eugene
Eugene Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing