We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed February 3, 2007

I was in town one day and unexpectedly needed to stay the night, so I just randomly walked in this hotel. I was very pleased with it, especially how clean and friendly it is, and have returned twice since. Although it's not super cheap, it's affordable for being in walking distance of both the UO campus and downtown. Most important, the rooms are very clean and kept nicely, with new looking furniture and comfortable beds. I wouldn't say the rooms were "small", but I guess it depends what you compare to. They have desks, nightstands, closets, and so forth. They're huge compared to the hotels I stay in in San Francisco. The desk people have always been very friendly and helpful. The rooms are apparently recently remodeled, with tile bathrooms and two sinks (one inside the bathroom, one outside). The fridge is great to have too. The continental breakfast is one of the better I've come across-- try the raisin bread. We also really enjoyed using their outdoor hottub, which is also tile.
It is on Franklin Ave, one of the busier streets in town, and so I was actually pleasantly surprised that I was not bothered by the traffic noise (I'm usually pretty sensitive to it). The three rooms I've stayed in were all in different parts of the hotel, and none seemed noisy to me. I did always stay midweek, when the hotel wasn't entirely full, but I was never bothered by noise from neighbors or upstairs either. The train is audible but not as loud as in other parts of town. It didn't wake me up. (let's face it: a train runs through Eugene at night and blows the whistle. I saw comments about train noise on every single hotel review for Eugene that I read on this site. I'm just glad that train means less big trucks on the highway.) Anyway, I have had great experiences there three times in a row.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — noisy heater/ac unit (but its standard for this type of hotel)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HeatherPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    73
    48
    31
    14
See reviews for
79
46
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Someone worked very hard to redo this older motel and they did a pretty great job, but underneath it's still a thin-walled, somewhat smelly, overpriced place to stay. The traffic was very loud (as was the train) and we could hear the conversations going on upstairs and even a few doors down. Speaking of doors, we also heard every slam of every door on our end of the unit. The shower curtain tried to cling to whomever was showering, and the full beds were definately not the most comfortable. On the plus side, parking was ample and easy, and they really did do a nice job on the decor. Unfortunately, the man who checked us in seemed to be bored by his job and gave us the check-in speel in a monotone without ever looking up. I'm currently waiting for them to refund us a night we decided not to stay and the credit hasn't shown up on my card yet. Our verdict: move on.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — price and smell
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank sportsmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eugene hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Folsom, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

This motel is in a very convenient location near U of O, but the rooms were tiny and noisy. At $92/night, we felt it was way overpriced. We stayed there a few nights then moved to a Best Western across the street from campus which was 100% better.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank slwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

The location of Campus Inn is great but the smelly, not quite clean, searching for bedbugs, room with doors that don't quite close and a bathroom smaller than a postage stamp make location and lower price questionable values.

In addition, upon checking my statement, I discovered that I'd been charged for my room the same night I'd made the reservation-2 weeks prior to arrival. I was therefore very careful about not giving my card to imprint again and bringing my bill and confirmation when checking in. I was assured that I would not be charged again...hah! I checked with my card company, another charge went through the day after my one night stay. It will take time and diligence to track and correct this and any other future (?) charges I may get from Campus Inn.

AAA rated must really mean $$$, as this is double-billing done in an overtly sneaky, borderline criminal manner.

Beware.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Pavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Arrived in the evening to find out that they didn't have me on their reservation system. The confirmation number I had from my Orbitz booking didn't show up on their system. On top of that they were sold out for the night. The front desk person offered to lookup elsewhere in the town for me to stay. Luckily, another gentleman with reservations showed up. He hadthe same letters as my last name and then suddenely the receptionist found my name on the list. I have no clue what happened. But I felt it was a very messy system.
The room was neat and had a refrigerator. The breakfast was good. The door for our room was a little shoddy and wouldn't close until you pushed it hard. But it was very comfortable otherwise.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank Jism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2005

We had never stayed at the Campus Inn before but decided to check it out after we decided to extend our stay an extra night in Eugene.

The staff at the Campus Inn was very friendly and let us check out the rooms before we decided to stay. We eventually chose one of their larger suite rooms on the second floor because they seemed a bit more spacious then the regular rooms. The rooms were well maintained and clean, and it was very quiet.

There was Starbucks coffee in the room, a dvd player (you can even rent dvd's from the front office), and we got a voucher for breakfast at the IHOP across the street.

Anyway, this isn't the most glamorous hotel in the world but a very nice budget hotel that I will stay in again when I go back to Eugene.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank TripAdvizahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2004

I read the reviews before staying. I found a few inconsistancies in some of the reviews.

The bathrooms are not that small, there are no closet doors to 'not function properly'
The staff are the best and friendliest I have come across.

The high speed wireless internet is offered at no charge. The in-room Starbucks coffee, the fitness center and Hot tub are nice amenities.

The price is very reasonable and their frequent stayer program is the best I have seen (stay 6 nights get the 7th free--at $58.00 a night)!

Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 35 in Eugene
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eugene University Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Eugene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Eugene Downtown/University
0.6 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#12 of 35 in Eugene
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Greentree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown

Property: Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown
Address: 390 E Broadway, Eugene, OR 97401-2731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Campus Inn, a newly remodeled hotel conveniently located in the heart of downtown Eugene, Oregon. Family friendly and affordable, the Campus Inn offers excellent accommodations, an unbeatable downtown location, and superior customer service. Amenities at the Campus Inn include a continental breakfast, Hi-speed wireless Internet, a peaceful deck veranda, a refreshing Jacuzzi, Nautilus Free-weights & Treadmill in our fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Campus Inn & Suites, Eugene Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campus Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing