We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Waste Your Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eugene City Bakery - CLOSED

Eugene City Bakery
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stopped at this bakery and bought a couple of rolls for sandwiches. They were hard as a rock and must have been a few days old. We also bought the orange rind brownies, which were very dry and no taste. Tried the marion cheese cake and that tasted like it was sitting in the case for a few days also and had no taste- very dry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tri-Cities
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lazy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Door was open and chairs out. I walk in and they wouldn't sell me a cookie, plenty on the counter and I had the correct money. They wanted to close..
I think it must depend on the staff. The owners of this shop should be aware of some of it's staff..
Please. Shut the door if you close

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Local Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Love the marionberry scones, the molasses cookies, polenta bread, and so much more. Also some great quick lunch options. Glad they finally added some indoor seating, too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank R0undth3W0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good and different Baked Good with OK Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This bakery is located next to Prince Puckler's Ice Cream for a great one- two , food punch.
And that is exactly what we did!
We spotted this bakery next door, just after finishing up a dish of Prince P's fresh banana brownie ice cream. Not to be disuaded by a great dish of ice cream , I investigated the baked goods at the Eugene City Bakery. The selection of baked good was extensive and somewhat different in an eclectic sort of way from the standard bakery. Good was the oatmeal cream pie, the hazelnut apple tartlet, the blueberry/apple crumb square and the rhubarb shortbread square. Disappointing was the candied orange brownie( too dry, almost stale tasting) ,the limited tea selection ( we came back the next morning for coffee and pastries) and the absolutely POOR WiFi connection ( no excuse in this day and age , never being able to log-on after many attempts).
Service seemed pressured and a bit snippy .
Final analysis---go for the baked goods but be selective. Don't go for the ambiance or the service. Go someplace else, anywhere else in Eugene , for a decent WiFi connection.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“No one even acknowledged me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I walkedi in one morning and stood at the counter for about 5 minutes. Three people were working the front area counter. One was busy serving others. The other two ??? I guess the didn't want my business or I was invisible.

Helpful?
Thank Duck1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eugene City Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing