We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who rated this a two star?”
Review of Royal Inn Eugene

Royal Inn Eugene
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Inn Eugene
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who rated this a two star?”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was amazed at this motel. How did it get a two star? They must be giving it out to any and everybody who asks for it. My room was so bad that I could not believe that BBB of Eugene is letting them stay open. Every fixture in the bathroom was molded or rusty. I took pictures. I wish I could attach them to this review. The cover for the fan in the bathroom was gone, duck tape was holding the vanity mirror. There was no way I was going to look under the sheet. I was afraid of what I might find. Thank goodness I had a small blanket to spread over the bed cover to go to sleep. I dared not walk around bare footed in that room. I will not recommend this place to anyone. For the price I expected a little more than what I got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinwe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an older motel located adjacent to Highway 99 and the railroad tracks. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean, but the exterior is a bit run down. The rooms have coffeemakers and fridges, which is helpful. There are minimal amenities, except for the free wi-fi. In fact, this motel would be an excellent value were it not for the location. It is about 4 miles from downtown Eugene, but the trip is quick. The problem with the location is the NOISE. Traffic from Hwy 99 is constant, and the train whistles could wake the dead when the trains come through. In addition, my room had an odd banshee-like wail in the walls in the middle of the night. I presume it was vibrations in the plumbing whenever somebody in an adjacent room flushed the toilet, but there is the possibility that the motel is haunted. Needless to say, I did not sleep well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from Hwy 99 as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppylinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eugene hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I try to review motels that are cheap and traveler friendly. This is another one. If you have a car, it's worth the small trip out of downtown Eugene. It's not centrally located, but it's cheap, our room was clean and had everything we needed, including free WiFi. So, again, not bad for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I51981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I needed, in May of 2011, to visit Euene, Oregon on a consulting trip. After doing considerable research on the web on suitable hotels located in the part of Eugene in which I was interested, I chose the Royal Inn Eugene, and went ahead and booked reservations for my stay.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was not disappointed. It is an older wood structure, with the rooms divided across two buildings, and I was very pleased with my stay here. I found the room to be vary large and spacious, and it was apparent that it had also been recently renovated, and, best of all, the room came complete with a kitchenette, with a sizeable refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a very large counter, along with a small round kitchen table with two wooden chairs!

I found the hotel staff, including the management/owners, to be incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eugene hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Eugene
Hampton Inn Eugene
#7 of 35 in Eugene
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Eugene
3.9 mi away
Travelers Inn Eugene
Travelers Inn Eugene
#19 of 35 in Eugene
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Downtown Inn
Downtown Inn
#12 of 35 in Eugene
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Value Inn Motel
Value Inn Motel
#28 of 35 in Eugene
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Budget Lodge Eugene
Budget Lodge Eugene
#16 of 35 in Eugene
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Eugene

Property: Royal Inn Eugene
Address: 1740 Highway 99 N, Eugene, OR 97402-1626
Location: United States > Oregon > Eugene
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Eugene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn Eugene 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Royal Inn Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing