We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Lobster Prices, Low quality service and food”

McGrath's Fish House
Ranked #325 of 613 Restaurants in Eugene
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Red Lobster Prices, Low quality service and food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Drinks took 15 minutes to arrive to our table and another 15 minutes to place the food order. The order did not go straight to the kitchen as our server visited with the next table for another 10 minutes.

Food finally came. The breaded Dover Sole was soggy and was served with dry fries and old vegetables that were luke-warm.

Bathrooms were clean, but outdated.

I won't go back. There are too many choices that surround this restaurant; Red Lobster is right around the corner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    19
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
771 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
“Loved The Menu Choices”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It took me so long to chose but the wait staff continued to come over and ask if I had made up my mind in a polite and friendly manner. Totally appreciated her patience.

I decided on a mild white fish grilled and brushed with sauce, upgraded to the walnut/pear/blue cheese salad, sliced tomatoes and mixed veggies. Hubby got the grilled trout, upgraded to the shrimp salad with the same veggies. The salads were totally worth the extra charge and the warm sour dough bread was excellent. Hubby enjoyed his flavorful trout but my fresh pick fish was bland and somewhat dry around the edges. Veggies and tomato were perfect.

Even with my slightly disappointing fish choice, there are so many other things on the menu that looked wonderful as we watched them land on other tables that we will definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty and good choices!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a light dinner here in April 2013. The menu was varied, and prices were reasonable for a mid-range seafood restaurant. My salad was fresh and crisp, and chowder was tasty and well seasoned. We had seats outdoors as it was a warm day and that was very pleasant. Service was efficient, attentive, but not over-bearing. Overall a very nice meal, pleasant atmosphere, nice folks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviemcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Fish Out Of Water”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was sadly disappointed with the crab-crusted trout when I visited. The trout tasted as though it had spent all day filleted in fresh water and washed away all flavor. There was too much onion taste in the covering, so much so, there was so sense of crab. I expected a full-bodied mouthful of flavor with each bite, but it was sorely lacking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sablehrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food in a casual setting”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

McGrath's Fish House has a wonderful variety of seafood and drinks. It's a very comfortable place to enjoy a good meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angels_Wing_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to McGrath's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing